Colton Company Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 23 reviews

2.5
22%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
Colton Company President Dave Colton (no image)
Dave Colton
12 Ratings
Talk anonymously with Real Estate professionals
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Company

    Sep 10, 2020 - Leasing Agent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent owner. Great experience with the company

    Cons

    None. I would recommend working here.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Run away fast

    Jan 16, 2020 - Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Salary/title and room for advancement. Maybe because he knows he's so terrible to work for...he will pay you pretty well. So if you can put up with it...

    Cons

    The owner yells at and abuses his employees ALL DAY LONG. And the employees are great and committed to their jobs, the level of abuse is horrible. He blames everyone else for his problems.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee

    A Wonderful Experience

    May 20, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked for the Colton Company for a little over two year and it was a tremendous experience. I am saddened to see that many people here have taken shots at the owner of the business. Mr. Colton was very generous with his time and taught me many valuable lessons in regards to the real estate business. I quickly moved up the ranks based on my performance and was more than compensated for my efforts. The only reason I left the company was to start my own real estate business.

    Cons

    Most of the entry level employees at the company are not qualified to be there. The environment is very demanding and in this day and age the new generation of young people don't understand hard work and business. Lots of the employees come from staffing agencies and they really do not even belong there. The agencies themselves need to get better people. I feel bad that everyone has taken shots at Mr. Colton. It is probably based on their own incompetence and/or lack of work ethic.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Very Dissatisfied

    Aug 13, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is easy to get a job at the Colton Company, experience isn't deemed necessary as long as you are willing to work long hours with little pay and are an attractive, young female. You can also get a lot of responsibility right of the bat, which means that you learn a lot about a lot of different jobs. The job itself is interesting and would be a great career without the toxic upper management.

    Cons

    The employees move through a revolving door in and out of the company. No one stays because the minimal salary just doesn't cover being screamed at (and I mean literally screaming) about details out of your control, having the work of 3 people (because those people quit) and sexual harassment on a daily basis. Also, the company is extremely shady when it comes to its finances, which is shown by the number of lawsuits that have been levied against the Colton Company. The owner likes to hire from temp agencies so he can let the person go easily. The people are generally not qualified, but are the only one's available at that low level of salary. In a week's time, one can see multiple temps come and go. If you are considering working here, DON'T! It is a well-documented case of a company not having a good work environment and employment here is bound to end in a feeling of failure.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Property Manger Review

    Apr 14, 2017 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked for The Colton Company for 3 years and it was a great learning experience. The management team is very professional and helped me learn a lot about the business. When I took the position, I was new to real estate and after three years I was able to take what I learned and got a management level position at another company. The owner of the business is a very smart man and is the reason this company has been so successful.

    Cons

    There is a steep learning curve in this business and it takes a few months to really understand the basics. I am really grateful that The Colton Company was able to help me get my foot in the door and now I'm an asset manager.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Asset Manager

    Aug 8, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The job is always changing and fast-paced. I love it because I am able to learn many new skills and interact with tenants, brokers, vendors, etc. The owner of the company allows the employees to work very independently and will always compensate those employees that are doing a great job. The company is steady and provides newcomers to the business with an opportunity to grow. If you are interested in taking on a job where you can wear many different hats and learn many new skills then this is the place for you. It can sometimes be an intense work environment when the job isn't getting done but if you are doing your work and working hard you won't have any complaints.

    Cons

    It is sometimes stressful dealing with tenant or vendor calls after-hours but in any real estate position you will most likely need to deal with items after-hours.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    CROOK

    Jul 7, 2015 - Property Manager in Santa Ana, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I met a lot of good people who were just as unfortunate as I was while working for David Colton. I managed to stick it out during the down economy. Property managers get a Chevron card.

    Cons

    I worked for the Colton Company for 6 years. He is a crook. He is a fraud. He is extremely abusive to employees of all levels. He puts property managers in precarious situations such as CAM reconciliations that are never reconciled and then bills back tenants for improvements that are never done. They don't have budgets performed on the properties so how is he coming up with CAM estimates to bill tenants. My tenant URS challenged this and they were given a ridiculous excel spreadsheet that Jon McClintock (Dave's partner in crime or CFO) made up. Completely fraudulent. He hires young girls with no experience & makes them property managers & if they flirt back-they get promoted to Asset Manager. Extremely embarrassing to those with actual experience. David Colton also drunk dials his female employees (I was one of them) & tries to hook up. You can't embarrass him or you will lose your job. To save time from having to go to court- always have a ready made excuse. Glad those days are behind me.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    recruited for Colton Co

    Sep 27, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Colton Co offers slightly better pay than other junior level property manager or administrative openings. Nice offices.

    Cons

    Dave Colton is sexist, racist, abusive, and generally believes that rules don't apply to him. When requesting temporary or temp to hire staff, he routinely asked for female candidates who were young and attractive. Required that they live in certain "desirable" areas. He would turn down a resume from a candidate in Santa Ana without reviewing it, preferring applicants live in Newport Beach, Huntington Beach, Irvine... Would ask the race of the applicant before agreeing to interview... He once told me that he expects female employees to show up to work wearing a skirt and pumps. On the rare occasion I was able to place someone there, they would quit within a couple of weeks because they couldn't deal with the verbal abuse and unrealistic expectations (such as showing up an hour early for a required meeting - unpaid). All this for $15/hour

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    valuable experience if you are an independent worker and willing to withstand the abuse

    Aug 15, 2013 - Property Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    gain experience in client relations, property management, & capital improvement project management. you will meet a lot of people and hopefully find somewhere else that will appreciate your work and drive.

    Cons

    Horrible work environment. Owner is a sexist and racist and is completely inappropriate. He will fill you in on all his dating adventures including whether he got laid or not. He will let you know if he thinks you look sexy that day. He will ask if he can take you out on a weekday night for drinks/dinner. Completely ridiculous. He pays very little for all he expects you to do and accomplish despite promises of raises.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Property Management

    Feb 9, 2014 - Property Manager in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good, early responsibility. Friendly coworkers who all were working hard to achieve results. Office locations were good. Strong culture of client service.

    Cons

    Senior management seems miles away and not in tune with what lower level employees. Management does not adequately take care of current staff and as a result there is high turnover.

    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

Work at Colton Company? Share Your Experiences

Colton Company logo
or