Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) Reviews

Updated Feb 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) President and CEO Clint E. Stein
Clint E. Stein
1 Rating
Pros
  • "They care about their employes and have great benefits(in 6 reviews)

  • "great company, very involved in the community, great people, client focused(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Fairly low pay compared to others that are with in a similar industry(in 5 reviews)

  • "People go to other financial institutions all the time because of this(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Community Bank"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Community Relations Specialist 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Encourages training and education, small bank environment with big bank products

    Cons

    As it gets bigger, there is more turnover.

    Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID)2020-01-09
  2. "The Bad Outweighs The Good"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker III in Tillamook, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The "Cons" so outweigh the "Pros" that the Pros are completely irrelevant.

    Cons

    While working at the Tillamook branch I was injured on the job, but instead of understanding and empathy, I was treated like a criminal. When I sought medical treatment through workman's compensation, Columbia sent a document containing inflammatory and false statements made by their employees to every doctor I went to for medical help. Columbia did not attempt to make any accommodations for me to continue working for them, until a few days before I was let go. Since that time, I live on food stamps and my physical condition has deteriorated to the point of lost mobility in arms and I am in constant pain. I continue to seek medical help, but few doctors are willing to do much for someone on welfare.

    Continue reading
    Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID)2020-02-22
  3. "Great benefits, but underpaid for the amount of work you actually end up doing"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Specialist I in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid vacation Health and dental insurance Paid training

    Cons

    Low pay for the daily workload Constant micromanaging from higher up

    Continue reading
    Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID)2019-12-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good comapny"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Teller 

    I worked at Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) part-time

    Pros

    good starter to get a job

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say about the bank

    Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID)2019-12-18
  5. "Well"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker 

    I worked at Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and ability to grow. Good work.

    Cons

    Not bad. Good to work.

    Continue reading
    Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID)2019-12-03
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Intern"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Homebuilder Finance Team and Step Child, B..: You were not even on my team, however you invested in me anyway. Thank you. D....: Everything B..... and D…. had said to you for me was accurate. I am glad they stepped in because I could not have kept my composure well enough to tell you myself. They say soft skills cannot be taught, however wisdom can be passed down. In nine weeks you invested way more time in me than necessary, resulting in showing me not only what I wanted to do but who I wanted to be. Thank you. Steve jobs was right when he claimed you cannot obtain the straight path to success everyone has in their mind. You can only see how you got to where you are at by looking back at the zig zag of your past. That being said, I can feel that I was standing on a major connecting point, especially now that I am starting to step off. Hard work does not make someone successful. Hard work is essential, though it is merely a job requirement or skill. The only true way to success is through other people who are willing to take a chance on you time and time again, whether that be a professor, employer, client, mentor, or friend. Thank you for taking that chance on me last summer. The only true way to success is through relationships built with integrity. What a smart slogan for a company have. A simple thank you email would not suffice. I hope this finds you well.

    Cons

    They made me cry everyday

    Continue reading
    Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID)2019-10-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Columbia Bank is the best bank to work for in the Pacific Northwest for the following reasons: Commercial Focus, Fortress Balance Sheet, Smart and Flexible Underwriting and a Great Culture that Supports the Community.

    Cons

    No Cons - The bank is well run.

    Continue reading
    Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID)2019-06-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a company that truly values their employees. Most banks see everything as a number, CB sees how they can actually help people (employees and customers alike). They try to keep work fun and happy for everyone.

    Cons

    It's banking, so there are sales involved which isn't for everyone. And you have a lot to learn as far as regulations go, but the company itself doesn't have any cons as far as industry standards go.

    Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID)2019-05-25
  9. "Great company"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Operations Exceptions 

    I worked at Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) full-time

    Pros

    great company, very involved in the community, great people, client focused

    Cons

    Could be better training programs

    Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID)2019-03-26
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Walk in, sit down, shut up and you'll be fine!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tacoma, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) full-time

    Pros

    Easy Schedule: You won't work late. I think if you are a parent, especially a single parent, this place is ideal for ensuring no weird hours pop up. Easy Work: I rarely felt challenged by my work (this is good and bad). Bank Holidays: Lots of time off. Benefits: Not the best benefits, but certainly not the worst either. Vacation Buyback: You can "buy" a whole week of vacation. Pretty sweet. Good Outlook: This company is not going anywhere anytime soon, so if you get a job here I think job security would be pretty solid. They're Trying: The bank has its downsides (see below) but I do think it is genuinely trying to modernize itself. But it is slow going and with that modernization comes a lot of growing pains.

    Cons

    Mean People: Some of the meanest people I've ever met, I encountered in the halls of Columbia Bank. The "no jerks allowed rule" is...not enforced. It's like a daily gathering/convention for bullies. BullyCon. Gossip: Great place if your interested in people gossiping about others personal and professional lives. Wanna know salaries, disciplinary issues, personal drama, etc? This is the place. Toxic Culture: Manager-heavy structure, very ego-driven, lack of transparency, etc. Would not recommend this to anyone seeking a collaborative or innovative workplace. The bank may make it there in future, but today is not that day. Some of the other reviews about being "chained to a desk" and heavy use of outdated methods are fairly accurate. In my role there was opportunity to work remotely (though it was for emergency reasons only, it wasn't a regular thing nor was it encouraged). A note to contractors: Ask UP FRONT about your contract (how long it will last, if they plan to hire you and if so, when). I spent an ungodly amount of time as a contractor, meaning there were many weeks I would be forced to work an additional two hours per day to catch up to 40 hours (bank holidays). I was kept in the dark until my hiring over a year and a half later and it was an absolute nightmare. People management needs work. At one point I got pulled into an office with a woman who tormented me on a daily basis. I was calm as a spoke my truth while a more senior manager threatened me with my job (nothing was ever addressed prior to this point, it just went from everyone saying nothing to me being threatened with my job). The woman, a known bully and my former manager, cried what I would call "white woman tears" (Google it) as though she was the one being tormented by her own subordinate. The woman was promoted just weeks later.

    Continue reading
    Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID)2019-02-26
Found 80 reviews