Columbia Gas of Ohio Reviews | Glassdoor

Columbia Gas of Ohio Reviews

Updated Feb 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Daniel Creekmur
4 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Columbia Gas of Ohio full-time

    Pros

    The people, culture, and over all company

    Cons

    The only con is that the internship ended

    Columbia Gas of Ohio2018-03-15
  2. "Micromanaging at its best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Coordinator in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Columbia Gas of Ohio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits and opportunities everywhere except the Integration Center

    Cons

    Micromanaging team leads, managers, directors

    Advice to Management

    Let people do their jobs without wondering how long they were in the bathroom

    Columbia Gas of Ohio2019-02-27
  3. "Service supervisor 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Supervisor in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Columbia Gas of Ohio for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Always had a job if you were a good employee

    Cons

    To much down sizing with jobs being combined

    Advice to Management

    Do not replace your good loyal employees with younger ones just to cost

    Columbia Gas of Ohio2018-08-30
  4. "Operations Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Columbia Gas of Ohio

    Pros

    -Great Pay -Great Co-workers -Downtown -Modern Office -Great Cafeteria

    Cons

    -Leadership -Training Issues -Weak Support from management -Favorites

    Columbia Gas of Ohio2018-01-03
  5. "Great and fair employer."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Columbia Gas of Ohio

    Pros

    Good pay and advancement opportunity. Good vacation and benefits. The company seems to really care about its employees and communities.

    Cons

    The company could use a little more on the job training related to job duties for certain positions. Throwing people in the fire is not always the best way to learn.

    Columbia Gas of Ohio2017-08-29
  6. "Contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Columbia Gas of Ohio

    Pros

    Part time, convenient, well managed.

    Cons

    There were no cons for this job

    Columbia Gas of Ohio2017-06-12
  7. "Field Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Columbia Gas of Ohio

    Pros

    Very considerate of employees Decent pay Really helpful at getting the interns to mesh into the gorup

    Cons

    There really isn't anything I can think of. Of course I didn't really have any vacation time but I was only an intern there.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. The seminars for employee to improve there work was very good in my opinion.

    Columbia Gas of Ohio2017-04-17
  8. "Details details & details"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer Ohio in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Columbia Gas of Ohio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large company, friendly, vacation and personal holidays, lots of varied work to do, never a dull moment here

    Cons

    Need more resources to help with the work details and there are many. Steps to get thru the work can be complicated and there's many departments. I found a very long time employee who is a technician in my department that also does some training and she has helped me so much to understand the paperwork and computer programs. I don't think it is totally her job or not but she is always willing to explain details and things...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Potential is here but it seems like way too much paperwork and details sometimes, feels like documenting every single tiny thing is wasting my education

    Columbia Gas of Ohio2017-01-24
  9. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Field Engineer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Columbia Gas of Ohio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity for growth. Will find many people have been with the company for 15+ years. Lots of vacation and great benefits. Pay is also really good.

    Cons

    There is a decent amount of stress with the job, but that is to be expected with the nature of the work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you're doing!

    Columbia Gas of Ohio2015-10-14
  10. "Utility Technician in Ohio Valley"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Utility Technician in Wintersville, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Columbia Gas of Ohio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of vacation and paid time off, unlimited paid sick time, company vehicle

    Cons

    Being tracked by GPS every single move you make, hourly wage

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with employees to resolve issues

    Columbia Gas of Ohio2015-10-09
Found 13 reviews