Columbia Sportswear Reviews

Updated May 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Columbia Sportswear President, CEO, and Director Columbia Sportswear Company Tim Boyle
Tim Boyle
240 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "hire plenty of contract workers, pay them below industry standard and dangle the hope of full time promotion as a way to work more than 40 hours a week(in 16 reviews)

  • "Upper management makes promises it cannot keep and employs a "bulk order" strategy for its employees i(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "GREAT PLACE TO WORK"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Material Handler 

    I have been working at Columbia Sportswear full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People My schedule Compensation and pay Work environment

    Cons

    Working in general is what slows me down

    Continue reading
    Columbia Sportswear2019-11-05
  2. "Positive experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Columbia Sportswear part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are understanding and it was a positive environment for me.

    Cons

    The only negatives would be the story isn't terribly large so there wasn't much to do when it wasn't busy.

    Columbia Sportswear2020-06-01
  3. "Sales Associate"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Cabazon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Columbia Sportswear part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The co-workers made it awesome. Was my first job out of high school and worked here for my first 3 years of college. Loved it, gained some social skills and found a love for hiking.

    Cons

    Have to be social, which sucks if you're introverted.

    Continue reading
    Columbia Sportswear2020-04-27
  4. "Challenges of a family run public company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Columbia Sportswear full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great coworkers, work/life balance, travel opportunities

    Cons

    dominated by politics, personality, and inability to create coherent strategy that cascades across business functions

    Continue reading
    Columbia Sportswear2020-04-23
  5. "Depends on location"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Schaumburg, IL

    I worked at Columbia Sportswear part-time

    Pros

    Busy during the Winter and dead during the Summer.

    Cons

    Took away commission which decreased work productivity.

    Columbia Sportswear2020-04-06
  6. "Cares for employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Columbia Sportswear part-time

    Pros

    Columbia Sportswear payed employees based on average hour during covid-19 epidemic.

    Cons

    the usual. things slow down in of season

    Columbia Sportswear2020-04-02
  7. Helpful (2)

    "I should have passed..."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dtc in Beaverton, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Columbia Sportswear full-time

    Pros

    Employee discount on merchandise , pretty good medical insurance, free beer once in a while, you get paid.

    Cons

    Extremely siloed work, very unprofessional and disrespectful two faced management, no cafeteria in our building, terrible systems on all fronts, turnover is the worst I have ever seen, everyone has a “not my job, not my problem” attitude including management, management trash talks former employees, immediate supervisor was a bully, cannot work from home unless there is a real emergency, the problems were daily, serious and never ending with very little urgency to fix.

    Continue reading
    Columbia Sportswear2020-04-10
  8. "Good Work Culture"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in Portland, OR

    I have been working at Columbia Sportswear full-time

    Pros

    Good work-life balance across the organization.

    Cons

    Slow-moving processes for any project

    Columbia Sportswear2020-03-23
  9. "Nice company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Columbia Sportswear full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A rewarding place to work at, for those who work hard and efficiently.

    Cons

    Quota rates are tweaked to be more difficult for workers more often than the opposite.

    Columbia Sportswear2020-03-21
  10. "Poor Management and HR situation"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandising Team Leader in Long Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Columbia Sportswear full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Co-workers! Pay ok.

    Cons

    Management, HR reliability, Scheduling, Work/Life balance

    Continue reading
    Columbia Sportswear2020-03-17
Found 471 reviews