Columbia Sussex Reviews

Updated May 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.2
32%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Columbia Sussex President and CEO Bill Yung III
Bill Yung III
132 Ratings
Pros
  • "there are no pros if you are coming from Marriott(in 7 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and hourly pay,tips can be good(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper Management does not care about the employees or other management(in 12 reviews)

  • "Low pay with managers who lie and tell you what you want to hear with no intention of following through(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "If you want to grow in your career, this is the place."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Columbia Sussex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Promotion and Development from within. Support from Regional and Corporate Leaders. Always available for guidance and direction.

    Cons

    There are challenges just like any Hospitality workplace. I've read the other reviews and can honestly say that this company gets it.

    Continue reading
    Columbia Sussex2019-10-03
  2. "Don’t bother"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent in Myrtle Beach, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Columbia Sussex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stay at other CS properties for free Paid time off

    Cons

    Corporate does not care for their employees. Underpaid

    Columbia Sussex2020-05-18
  3. "Good money, nice people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Columbia Sussex part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hotel discounts, great tips, great reward system

    Cons

    Low hourly wage, very little freedom

    Columbia Sussex2020-03-25
  4. "Working for Franchise"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Catering Sales Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Columbia Sussex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, opportunity to learn

    Cons

    Benefits are expensive, doesn’t pay for any holiday at all, if you have to leave work early for an emergency or docs appointment and you didn’t complete your 9 hours, you’ll lose your entire work day because they don’t compensate time. They’re in the dinosaur age meaning they are not paperless and they pay you for time and not productivity. You have to stay there 9 hours straight, not very flexible, not a lot of work/life balance, a lot of broken promises.

    Continue reading
    Columbia Sussex2020-02-13
  5. "Fantastic Company with Great Benefits and Upper Level Leadership"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Chef 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Columbia Sussex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PTO Benefits Employee Meals Advancement Opportunities Travel Perks

    Cons

    Long Hours Not the best health insurance for price paid.

    Columbia Sussex2020-01-28
  6. "rhymes with 'awful'"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Office Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Columbia Sussex full-time

    Pros

    Pay is above average, for as long as you can tolerate their nonsense. They got to get bodies in the door somehow, right?

    Cons

    Miserable work environment. I have never seen such a despondent looking staff anywhere else I've ever been employed. Don't expect any training or support whatsoever as a new employee - or even as an experienced employee. Don't know the PMS? Figure it out on your own. Who cares about guest experience anyway? No standards at all regarding service or work quality. Turnover was constant to the point of being comical. One person no-called for their first full of week of shifts and they STILL kept her on the schedule - out of desperation, surely - and kept on scheduling her as if they fully expected her to show up (and guess who had to pick up the slack when she continued to not show up?). Their treatment of guests was pretty shocking too, and it started at the top. I personally witnessed a coworker telling a caller that a cancellation penalty would still be applied even though his flight was cancelled. Completely outside of his control, completely inappropriate to hit him with a cancellation fee for that, especially considering the exorbitant room rates at this hotel (for tiny, old, low quality rooms at that). When I questioned him on this after the call, he told me that's what [general manager] told him to do, and that all waived cancellation fees must have his personal approval. This happened when 2nd shift was almost over, by the way. The nickel and diming was outrageous and valet was a mess. I had to deal with way more than my share of unhappy guests during my time with this hotel/company and deep down I didn't blame a single one of them. Believe me, that thought process takes a toll when you're supposed to representing the hotel.

    Continue reading
    Columbia Sussex2020-01-25
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Read this twice."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Columbia Sussex full-time

    Pros

    Decent benefits. Company has some good people working for it.

    Cons

    Employees are required to give their own money to the company to buy Christmas gifts for the owner and other high level managers. It is mandatory. Please read that again. It’s a real thing.

    Continue reading
    Columbia Sussex2019-12-10
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Worst. Company. Ever."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Columbia Sussex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The money can be good sometimes

    Cons

    Management is the worst I’ve seen. It’s unfortunate they don’t appreciate their good employees or care about anything except their money and their bonuses. Anything goes at this place, there’s no standards. Paychecks and pto are always wrong.

    Columbia Sussex2019-11-30
  9. Helpful (2)

    "lots of work, poor management, not enough pay to deal with it"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recreation Supervisor in Hilton Head Island, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Columbia Sussex part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    being by the beach and outside. most employees are cool. some managers are cool as well as some guests

    Cons

    terrible management, slow to get things done, don't listen

    Continue reading
    Columbia Sussex2019-11-06
  10. "Great Property.. management questionable"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SPA Manager 

    I worked at Columbia Sussex full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Sanibel Harbour Resort and Spa has a stunning property, employees are warm and loving

    Cons

    Entitled managers and High School Drama

    Columbia Sussex2019-10-30
Found 230 reviews