Columbia University Medical Center Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
65%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Columbia University Medical Center Chief Executive  Lee Goldman
Lee Goldman
23 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low salary, not much room for growth without another degree(in 10 reviews)

  • "Low salary, high cost of life, some senior saff don't have enough motivation which is bad for young researchers(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Oversee financial analysis and operation"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in New York, NY

    I worked at Columbia University Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay and good opportunities within the company

    Cons

    Old systems, and average management

    Columbia University Medical Center2020-05-21
  2. "Surrounded by exceptional people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Columbia University Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    vibrant environment, learning from exceptional people, seminars given by leading figures in the world.

    Cons

    The position is tied to the Ph.D. adviser, so the working style depends entirely on the adviser. No easy way to switch to a new adviser if things don't work out with the current one.

    Columbia University Medical Center2020-05-25
  3. "Great place to work but a little disorganized"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Curriculum Developer 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Columbia University Medical Center part-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, great institution, a lot of opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Slow to onboard, disorganized management style

    Columbia University Medical Center2020-05-24
  4. "Gap year CUMC"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Biological Research Technician in New York, NY

    I have been working at Columbia University Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    The research at CUMC is fantastic and translational

    Cons

    The commute can be very difficult if you do not live in WH

    Columbia University Medical Center2020-04-23
  5. "This was a job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Diagnostic Radiologist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Columbia University Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had a nice academic reputation.

    Cons

    Residents are mixed. Some whine a lot and have a lot of power

    Columbia University Medical Center2020-05-03
  6. "Not the worst place to be working at"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Columbia University Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -flexibility -get to work with intelligent people -the work can be rewarding and for a good cause -doctors are mostly great -good benefits

    Cons

    -depending on the departments (but I would say most) there is no room for professional growth -a lot of red tape and bureaucracy -not much employee appreciation -they would rather hire someone new than to promote you -low to no substantial raises unless you threaten to leave (in which you just leave) -location is so far off in Manhattan

    Continue reading
    Columbia University Medical Center2020-04-30
  7. "Good teaching hospital"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Nurse Practitioner 

    I have been working at Columbia University Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful support within interdisciplinary team

    Cons

    Overworked with patients and workload.

    Continue reading
    Columbia University Medical Center2020-02-14
  8. "Good working environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in New York, NY

    I have been working at Columbia University Medical Center part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Helpful staff and faculty in the department

    Cons

    Just updated the curriculum for that class my year, still have to adjust it to the students' need

    Columbia University Medical Center2020-02-11
  9. "Great organization"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 

    I have been working at Columbia University Medical Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    stability and always raising the bar for quality care and employee engagement

    Cons

    Increased demands without increase in opportunities

    Columbia University Medical Center2020-02-01
  10. "If only the pay could match cost of living in northern Manhattan (spoiler: it doesn't)."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator in New York, NY
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Columbia University Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    benefits, pre tax transportation & FHSA. Each department is different, but I have a lot of flexibility in terms of what time I arrive and leave, I'm trusted to complete my responsibilities.

    Cons

    Crowded work spaces. Salaries do NOT support Manhattan rents (excluding physicians or high up admin).

    Columbia University Medical Center2020-01-31
Found 293 reviews