Columbus McKinnon Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 114 of over 128 reviews

2.7
32%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Columbus McKinnon President and Chief Executive Officer David J. Wilson
David J. Wilson
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people that are the worker bees (although few are left)(in 12 reviews)

  • "Good place to work with good pay(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management hasn't listened to anyone on the floor for years(in 5 reviews)

  • "I speak mostly of our upper management when I speak of the problems we face because our middle management staff MUST do as they are micro managed to do(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Love it

      Jan 26, 2021 - Team Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and office space

      Cons

      Management may need some work.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Columbus McKinnon Response

      Director Talent

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are happy to hear your comments around our office space and benefits. We truly appreciate your candor around the topic of management and as an enterprise we have been focusing in the area of leadership development. We would appreciate your insight and ideas around what more we could be doing in this space. Please reach to your local HR representative to engage in additional dialogue.

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Work your fingers to the bone

      May 11, 2021 - Electrician in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Job security - Maintenance planner is nicest guy in the world and great to work with - Money is good - Benefits are great

      Cons

      - Environment in the forge is loud, dark, with plenty of oil in the air (intrinsic of the process) - I was overwhelmed and overworked, travelled between two plants daily (they paid mileage) - The forge is in poor condition - I felt like I was promised things just to shut me up.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Run

      Jun 19, 2021 - Shipper/Receiver in Bristol, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good money if you only had time to spend it

      Cons

      Takes forever to gain Vacation and then they take it away

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A company with so much potential, but can’t get out of its own way

      Mar 18, 2021 - Director Level Position 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some really great people really trying their best

      Cons

      A real talent deficit. While I see they have been able to attract some talent over the past few years, CM is unable to retain them and executive level doesn’t help support or drive the transformation they claim they want.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Columbus McKinnon Response

      Director Talent

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We strive to ensure effective communications and to appropriately balance our investments in near and long term priorities. We would welcome the opportunity to engage in a discussion with you to better understand your points of view regarding these important topics. Please feel free to reach out to me directly via Melissa.hill@cmworks.com or to anyone else within the CMCO HR team. You are also more than welcome to coordinate a direct discussion with our CEO.

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good and Bad

      Apr 28, 2021 - Product Specialist in Buffalo, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good compensation package with benefits and car allowance.

      Cons

      Consistent manufacturing delays caused delays in shipping.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      "COULD" be the front runner in the industry

      Mar 23, 2021 - Office 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great floor level personal, Pay is ok

      Cons

      No life outside the company, decisions made by management cause hourly employees to work more overtime. No recognition or appreciation, only expectations. Don't focus on hiring enough people to do the job, just add to the work load of the employees that perform well in their job.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Columbus McKinnon Response

      Director Talent

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We strive to drive a culture where employees feel valued and recognized. We would welcome the opportunity to engage in a discussion with you to better understand your points of view regarding these important topics. Please feel free to reach out to me directly via Melissa.hill@cmworks.com or to anyone else within the CMCO HR team. You are also more than welcome to coordinate a direct discussion with our CEO.

    7. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Poor Management

      May 18, 2021 - Supply Chain Manager in Saltville, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Pay and Benefits for this company.

      Cons

      Closed-minded management. Upper management was management, not leadership.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Teamwork, Lack of Communication

      Feb 22, 2021 - Customer Service Representative (CSR) in Getzville, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Respective teams work well together to get the job done, better benefits than most markets, plenty of paid holidays, intensive training on product and systems.

      Cons

      Very limited information from management on changes happening within company that make it difficult to relay accurately and easily to customers, main focus is finding common issues internally without willing to take risks to remedy said issues.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Columbus McKinnon Response

      Director Talent

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are glad you are having a good experience with the team, good benefits and training. In regard to information from management, we are continuously working on how to provide constant and timely communication. Please feel free to reach out to your local HR representative and we will be happy to work through ideas for improved communication.

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good place to work

      Mar 24, 2021 - Semi Automatic Welder 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learned a lot while working there

      Cons

      Laid off due to lack of work

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Columbus McKinnon Response

      Director Talent

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are glad you had a good experience at Columbus McKinnon. We are currently hiring and our CMCO Careers page has all of the updated open positions.

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Not a good place to work

      Apr 21, 2021 - Bookkeeper in Mohawk, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They offer decent pay for that area but you will earn it and then some

      Cons

      Upper Management is horrible!!! They do not treat their employees fair alot of favortism and 2 faced from management.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 114 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Columbus McKinnon Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Columbus McKinnon? Share Your Experiences

    Columbus McKinnon logo
    or