Columbus McKinnon Reviews | Glassdoor

Columbus McKinnon Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 81 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Columbus McKinnon CEO Mark Morelli
Mark Morelli
15 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Results and Strong Vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Columbus McKinnon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very strong vision for the company under Mark Morelli. 2 years of record breaking results, which the teams are very excited about. Company makes decisions quickly and is focusing on 80/20 simplification.

    Cons

    Need to invest in better tools. Spend too much time on manual processes that don't add value.

    Columbus McKinnon2019-04-04

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    April 10, 2019Manager, Talent Acquisition & Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Our corporate strategy is focused in three areas: Profitable Growth, Business Development, and Operational Excellence to continue the momentum. We continue to look for new ways to invest in tools which will make us more efficient. ...

    Show More
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Columbus McKinnon full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Caring people who want the business to succeed. Good pay. Can grow if you have initiative. Everyone works hard at this company so a strong work ethic is required.

    Cons

    Benefits could be better. (vacation/sick time). Too much gossip and not enough facts happening so more communication between mgmt and employees.

    Advice to Management

    Corporate Mgmt - Remember the people who make or assemble the products when creating new processes that don’t add value to the customer.

    Columbus McKinnon2019-04-25

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    May 2, 2019Manager, Talent Acquisition & Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It is great to hear your opinion on our career growth opportunities and the hard work performed by all associates. We continuously review our vacation and sick policies to ensure we are competitive and we will continue to do this ...

    Show More
  3. "Strong momentum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Columbus McKinnon full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The CEO has a clear vision and rolled out new vision and values that are exciting and going in the right direction. Some of the newer leaders are bringing an energy that is refreshing and inspiring. Like anywhere, this company is not perfect but for the first time in a long time we believe we might actually be on the right track. The company is doing well financially and hope that means we all share in the success somehow.

    Cons

    Need more diversity...there are practically no women or minorities in leadership roles. Seems they are trying to make progress on diversity with some of the newer hires in management but still a long way to go. Some of the people in charge have been here a long time and do not really live the values just rolled out.

    Advice to Management

    I want management to know there are a LOT of people excited to see the improvements and want you to keep going. Keep investing in people at all levels. There are great, loyal people here who want to help the company do well, just show us the company cares about us in return. Communicate more often from the top...we want to know what is going on. Make sure the people in management actually live the values if you want to...

    Show More
    Columbus McKinnon2018-08-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place To Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Columbus McKinnon full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    It's exciting to work for a global company that is open to changing its culture where employees can learn and grow while earning good wages. People are great to work with at this company!

    Cons

    Reduce the amount of overtime worked.

    Advice to Management

    Hold everyone accountable to add value every day to our products and processes so that CMCO remains strong in our markets.

    Columbus McKinnon2017-10-11

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    October 16, 2017Talent & HR Manager

    Thank you for your engagement and sharing your positive experience! As we grow and evolve, accountability is at the center of our culture. We hope you will continue to love your experience at CMCO and share ideas openly.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Human Resources Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Eureka, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Columbus McKinnon full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, great people to work with

    Cons

    Some divisions have different policies, but the company is working on bringing harmonization throughout the entire workforce.

    Columbus McKinnon2017-07-28

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    August 3, 2017Talent & HR Manager

    You are one of those great people who make Columbus McKinnon an excellent place to work, and we thank you for your 10+ years of service!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "CMCO Lexington Is A Great Place To Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lexington, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Columbus McKinnon full-time

    Pros

    Great Management Team, dependable work, good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Advancement slow due to long term of current employees.

    Advice to Management

    Seek to grow new business.

    Columbus McKinnon2017-07-25

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    August 3, 2017Talent & HR Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to review and share your positive experience at CMCO. We will keep pursuing growth in our business and want you to be a part of it, keep sharing ideas and feedback!

  7. Helpful (5)

    "Great place to work, excellent people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Columbus McKinnon full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    People who work here are the best aspect of the company. Everyone is friendly and willing to help. Always work to do. I don't get bored at work by doing the same tasks over and over, am able to learning new things frequently, and get to work and do projects outside of my job title as well. Keeps it interesting. Flexible work hours and ability to work from home if you need to.

    Cons

    Health benefits are not good at all, only have one provider (so no choices) and my doctors are not in their network.

    Columbus McKinnon2017-07-18

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    August 3, 2017Talent & HR Manager

    Great feedback – you are absolutely right, Columbus McKinnon Corporation has a learning culture where growth is encouraged through diverse experiences. We appreciate the feedback on health benefits and continue to evaluate our options annually to provide the best quality and value ...

    Show More
  8. "Changes in a good direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Getzville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Columbus McKinnon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone around me is hard-working, good benefits, culture is moving in the right direction with new CEO. People consistently seem to try to do the right thing. There is a lot of work to be done as the company moves forward- this is definitely uncomfortable at times (even for people who like change), but for the best. Everyone has been very friendly, supportive, and helpful as I've learned my way around.

    Cons

    Company is really complicated for the size, it's not easy to find everything/everyone you need to do a good job. A few folks are stuck in the past and not comfortable adapting. Some departments are understaffed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on moving forward, try to share best practices across units and keep working on bringing business units together.

    Columbus McKinnon2017-05-12

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    May 15, 2017Director HR

    Thank you for your comments. We are experiencing growth and change which is a positive for our organization. We are happy to have people who understand and recognize the need to move forward and embrace the changes as a part of our team We believe that our employees come to work ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Its OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Columbus McKinnon

    Pros

    Good Salary and great benefits

    Cons

    too much free time not enough work

    Columbus McKinnon2016-09-08
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great Manufacturing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Columbus McKinnon full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Developing company adapting to current global economy. Great opportunities to learn and grow. Not for those looking to coast but geared to those with high expectations.

    Cons

    Competes in a competitive market. Product line aged but being updated. Still has many processes that need improved. Sometimes moves slow.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course and continue to grow market share.

    Columbus McKinnon2016-06-24
Found 81 reviews