KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Columbus McKinnon

Engaged Employer

Columbus McKinnon

Add a Review

Columbus McKinnon Employee Reviews about "good people"

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 165 reviews

3.0
42%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Columbus McKinnon President and Chief Executive Officer David J. Wilson
David J. Wilson
21 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good people that are the worker bees (although few are left)(in 22 reviews)
  • "Good pay and fringe benefits(in 14 reviews)
  • "Money and benefits are good.(in 13 reviews)
  • "Decent salary.(in 4 reviews)
  • "Good money to be made(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Columbus McKinnon and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "good people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Going downhill fast!

    May 21, 2020 - Customer Service Associate in Getzville, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good People to work with. There are really very few Pros that can be listed.

    Cons

    In the last three years the company has seen record breaking profits. Which is good for senior management as their bonuses have increased substantially. The Former CEO was always quick to point out that Management was making more money. However the employees who actually did the work seen little increase nor received much in the way of recognition for their work. Nowhere is this more prevalent than the Customer Service group. Since the new director started, he customer service team experienced unprecedented turnover as older experienced employees (i.e. higher paid) were pushed out and replaced with interns and part time employees. Now with the Covid-19 Quarantine, the already overworked Customer Service team experience a reduction or workforce of about 25%. Once the quarantine is over and customers are back to work, there will be insufficient staffing to provide good customer service. Furthermore, there is little to no opportunity for advancement at CM. The only promotions are the same people over and over again, with little to no attention paid to developing other employees.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    Talent Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We're sorry you had this experience. HR has elevated your concerns to the Customer Service leadership team to look for opportunities of improvement.

  2. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Soon to be gone.

    Feb 23, 2016 - Soon to BE Gone in Cobourg, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Like the job, interesting, good wages, good benefits. Enjoy working with most of my fellow employees. Use to be a reliable employer. A lot of really good people over the years.

    Cons

    Total disregard for employees. Communication is non existent, total lack of respect. Upper management hasn't listened to anyone on the floor for years. Apparently just because you have worked on the floor for years doesn't mean you know anything.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Specialist

    Mar 11, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Rockingham, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people to work with.

    Cons

    No help in completing task.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    stay far away from this place !!

    Jun 26, 2015 -  in Amherst, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    had decent pension plan and yearly stock awards - both taken away last couple of years. Did have good people working here at one time. would give less than 1 star review in may categories if possible.

    Cons

    almost too numerous to list. Management horrible from very top on down. Many " bully " tactics used on employees. stock to employees taken away except for directors and members of executive committee. used to be highly regarded in the industry - now a joke ! management completely removed from customer base - no clue what actually goes on in real work setting. Way too many directors & VP's - it is a money grab for executives here , and employees are treated poorly.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    management is the problem!!!!!!!!!

    Jun 21, 2015 - Anonymous in Buffalo, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people except for mangement. Pay is slightly above average, location is ok, benefits ok, nice that you can roll your vacation from year to year.

    Cons

    Management......upper management, middle management. They ALL micro-management and treat employees like children. Like we are incapable of intelligent thoughts. They have no idea what our jobs consist of yet try to tell us the best way to do them. Pathetic excuses for human beings. They should all be fired....wipe the slate clean and start again.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Too many Directors, no direction

    Oct 7, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Money and benefits are good. Location and facility is convenient and well maintained. Technology is good and improving. Good people to work with that care about the company.

    Cons

    Too many directors with big egos that treat middle management poorly and in a disrespectful manner. Company direction changes often. Poor implementation planning for plant divestitures and or acquisitions. Long hours

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent place to work

    May 31, 2017 - Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay. Pretty neat place to work. Nice facility. Good people to work with. ...... .. ..... ... ... ...

    Cons

    Management is terrible. Constantly changing managers. Tons of hours, no enough time at home. Everyone is overworked or laid off.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    Talent & HR Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experience after your internship. We greatly value the fresh, outside perspective our interns can contribute, and are glad you had an overall positive experience! CMCO is currently working on ways to improve the leadership skills of management so they can lead our associates effectively, efficiently, and with the highest levels of respect.

  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Can not wait to find other employment

    Sep 1, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people on the floor good benefits.

    Cons

    Local management does not have the necessary skills to run the company. They micro-manage every department resulting in micro-production.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Not worth the trouble after all these years

    May 10, 2017 - Customer Service Representative in Getzville, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people that are the worker bees (although few are left)

    Cons

    Terrible management! Customer services dept is depressing. HR is non-existent, doesn't care and can't keep the few good people that were there. If you have an issue, AVOID HR! Morale is worsening by the day. What was once a good place to work has become a depressing environment. New building not conducive to employees ability to be productive. Micro management and fear mongering is common in all departments. Lazy management scapegoats the peeons to save face and get their raises. Merit increases are a joke unless your excom or a star child. Benefits are worse than ever and cost more.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    Director HR

    Thank you for your comments. We are working through our growth and change and sometimes that is difficult. You have multiple avenues to express your concerns and opinions. We hope that you will take advantage of a venue that suits you such as: regional HR, your supervisor, any member of management, legal, or our Ethics Point hotline.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

Popular Careers with Columbus McKinnon Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Columbus McKinnon? Share Your Experiences

or

Columbus McKinnon Careers

Cover image for Columbus McKinnon

Our Values Led by a clear vision, strategy, and guiding values, we are raising the expectations of ourselves for our customers and...More

  • About Us
  • Global
  • Community
  • Student Program
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Columbus McKinnon

101 days ago

Careers
Columbus McKinnon gave a warm welcome to our 2022 summer interns this month! Our Talent team is thrilled to host our interns from Milwaukee, Charlotte, and Buffalo this week at our global headquarters in Getzville, NY Our interns couldn’t visit WNY without enjoying some Buffalo pizza! 🍕Our amazing group of interns joined our Columbus McKinnon Talent team at the Niagara Culinary Institute for an evening of pizza making! #team #internship #hiring #buffalo
Shared image - Sara Perry on LinkedIn: #team #internship #hiring
Sara Perry on LinkedIn: #team #internship #hiring
www.linkedin.com
Logo

Columbus McKinnon

134 days ago

Culture
CMCO is back at it! Hot Dogs on a warm Buffalo sunny day! #cmco #careers #employees
Shared image
See all

Columbus McKinnon Photos

+ Add Photo
Columbus McKinnon photo of: New Acquisition - Garvey Corporation
Columbus McKinnon photo of: DEI
Columbus McKinnon photo of: The children & Grandchildren of our Associates created drawings of what safety means to them at home, work and play. Winners were featured in our 2021 Safety Calendar.
Columbus McKinnon photo of: Associates came away inspired after attending an event hosted by the WNY Women's Foundation.
Columbus McKinnon photo of: Collaboration for a video shoot at our Unified Industries Division
Columbus McKinnon photo of: STEM Gold Fundraiser
Columbus McKinnon photo of: Interns from our Stahl Division in Germany
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Columbus McKinnon Job Seekers Also Viewed

Delaware North Logo
Delaware North

3.5

1,857 Reviews
Compare