Columbus McKinnon Employee Reviews about "good people"

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 127 reviews

2.8
34%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Columbus McKinnon President and Chief Executive Officer David J. Wilson
David J. Wilson
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people that are the worker bees (although few are left)(in 12 reviews)

  • "Good place to work with good pay(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management hasn't listened to anyone on the floor for years(in 5 reviews)

  • "I speak mostly of our upper management when I speak of the problems we face because our middle management staff MUST do as they are micro managed to do(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "good people"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent place to work

      May 31, 2017 - Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay. Pretty neat place to work. Nice facility. Good people to work with. ...... .. ..... ... ... ...

      Cons

      Management is terrible. Constantly changing managers. Tons of hours, no enough time at home. Everyone is overworked or laid off.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Columbus McKinnon Response

      Talent & HR Manager

      Thanks for sharing your experience after your internship. We greatly value the fresh, outside perspective our interns can contribute, and are glad you had an overall positive experience! CMCO is currently working on ways to improve the leadership skills of management so they can lead our associates effectively, efficiently, and with the highest levels of respect.

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Going downhill fast!

      May 21, 2020 - Customer Service Associate in Getzville, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good People to work with. There are really very few Pros that can be listed.

      Cons

      In the last three years the company has seen record breaking profits. Which is good for senior management as their bonuses have increased substantially. The Former CEO was always quick to point out that Management was making more money. However the employees who actually did the work seen little increase nor received much in the way of recognition for their work. Nowhere is this more prevalent than the Customer Service group. Since the new director started, he customer service team experienced unprecedented turnover as older experienced employees (i.e. higher paid) were pushed out and replaced with interns and part time employees. Now with the Covid-19 Quarantine, the already overworked Customer Service team experience a reduction or workforce of about 25%. Once the quarantine is over and customers are back to work, there will be insufficient staffing to provide good customer service. Furthermore, there is little to no opportunity for advancement at CM. The only promotions are the same people over and over again, with little to no attention paid to developing other employees.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Columbus McKinnon Response

      Talent Director

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We're sorry you had this experience. HR has elevated your concerns to the Customer Service leadership team to look for opportunities of improvement.

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Too many Directors, no direction

      Oct 7, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Money and benefits are good. Location and facility is convenient and well maintained. Technology is good and improving. Good people to work with that care about the company.

      Cons

      Too many directors with big egos that treat middle management poorly and in a disrespectful manner. Company direction changes often. Poor implementation planning for plant divestitures and or acquisitions. Long hours

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      stay far away from this place !!

      Jun 26, 2015 -  in Amherst, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      had decent pension plan and yearly stock awards - both taken away last couple of years. Did have good people working here at one time. would give less than 1 star review in may categories if possible.

      Cons

      almost too numerous to list. Management horrible from very top on down. Many " bully " tactics used on employees. stock to employees taken away except for directors and members of executive committee. used to be highly regarded in the industry - now a joke ! management completely removed from customer base - no clue what actually goes on in real work setting. Way too many directors & VP's - it is a money grab for executives here , and employees are treated poorly.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Not worth the trouble after all these years

      May 10, 2017 - Customer Service Representative in Getzville, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people that are the worker bees (although few are left)

      Cons

      Terrible management! Customer services dept is depressing. HR is non-existent, doesn't care and can't keep the few good people that were there. If you have an issue, AVOID HR! Morale is worsening by the day. What was once a good place to work has become a depressing environment. New building not conducive to employees ability to be productive. Micro management and fear mongering is common in all departments. Lazy management scapegoats the peeons to save face and get their raises. Merit increases are a joke unless your excom or a star child. Benefits are worse than ever and cost more.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful

      Columbus McKinnon Response

      Director HR

      Thank you for your comments. We are working through our growth and change and sometimes that is difficult. You have multiple avenues to express your concerns and opinions. We hope that you will take advantage of a venue that suits you such as: regional HR, your supervisor, any member of management, legal, or our Ethics Point hotline.

    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      management is the problem!!!!!!!!!

      Jun 21, 2015 - Anonymous in Buffalo, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people except for mangement. Pay is slightly above average, location is ok, benefits ok, nice that you can roll your vacation from year to year.

      Cons

      Management......upper management, middle management. They ALL micro-management and treat employees like children. Like we are incapable of intelligent thoughts. They have no idea what our jobs consist of yet try to tell us the best way to do them. Pathetic excuses for human beings. They should all be fired....wipe the slate clean and start again.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Salary non-exempt position

      Nov 19, 2015 - Professional Salaried 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have a product I had/have a lot of faith in. Their core products you can say you are proud to have been a part of putting out there into the workforce. The corporate office truly has good people who believe in their products, and in their minds, they believe they are doing what is best for the folks out across their different divisions.

      Cons

      At the division level things are a joke. The good old boy system is in place--not just where I worked, but over the years the contacts I had across the company told me it was the same where they were. I personally heard one HR manager tell our entire office that we should just be glad they allow us to work for them and that they gave us a job. If you are one of the Southern facilities, women are paid about half what men are in salaried positions. No room for advancement...none whatsoever...unless you are willing to kiss some major behind and be a yes man. Before I quit I saw an email that was the tipping point for me, it came from one HR manager to my supervisor. I had asked for a significant raise because I was grossly underpaid (clerk salary for professional work). The HR manager actually said I was paid too little compared to the same position across the corporation. Do you think they upped my salary to within range across the corporation? NO. One excuse after another. I left after nearly 20 years of empty promises and excuses as to why I wasn't good enough to advance. Walked into a new position doing much less work, no weekends, no nights, for over $10k more annually. CM pays some people well--if you are the teacher's pet.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Specialist

      Mar 11, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Rockingham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people to work with.

      Cons

      No help in completing task.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      hasta la vista

      Mar 1, 2017 -  in Buffalo, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good People, good history to the company, but associates are treated poorly

      Cons

      good riddance to the outgoing ceo. A lot of good people have left, including corp. HR. look closely at what changes are possible and if investing in the people and business is even a priority

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Columbus McKinnon Response

      Director HR

      Thank you for your review. As we welcome our new CEO, we are excited about the future of our organization and the promise that this new leadership holds. We expect all of our employees to be treated with dignity and respect and this philosophy will not change. We look forward to celebrating another 141 years in business.

    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Can not wait to find other employment

      Sep 1, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people on the floor good benefits.

      Cons

      Local management does not have the necessary skills to run the company. They micro-manage every department resulting in micro-production.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Columbus McKinnon Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Columbus McKinnon? Share Your Experiences

    Columbus McKinnon logo
    or