KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Columbus McKinnon

Engaged Employer

Columbus McKinnon

Add a Review

Columbus McKinnon Employee Reviews about "management"

Updated Jun 3, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 of over 156 reviews

3.1
35%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Columbus McKinnon President and Chief Executive Officer David J. Wilson
David J. Wilson
18 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Columbus McKinnon and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Going downhill fast!

    May 21, 2020 - Customer Service Associate in Getzville, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good People to work with. There are really very few Pros that can be listed.

    Cons

    In the last three years the company has seen record breaking profits. Which is good for senior management as their bonuses have increased substantially. The Former CEO was always quick to point out that Management was making more money. However the employees who actually did the work seen little increase nor received much in the way of recognition for their work. Nowhere is this more prevalent than the Customer Service group. Since the new director started, he customer service team experienced unprecedented turnover as older experienced employees (i.e. higher paid) were pushed out and replaced with interns and part time employees. Now with the Covid-19 Quarantine, the already overworked Customer Service team experience a reduction or workforce of about 25%. Once the quarantine is over and customers are back to work, there will be insufficient staffing to provide good customer service. Furthermore, there is little to no opportunity for advancement at CM. The only promotions are the same people over and over again, with little to no attention paid to developing other employees.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    Talent Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We're sorry you had this experience. HR has elevated your concerns to the Customer Service leadership team to look for opportunities of improvement.

  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Management issues

    Dec 25, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits and close to home

    Cons

    Management trying to make sure they have someone to be wrong for all their decisions.

    4 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Continuing downward trend

    Aug 9, 2021 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are a lot of really engaged people, at least in the worker ranks, who want to make great products. My entire staff was dedicated to making safe products that were of high quality (I was in the development realm). Pay was certainly competitive with similar roles /industries. Until the last iteration of upper management, my personal development was something my bosses focused on and actively took an interest in.

    Cons

    I started with a smaller company that was eventually bought by CMCO. As time moved on after the purchase and CMCO became more involved in our operations, things started trending in the wrong direction. My penultimate boss was wonderful, deeply engaged in my department's work and my development. Then CMCO rolled all of development under one person (my final boss there). While I get the sense he was probably a bit overwhelmed and possibly even a bit out of his league in terms of what he'd taken on, it also became obvious very quickly that me and my team weren't very important. Weekly one-on-ones were something he was either late to or would skip entirely, sometimes without any explanation. This was true for almost every meeting I was in with him, even for meetings he scheduled. There probably is no more effective way to kill a direct report's drive and productivity than to basically ignore him. By the time they closed our office (which has happened to many branches), I couldn't wait to be gone. I've also never worked for a company that was so paralyzed by the idea of a lawsuit. I was even taken to task for raising a potential safety issue due to their fear of a lawsuit. That was one of the final straws for me. This was an assault on my integrity as both a person and an employee. Senior management doesn't really listen, contrary to what they say. By the time I was done, decision making was so short term as to be laughable. Retention seemed to be a growing problem, and sometimes people would suddenly be gone and there would be no explanation as to why. I must've had 8 different HR reps assigned to my department in the last 3 years I was there. One was suddenly gone and the only way I found out was a bounceback from an email I had sent to her. I truly felt if I didn't tell upper management what they wanted to hear I'd have trouble. Honesty was a dangerous trait to have. From a product perspective, the need for sustaining efforts overwhelmed my team. I needed more people or less products, facts I backed up constantly with hard data on hours worked. I'd venture to say I had more data than any other development team there on what we worked on and how long it took to accomplish things. It was mostly ignored. By the time I left, the development efforts were focusing on 'new and different' while a massive backlog of safety related activities that needed to be completed were mostly ignored. It felt like everyone was being distracted by shiny objects but not looking at what needed to be done.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    Director Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are sorry you had this experience. HR has elevated your concerns to the appropriate leadership team to look for opportunities of improvement.

  4. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Employee Review

    May 23, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People were generally nice to work with and got along together

    Cons

    Was not a lot of work and some management picked favorites

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company to start out

    Mar 9, 2021 - Outside Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great products and customer base

    Cons

    Arrogant and detached upper management

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    Director Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. HR has elevated your concerns to the appropriate leadership team.

  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Complete lack of credible management

    Aug 28, 2014 - MACHINE FLOOR in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay potential There are no other viable reasons to work for this company.

    Cons

    Carousel of management leads to carousel of policies All promotions are contingent to relation to a handful of people Lack of scheduling capabilities lead to extensive overtime for hourly employees Middle management is filled with deceit and blame without ever providing constructive thoughts or solutions No reward for hard work, high production rates, low scrap, or advanced education Management is allowed to mistreat employees verbally Complete lack of professionalism

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Company in general

    Sep 17, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not too many pros except that the pay is pretty good depending on what position you hold in the company.

    Cons

    Management is terrible they favor certain employees. HR don't care about anything and will side with management even when they are in the wrong. If you speak up and management doesn't like what you are telling them they will secretly build a case against you and terminate you out the blue. Management and HR are all one sided and don't give a damn on how the employees feel.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    Talent & HR Manager

    We are sorry to hear your view of management and HR was negative while you worked here. We are confident the people we hire in those key positions are of high integrity and capability. That said, no one is perfect and management is a tough job. We promote a learning culture where feedback is encouraged and people can develop and grow in their roles as leaders.

  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Not worth the trouble after all these years

    May 10, 2017 - Customer Service Representative in Getzville, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people that are the worker bees (although few are left)

    Cons

    Terrible management! Customer services dept is depressing. HR is non-existent, doesn't care and can't keep the few good people that were there. If you have an issue, AVOID HR! Morale is worsening by the day. What was once a good place to work has become a depressing environment. New building not conducive to employees ability to be productive. Micro management and fear mongering is common in all departments. Lazy management scapegoats the peeons to save face and get their raises. Merit increases are a joke unless your excom or a star child. Benefits are worse than ever and cost more.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    Director HR

    Thank you for your comments. We are working through our growth and change and sometimes that is difficult. You have multiple avenues to express your concerns and opinions. We hope that you will take advantage of a venue that suits you such as: regional HR, your supervisor, any member of management, legal, or our Ethics Point hotline.

  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Not a good place to work

    Apr 21, 2021 - Bookkeeper in Mohawk, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They offer decent pay for that area but you will earn it and then some

    Cons

    Upper Management is horrible!!! They do not treat their employees fair alot of favortism and 2 faced from management.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    Director Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. HR has elevated your concerns to the appropriate leadership team.

  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Disappointment and Misalignement

    May 21, 2017 -  in Salem, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Growing company through acquisitions as well as a solid product portfolio. The rank and file is made up of exceptionally high quality people with high caliber traits that include positive attitudes, work ethics, family values and sound morals.

    Cons

    Leadership is misaligned and dysfunctional and on most days at war with each other over gaining greater control and scope of authority. Leadership struggles with blaming each other for failures and objective misses instead of a unified effort to achieve more as reflected in the stock value performance compared to what it should be. Sales and service leadership are beyond their capacities to lead and direct an expanding and more diversified portfolio mix. This is evident with the string of successive misses on sales targets and goals feeding further into the leadership division between the sales and ops ongoing dysfunctionalities. Lower and Mid-Level management are viewed as disposal and none value added resources and usually fall victim to the upper leadership power and control struggles. Not a good career move to join CMCO.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    Talent & HR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your perspective is appreciated and we are open to tough feedback from the people who know the business best. Columbus McKinnon has been in a state of growth and change for the last few years and this has no doubt impacted all employees. Our leadership team, led by the new CEO, will be creating a strategic plan over the coming months that will have a fresh vision, including how we can better work together at all levels to poise the company for growth. We hope to see positive changes in all of our locations across the globe.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 64 Reviews

Popular Careers with Columbus McKinnon Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Columbus McKinnon? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Columbus McKinnon

14 days ago

Careers
Columbus McKinnon gave a warm welcome to our 2022 summer interns this month! Our Talent team is thrilled to host our interns from Milwaukee, Charlotte, and Buffalo this week at our global headquarters in Getzville, NY Our interns couldn’t visit WNY without enjoying some Buffalo pizza! 🍕Our amazing group of interns joined our Columbus McKinnon Talent team at the Niagara Culinary Institute for an evening of pizza making! #team #internship #hiring #buffalo
Shared image - Sara Perry on LinkedIn: #team #internship #hiring
Sara Perry on LinkedIn: #team #internship #hiring
www.linkedin.com
Logo

Columbus McKinnon

46 days ago

Culture
CMCO is back at it! Hot Dogs on a warm Buffalo sunny day! #cmco #careers #employees
Shared image
See all

Columbus McKinnon Photos

+ Add Photo
Columbus McKinnon photo of: New Acquisition - Garvey Corporation
Columbus McKinnon photo of: DEI
Columbus McKinnon photo of: The children & Grandchildren of our Associates created drawings of what safety means to them at home, work and play. Winners were featured in our 2021 Safety Calendar.
Columbus McKinnon photo of: Associates came away inspired after attending an event hosted by the WNY Women's Foundation.
Columbus McKinnon photo of: Collaboration for a video shoot at our Unified Industries Division
Columbus McKinnon photo of: STEM Gold Fundraiser
Columbus McKinnon photo of: Interns from our Stahl Division in Germany
See All Photos