Columbus McKinnon Employee Reviews about "people are great"

Updated Sep 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 154 reviews

3.1
42%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Columbus McKinnon President and Chief Executive Officer David J. Wilson
David J. Wilson
17 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good people that are the worker bees (although few are left)(in 22 reviews)
  • "Good Pay and Benefits for this company.(in 10 reviews)
  • "Good pay.(in 8 reviews)
  • "Good money to be made(in 4 reviews)
  • "Good salary(in 4 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Columbus McKinnon and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "people are great"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Intern, more than 1 year

    Amazing Experience

    Sep 7, 2018 - Finance Intern in Getzville, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My experience at Columbus McKinnon was made great by the people I was fortunate enough to interact with. Throughout my time at CMCO I was always appreciated for the work I did, given all the help I needed, and did so in a relaxed yet professional atmosphere. CMCO is a great company with great people, and I will always look back fondly at my time there.

    Cons

    Would have enjoyed being given bigger projects to complete.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company to start your career with

    Sep 14, 2021 - Collections Specialist in Getzville, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - great atmosphere - people are great, easy to work with

    Cons

    - employee appreciation lacks - heavily focused on results, minimally appreciating the work it takes to achieve the results

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    Director Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are glad to hear our atmosphere is great and the people are great. HR will review your comments around employee recognition with the appropriate leadership team to look for areas of opportunity.

  3. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Toxic leadership

    Aug 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay is very competitive, which is what initially sucks you in. The people are great. The tuition reimbursement is really cool. Opportunities for stock.

    Cons

    One of the most unprofessional places I’ve worked. The executives create a toxic environment that cascades. Yelling, sending heated emails with a dozen people on copy, manipulation, favoritism, all common behaviors. My entire department turned over in a couple years and I’m pretty sure the person who drove them away didn’t even get a slap on the wrist. Tuns out they had driven off many before. No care for employees, work/life balance was nonexistent, forced to work on what was supposed to be paid holidays off, and executives forced us back in the office during the worst of Covid while skimping on sanitation. Technology is decades behind, causing a ton of tedious, manual work that gets audited, and you get chewed out if a mistake is found. Always a day late and a dollar short on staffing.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    Director Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are sorry you had this experience. HR has elevated your concerns to the appropriate leadership team to look for opportunities of improvement.

  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A company with so much potential, but can’t get out of its own way

    Mar 18, 2021 - Director Level Position 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some really great people really trying their best

    Cons

    A real talent deficit. While I see they have been able to attract some talent over the past few years, CM is unable to retain them and executive level doesn’t help support or drive the transformation they claim they want.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    Director Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We strive to ensure effective communications and to appropriately balance our investments in near and long term priorities. We would welcome the opportunity to engage in a discussion with you to better understand your points of view regarding these important topics. Please feel free to reach out to me directly via Melissa.hill@cmworks.com or to anyone else within the CMCO HR team. You are also more than welcome to coordinate a direct discussion with our CEO.

  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Under new managment

    Apr 1, 2020 - EHS Manager in Wadesboro, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people on the floor level

    Cons

    New management at all levels wants to bring in their folks. Complain about indirect time being to high but hire director after director

    1 person found this review helpful

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    Talent Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It's valuable to our growth. We have made a number of leadership changes at the Wadesboro facility and strive for a positive work environment that truly aligns with the CMCO core values.

  6. 2.0
    Current Employee

    A Company Run on Politics

    Oct 21, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A lot of people are great to work with. Many opportunities to give back to the community. With new CEO there is a clear direction for the company.

    Cons

    No opportunities for advancement unless some quits or is fired. There is also no development process to help employees get more experience and grow in their careers. Politics are rampant at the executive and middle management levels. If you don't feed into the game, you can't become a favorite and advance, even if you're more skilled than others. Employees who demonstrate what others think are negative qualities are often praised for them.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Place To Work!

    Oct 10, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's exciting to work for a global company that is open to changing its culture where employees can learn and grow while earning good wages. People are great to work with at this company!

    Cons

    Reduce the amount of overtime worked.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    Talent & HR Manager

    Thank you for your engagement and sharing your positive experience! As we grow and evolve, accountability is at the center of our culture. We hope you will continue to love your experience at CMCO and share ideas openly.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Human Resources Manager

    Jul 28, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Eureka, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits, great people to work with

    Cons

    Some divisions have different policies, but the company is working on bringing harmonization throughout the entire workforce.

    2 people found this review helpful

    Columbus McKinnon Response

    Talent & HR Manager

    You are one of those great people who make Columbus McKinnon an excellent place to work, and we thank you for your 10+ years of service!

  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Bad management and even worse HR

    Feb 8, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Buffalo, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people who actually do the work are great people.

    Cons

    Management cannot get out of their own way. The infighting and backstabbing takes up most of their day. Not much time left to manage after that. When something goes wrong the search parties are sent out for scapegoats. Don't expect HR to help resolve problems - they are too busy planning for retirement.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Sinking Ship with no Life Preservers, where Corporate leadership has not a clue of how to Right the course

    Feb 2, 2014 - Manager in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Unique industry accepted Brand Leader in Forging products line Great People who really want to create success Non-Union Environment

    Cons

    No incentive program Clueless upper management No Strategic Planning Dis-functional stove piped new product development process Poor internal communications Very reactionary upper management to bad news Archaic IT systems Three Reductions In Force (Layoffs) in less than 18 Months. Senior Management (Selective Director Level personnel) Very insecure and abusive No people skills Reviews are totally subjective without any objective or goal related criteria applied. Work Hard, Play Hard Culture Leaves one to question judgement of leaders Site leadership practices and practically encourages infidelity outside of work to ensure his own actions are considered normal and acceptable. I could go on.....

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Columbus McKinnon Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Columbus McKinnon? Share Your Experiences

or