Combined Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

Combined Insurance Reviews

Updated May 15, 2017
97 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Combined Insurance President Brad Bennett
Brad Bennett
24 Ratings

97 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • We at Combined believe in always having and Positive Mental Attitude, with the tools no training I have received I can accomplish anything (in 19 reviews)

  • Training in Chicago is a great experience and morale booster (in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • No Cons some people don't like door to door sales (in 29 reviews)

  • Territory managers are very inconsistent in following through with an agent who has been working beyond the 3rd or 4th month (in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "good opportunity to advance-lousy products"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Representative in West Palm Beach, FL
    Current Employee - Field Representative in West Palm Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    many levels of management allows for opportunity to advance-Great sales training in Chicago-good field training.

    Cons

    Door to Door sales in less than desirable areas, too many meetings, few customers see the value of these products as they are offered by too many other companies with better features at less cost(AFLAC-Colonial), way too many charge backs. Life insurance product is sold with less than honest approach

    Advice to Management

    make sure new employees know what they are getting themselves into-too much work for the compensation. Charge backs eat away at true earnings.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Territory Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Education on how to sell, decent wages, benefits

    Cons

    Cold calling, endless sales meetings,

    Advice to Management

    Not just a sales number!

    Combined Insurance Response

    Mar 31, 2017 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review our company. We are proud to help prepare our agents for success through our quality training program, and we appreciate that you mention “education on how to ... More


  3. Helpful (1)

    "It's hard to sell, but rewarding!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Training, temp base salary etc. Combined is a great company, solid commission and bonus structure. You get back what you put in.

    Cons

    Captive, limited products, leads are crap. You can't be afraid to get out there and sell. If you don't talk to people you won't sell anything.

    Advice to Management

    Train agents better in the field

    Combined Insurance Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to recommend our company! We appreciate that you listed the training we provide as a “pro”, because we feel that the quality training our agents receive gives them the ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "REVIEW OF AGENT AND WORKING ENVIRONMENT AT EAST ZONE USA"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in Greensboro, NC
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Like seeing the customers helping them protect their selves and their family
    Being there to protect in case a serious condition or short term disability keeps them from working ;great policies, awards and trips. Great benefits being a W2 employee
    Mr. stone's books, PMA and WCS awards

    Cons

    They say they promote on merit ; well not in this region---- (NC,SC, VA) /EAST zone
    been with Combined over 3 years and have more awards and other accomplishments but that doesn't matter, you will only make a promotion based on if you are in the circle, in the group, that "clicks" !!!!
    Manager says been here for over 20 yrs now but at previous meeting was 14 yrs , 16 yrs and 17 yrs but trying to understand how that 6 years has past in the last 3 years since i've been here. Once you past your 4 weeks of training , if u get that much, you are on your own ; i've learned everything i know by researching , asking, reading and studying the material and key associations/contacts over the years .
        They say , one quote they use, you are in business for yourself but not by yourself ; that is far from the truth . Giving, actually, "earning" advertising dollars doesn't qualify validating this or using the quote above.

         Very micro managing type of environment which is fairly recent occurrence over last 18 to 24 month not like it used to be but just wait things only change
    Giving an accurate post here; they want you to also recruit to bring in new agents but most don't last over 9 mns.

    Advice to Management

    Promote based on the individual the wealth of accomplishment and knowledge, they have, is gained from all individual employees not a select 5 or 6 select employees.
    Don't micromanage

    Combined Insurance Response

    Feb 28, 2017 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review our company. We especially appreciate hearing from a current employee. We really appreciate that you brought up a “pro” that we hear often -that agents can ... More


  6. "Good Company but"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - B2B Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - B2B Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good company. The corporate training in Chicago is all expense paid and very thorough. I like that the company promotes positive motivation. There is a base salary for six weeks that is helpful to allow you to build your business. Once in the field they assign mentors to go out with you.

    Cons

    Your success depends not only on your own personal drive but the mentor that you work with. I liked my mentor personally but there was a lot going during my training weather and conferences so I didn't get as much field training as I needed. Also you will definitely run into the "we have Aflac" block quite a bit.

    Advice to Management

    Extend the base salary period to really allow your agents to build business. Six weeks is not enough.

    Combined Insurance Response

    Feb 10, 2017 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review our company. As a current employee, we especially appreciate your insights. It is our goal to set our agents up for success by providing a week-long, in-house ... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Employee"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance (More than a year)

    Pros

    Able to work independently to complete tasks as well as the ability to learn new skills. Friendly, positive atmosphere and co workers are willing to collaborate with you when necessary. The culture is still strong in the field with PMA and Passion.

    Cons

    Senior Executives are disconnected from corporate employees as well as offsite employees. No longer a family oriented company as well as a company that truly cares about the employees.

    Advice to Management

    Improve relations with employees in the field as well as corporate since many employees come to work wondering when they will receive their pink slip.

    Combined Insurance Response

    Jan 11, 2017 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review our company. As you mentioned, our agents work independently while enjoying support from management and co-workers when necessary. Our training department also ... More


  8. Helpful (3)

    "Foot Soldier Opportunity"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Rochester, NY
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexibility as you make your own schedule by the appointments you make. Always in the field.

    Cons

    No office to meet clients in, no room for advancement of a foot soldier. Poor Team Manager(s) and training of them.

    Advice to Management

    Provide advancement opportunities other than Team Leader( Management) positions.

    Combined Insurance Response

    Jan 4, 2017 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review our company. We especially appreciate hearing from our current employees. Working as an agent for Combined Insurance is like being an entrepreneur: Our agents ... More


  9. "Travel Required"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Insurance Sales Agent in Nashville, TN
    Former Contractor - Insurance Sales Agent in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and wonderful income potential. Training was well organized and top notch to help you be prepared to sell products.

    Cons

    Travel is required for days and weeks at a time, not conducive for a family oriented person. Although it is not said to be "required" it is HIGHLY frowned upon to not be involved.


  10. "Executive"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive, Executive Manpower Director in Lititz, PA
    Former Employee - Sales Executive, Executive Manpower Director in Lititz, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great training, great people

    Cons

    long hours, some high pressure managers, some managers deceiving

    Advice to Management

    no advice its not my responsibility to advise management my overall experience early in my career was great after president changes twice was terrible

    Combined Insurance Response

    Jan 4, 2017 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review our company. We routinely receive positive feedback about our training department. We are dedicated to preparing our agents for success during in-house ... More


  11. Helpful (2)

    "It's all about the opportunity. You truly determine your own success."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent, fast-paced, one week training in Chicago.
    Opportunity to excel.

    Cons

    More field training. Shortage of qualified territory managers, and push to recruit more sales agents, leaves huge training vacuum, causing very high turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Really help the freshly out of sales school agent to learn and earn money to pay the bills until the agent can fly on their own.

    Combined Insurance Response

    Sep 16, 2016 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for reviewing our company and for mentioning that you experienced “excellent, fast-paced training” at our home office. We are in a growth mode, which means our work environment is ... More


Showing 97 of 459 reviews
Reset Filters