Combined Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

Combined Insurance Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
61%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Combined Insurance CEO Joe Vasquez
Joe Vasquez
5 Ratings
  1. "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    100% independent access to great commissions, benefits and incentives

    Cons

    100% independent, need to be self motivated

    Advice to Management

    Pursue agents with books of business

    Combined Insurance2019-09-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "It is what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting projects. If you are into learning new technology then there are lots of opportunity

    Cons

    Always keep your eyes open, things are not what it seemed. Pretty much boy club environment

    Combined Insurance2019-09-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - friendly coworkers - learning environment

    Cons

    - only position that does what you do

    Combined Insurance2019-08-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not for agents new to the sales industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The sales school training in Chicago was great! Has great products. W2 instead of 1099

    Cons

    No support my first month in the field. Your first 4 weeks in the field is supposed to be accompanied by management. During that time you’re supposed to earn nice bonuses contingent upon your manager going out to train you how to write policies. That didn’t happen. I was told “You can do it”! PMA! (Positive mental attitude). Needless to say, I walked away with a bad taste in my mouth for selling insurance. Oh and... another thing, when management goes out with you while you’re in training. You’re supposed to write the policies, NOT THEM. When my manager finally went out with me he wrote all the policies for himself. I walked away empty handed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make sure management is actually doing the “BLUEPRINT for SUCCESS” with the agents. Not sending them out on the own.

    Combined Insurance2019-08-22
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Whose your Boss?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Acquisition Partner in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A traditional Sales organization designed for thick-skinned, ambitious, nose to the grindstone, 24/7 workers. If that's you you'll thrive! You'll Sell insurance and make Money-stay away from management.

    Cons

    Leadership Void- The local Management is composed of sales people that were offered a salaried job. Senior Leadership are long term survivors that have been able to hang in there. A promotion generally means , taking over a failed team, a drop in your income with a potential to make more, IF.... So the most successful leaders stay in their jobs and do not accept promotion They simply make a lot of money.

    Advice to Management

    Stop giving pay cuts when advancing people. Advance and reward $)( people that kept and grown their teams. Including the staff functions like recruiters-100 % failure of a team is not the team but the poor leadership.

    Combined Insurance2019-08-17
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Stay away even your bosses steal your leads."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Agent in Newburgh, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of the products are good.

    Cons

    Long hours, supervisors are abusive and will call and steal your clients behind your back, customers have to fight to get their claims paid. Large amounts of chargebacks.

    Advice to Management

    You have great products and terrible supervisors. Treat you employees betters and results will improve,

    Combined Insurance2019-08-07
  7. "Cost of Operation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Quebec, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Combined insurance offer and advanced training for sales rep

    Cons

    Cost to function is too high

    Advice to Management

    All Sales are commissioned base, it means you have to have high income to cover the operation cost

    Combined Insurance2019-08-07
  8. "Don’t believe the hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can make a ton of money if you want to be a workaholic

    Cons

    Culture is false. It’s survival of the fittest with no support

    Advice to Management

    Try being an agent for a day. The upper management has lost touch.

    Combined Insurance2019-08-05
  9. "Good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance, Team Support, Company Culture

    Cons

    Not as close to downtown as other companies

    Combined Insurance2019-07-30
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Freedom to work on your own time Compensation is capable of being very lucrative

    Cons

    Zero guaranteed income Many unpaid mandatory meetings No fuel reimbursement Mandatory unpaid "Sales School" does not adequately prepare you for real world selling Management's pay is based on your performance, they may become very pushy if numbers are not where they would like

    Advice to Management

    Re-evaluate the Chicago training manual. it currently does not reflect real-world conditions and is not effective in the field. Be more proactive in getting agents off the lead list and teach them how to create new opportunities.

    Combined Insurance2019-07-23
Found 731 reviews