Combined Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

Combined Insurance Reviews

Updated October 17, 2017
519 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

519 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • long hours, travel, door to door sales, (in 31 reviews)

  • If you want to earn big incomes , need to be prepared to work long hours through the learning curve (in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexibility and company incentive and rewards.
    Trips and pay are amazing!

    Cons

    They say merit based company but that is not always the case.

    Advice to Management

    Promote top talent from within and not go outside of the company to hire management especially if they lack experience!

    Combined Insurance Response

    Sep 5, 2017 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for sharing this positive review! As you mentioned, employees have the ability to work following a schedule that is best for them and their customers. We also reward our employees with... More


  2. "Project Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Good leadership at the top of the organization

    Cons

    Position could be very boring at times.

    Advice to Management

    Create more team building events

    Combined Insurance Response

    Sep 5, 2017 – Social Media Manager

    Thanks so much for sharing this positive review! We always appreciate hearing from our current employees. We recommend you ask your manager for more interesting or challenging side projects and that... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "I've enjoyed the opportunity and support that has been given to me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Amityville, NY
    Current Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Amityville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Unlimited income...generous and attainable bonus structure...ability to build a residual income and career.....ability to help people when they need it most.

    Cons

    Commission based no can be a bit of a struggle if you don't produce. The leads that are generated from existing and lapsed clients are disorganized and lead to a lot of confusion.

    Advice to Management

    Streamline the lead process.....up date product lines to compete with the market
    Stop the parading of successful agents on a weekly basis....makes the culture of office appear more like a multi level marketing gig then a career.
    Work closer with the struggling agents to help them get through the first year


  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative
    Former Employee - Sales Representative
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    They provide great training and tools to help you be successful. The training program is laid out weekly and if followed the chance for success is excellent. The company provides support for those who want to work and be successful.

    Cons

    It is a commission job. If you don't put in the effort you will not succeed.

    Combined Insurance Response

    Sep 5, 2017 – Social Media Manager

    Thanks so much for sharing this positive review! We do our best to prepare our agents for success through thorough, in-house training followed by leadership support in the field. We wish you all the... More


  5. "Must be willing to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent school training, continuing classroom education in home market.

    Cons

    Non-existent field training for me after sales school. Inconsistency between markets.

    Advice to Management

    Do not hire sales people without having quality support staff in the market to continue training and support. .

    Combined Insurance Response

    Sep 5, 2017 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience as a Combined Sales Agent. We agree-our training is top-notch, and we do everything we can to help our new agents be successful. Thanks for... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive
    Former Employee - Account Executive
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Decent commission structure, company incentives. The sales training is excellent

    Cons

    Awful hours, company has a different "incentive week" every other week to try to get you to work weekends. The only way you can make a decent living is working 10-12 hours a day and sometimes weekends. The time you put in is not worth the money you get out


  7. "Combined AGENT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Agent in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great policies that helps people at the time of need and it's satisfying to know that when a life event happens you assisted in protecting your client

    Cons

    They say they promote on merit vs tenure ; sure that works in other parts of the country than in the mid-Atlantic region. They say you are in business for yourself but not by yourself but that is far from the truth ; once you are outside of your 26 weeks get ready for no support or assistance ie: coaching.
     Lots of meetings weekly and monthly market meetings for agents / AE in those positions.

    The most valuable meeting is the twice yearly regional meetings bar NONE hands down.

    This is 2017 not 1990 ; things that worked then in: marketing, management , HR don't work the same today .

      There is Favoritism, NEPOTISM-- even though they say they don't directly report to them. NO home office oversite of the ZONE personnel , if your not one of their cohorts / buddies your are on the outside looking in on the IN crowd . If you have a chance please consider other avenues of employment else where don't waste your time here especially not the East zone or Mid-Atlantic region

    Have Upper management with Degrees that are in the business, marketing or insurance fields not ---- a High School Diploma.

    Personnel in the agent/fieldarea has a High High Turn-over!!!!

    NO follow thru , No Trust built up from agent to DM's , MD'S
    Promoting certain employees over others that have more merit than others that are a better fit for that mid level management position

    100% commission based position

    Advice to Management

    Management shouldn't be micro managers to adults that know their craft.

    Need to rotate management positions more often ; (esp: HR business partners; all they do is anything to protect their job and not look or assist employees at all just be better off talking to a wall.) ; this would grow the company and allow all people to shine with out being suppressed by not being their pal, buddy , favorite or in the group of select few or Family member.

    There are others but doesn't matter about how often they say there is an open door policy your discussion falls on deaf ears.

  8. "Not the best...not the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good compensation plan. Good products.

    Cons

    High pressure. Poor management.

    Advice to Management

    Care more about employees and less about the numbers.

    Combined Insurance Response

    Sep 5, 2017 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review our company. Our agents have the ability to make a virtually unlimited income based on the volume of their sales, but as you mentioned, sales can be "high... More


  9. "You get out of it what you put in it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Combined Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Very very supportive to new agents

    Cons

    You have to be a self starter

    Combined Insurance Response

    Jul 28, 2017 – Social Media Manager

    Thanks so much for sharing this positive review! We wish you all the best!


  10. "Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Combined Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Feel satisfaction in helping others get the coverage they need to protect themselves for what life might throw at them.

    Cons

    Do have to work late hours a lot, due to when people are at home and available to meet.

    Combined Insurance Response

    Jul 28, 2017 – Social Media Manager

    Thank you for this positive feedback! We appreciate that you've painted a realistic picture of what it takes to be successful here. We wish you all the best!


Showing 519 of 539 reviews
Reset Filters