Combined Jewish Philanthropies Reviews | Glassdoor

Combined Jewish Philanthropies Reviews

Updated 25 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Combined Jewish Philanthropies CEO Barry Shrage (no image)
Barry Shrage
17 Ratings
  1. "Amazing organization with a healthy work/life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Jewish Philanthropies full-time

    Pros

    Friendly work culture and a moving mission

    Cons

    The organization is going through structural changes.

    Combined Jewish Philanthropies2019-04-25
  2. "Compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Combined Jewish Philanthropies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation and benefits and high holidays

    Cons

    Staff cooperation and respect and no enforcement

    Combined Jewish Philanthropies2019-03-31
  3. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Jewish Philanthropies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company's mission is very positive. You are working to help people in the community. Good Work/Life balance. Lots of opportunity if you are willing to step up to challenges, but not a requirement to have a stable job. Good exposure to top management, if you want it.

    Cons

    Sometimes asked to do the impossible. You can feel badly if you come up short.

    Advice to Management

    Overall, I'm satisfied with the management.

    Combined Jewish Philanthropies2019-03-15
  4. "Lots of room to grow, lots going on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Combined Jewish Philanthropies full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working environment. Smart, committed people who care about what they do.

    Cons

    People can get territorial over their areas of focus. The leadership can be somewhat all over the place. They aren't great at getting rid of underperformers.

    Combined Jewish Philanthropies2018-07-11
  5. "Truly caring community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Jewish Philanthropies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No matter how small or mundane the task, you know that it's for the greater good. Colleagues are caring and supportive, and the organization embraces a healthy work-life balance. Recent strategic shifts in priorities enable the company to remain relevant and competitive in the Greater Boston philanthropic world, and prove that we're not stuck behind the times. The physical office is sunny, bright, and open,... fostering a truly positive, collaborative environment. They focus on employee engagement, promote health and wellness, and encourage volunteering and giving back. Career development opportunities are regularly offered, and they welcome innovative thinking. It's easy to get involved, and you feel like part of a family.

    Show More

    Cons

    When it's busy, it's BUSY.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to recognize efforts from all departments, people love feeling appreciated! Especially in crazy times.

    Combined Jewish Philanthropies2018-02-08
  6. "Positive, creative environment for motivated people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Jewish Philanthropies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Smart, dedicated colleagues The organization is rooted in solid values, strives to live up to them Work/life balance 10 minute walk from South Station Lots of Jewish holidays and generous paid time off Beautiful newly renovated offices with plenty of meeting space Lots of opportunity for professional development, but you need to find it, drive your own learning

    Cons

    You can almost always get where you are going faster via the stairs vs. the elevator

    Advice to Management

    Remember that flexible work arrangements are a huge draw and help employees be productive

    Combined Jewish Philanthropies2018-02-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "CJP - a busy and rewarding place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Jewish Philanthropies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's rewarding working for an organization that has a significant impact in the Greater Boston area and beyond. The work also touches several areas so it keeps things interesting. The staff is dedicated, collaborative, and work well together.

    Cons

    It gets busy during the campaign year and can be stressful at times. But everyone works together to get things done and the work is appreciated.

    Combined Jewish Philanthropies2018-01-28

    Combined Jewish Philanthropies Response

    January 29, 2018COO

    Thank you for sharing your experience at CJP. We agree on both of your points; our staff is passionate about the work we do and the positive impact we have on our community here and abroad. And, at times it takes a village to get through a large project! It is wonderful to see the collaborative spirit alive and well st CJP.

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Project Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Specialist in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Jewish Philanthropies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues, ability to move up within the organization as a young person, lots of mentorship available

    Cons

    Working for "the man" of the Jewish non profit sector

    Combined Jewish Philanthropies2017-07-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Jewish Philanthropies full-time

    Pros

    Decent salaries for a non profit. Opportunities for job growth and promotion if you're a hard-working and top-performing employee.

    Cons

    A little too top heavy in some departments.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure that salaries are commensurate with job responsibilities.

    Combined Jewish Philanthropies2017-07-26
  10. "Senior Development Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Combined Jewish Philanthropies full-time

    Pros

    Community and work-life balance are great!

    Cons

    Need some better communication between departments

    Combined Jewish Philanthropies2017-05-15
Found 34 reviews