Comcast "customer service" Reviews | Glassdoor

Comcast Employee Reviews about "customer service"

Updated Nov 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Comcast CEO Brian L. Roberts
Brian L. Roberts
4,425 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits including work life balance(in 1289 reviews)

  • "Practically free cable for it's employees(in 799 reviews)

Cons
  • "We were trained on sales not customer service and we had to do both(in 385 reviews)

  • "It’s hard to have a work life balance when you work direct sales(in 248 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "customer service"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Account Manager in Beaverton, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Comcast full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits from this company are phenomenal! They hire people that are generally intelligent and are great people to work with!

    Cons

    They have very strict guidelines for customers and make little to no exceptions to those customers, which results in customers not liking the customer service.

    Comcast2018-12-27
  2. "Cool job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 

    I worked at Comcast part-time

    Pros

    Salary, people that you work with

    Cons

    Mnanagement, advancement, sales matrix, customer service

    Comcast2019-11-17
  3. "Good workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager in Denver, CO

    I have been working at Comcast full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Promising products, technology and services

    Cons

    Customer service and Office can be better

    Comcast2019-11-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Temporary Employment Until You Land Your Real Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outbound Sales Business Representative in Centennial, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Comcast full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Good Friends, Free Food

    Cons

    The OBSR Job itself. Spend 8 hours a day in an auto-dialer working tired, worn-out, unrefined leads...and sounding like a complete idiot on the majority of these calls while you're waiting for the computer screen to catch up to who you have on the phone. You will call about 100 businesses each day (or more) and most of them hang up on you the instant they hear the word "Comcast". Those that don't are likely... already Comcast Business customers which shouldn't be in your list in the first place since the OBSR position's focus is NEW ACQUISITION. But...in spite of the company being keenly aware of this problem, they do NOTHING about it other than encourage you to sell whatever lines of business the customer doesn't already have, regardless of whether it's a service that will benefit the business or not. When I say worn out and tired leads, I'm also talking about the fact that the company recycles leads like crazy and changes the name of the list but not the leads in the list. Here's the basic formula for the OBSR department: spend as little on leads as humanly possible and keep constantly hiring more poor suckers to call through them over and over again...then, after the Marketing OBSRs are done with a list, send it over to the Qualified OBSRs and call all those poor souls that didn't get weeded out of the list a few more times. Also, you will call a TON of Home-Based Businesses that are already using Xfinity Residential Service and you're expected to flat out LIE to the customer about how much better Comcast Business service is to justify the much higher price point. The truth is that there are only a few differences between Xfinity and Comcast Business and those are rather minor differences at best. Additionally, Comcast has a TERRIBLE reputation in the industry and in spite of claiming that "customer service should be our best product" they are doing very little to back those words up with any sort of action. At least once every couple days you'll call someone the company has burned in the past and that person is going to let you have it. One other thing to be aware of is that the company does not work together. As a telemarketer, you'll fight to keep sales that the door-to-door guys will steal. Other phone jockeys even in your same call center will also try to poach your deals. Many of the technicians will tell your customers all kinds of crazy things to get out of doing their job. Other departments are set up as checks and balances and will reject deals you submit for all kinds of silly bureaucratic reasons...which means your customer has to wait while the company foolishly fights amongst itself. I could go on here all day listing cons...but these things above are the major issues. The bottom line is, if you don't mind making a total fool of yourself through no fault of your own, telling people outright lies in order to get deals, and working for a company that people truly hate...it's not a bad place to work, at least while you keep interviewing at other places where one can take pride in being an employee there. However, if you're any sort of decent salesperson who has ethics, integrity, and any sort of moral compass, you're not going to want to stay there long. Like me, you'll be looking for another job elsewhere where you won't be ashamed to tell people where you work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look at the reviews from your current and former employees in the OBSR position and spot the trends. If many different employees are all telling you the same negative things...might be, you should look a little harder at how business is being conducted. When an entire department is failing to hit monthly numbers other than a few, select, consistent salespeople, you ought to start looking at the quality of the... leads you're paying them to call. When most of your salespeople are LEAPING into any other position in the company they can get simply to escape from being an OBSR as soon as they've done their mandatory year in the role...what does that tell you about being an OBSR? Final comment: consider doing away with the auto-dialer because quantity is NOT a thing to value over quality. If you want to ever change the horrendous reputation Comcast has, a good first step would be allowing your reps to place intelligent phone calls instead of rapid-firing them from one misguided call into the next. You want to know how the world sees Comcast and its employees, truthfully? At best, as imbeciles and at worst, as crooks. I challenge you to prove this wrong.

    Show More
    Comcast2019-10-22
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Maybe the most disorganized “supervisors” I’ve ever seen."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retention in Clawson, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Comcast full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounted services for cable and internet. You have to pay for the equipment though.

    Cons

    The training is non existent. When asking for help you will be told to ask your peers. Hello!!!! My peers are in training too. Why would I ask them? I was also met with the response of “that’s not my job”. Then what is the job of the trainer if not to train the new people. I understand the bad reputation of customer service a lot better after working there. The employees are encouraged to ignore the... customers and push up sales. And the supervisors BEG for a good rating for the monthly surveys they send their employees. Truly pathetic.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Encourage good customer service. Actually train the new hires.

    Comcast2019-09-15
  6. "Corporate job with corporate mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Project Manager in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Comcast full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    benefits, free cable, internet, phone

    Cons

    Department closures, horrible customer service

    Comcast2019-08-24
  7. Helpful (477)

    "Tons of Opportunity, in your Hands"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Comcast full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at Comcast has given me the opportunity to develop myself; take the time to grow and learn, and that was really important to me during the time in my life when I joined the company. If you have the drive and ambition, there are a ton of ways in which you can grow into a leader if that's what you want to be. I took advantage of the continued education benefit and am finishing my masters degree now... I also... joined a couple of the employee resource groups which offer seminars and networking events that support your professional profile. Listen, I'm not a total nerd. The point of my post is that this isn't a company you join and just stay stale within. They encourage your growth, but it's up to you to make it happen. Not only this - it's pretty exciting. We're busy and we have big jobs to do. My salary is in the top percentile for my industry but not only this, I again get the continued education (which is ~$6K/year) plus free cable/internet, top health care benefits and a truly balanced lifestyle - which is rarely the case within the Tech industry.

    Show More

    Cons

    Telling people you work at Comcast triggers 2 typical responses: 1) A big hatred rant on customer service 2) A how do I get my foot in the door? The reputation of the company is difficult, but the style of the company is to stay humble - I've never seen the company defend themselves against the harmful and discrediting news that exists. I personally think they should defend themselves a little more - they are... between a rock and a hard place in many instances of service. I personally experienced visiting someone's home where the issues they were having with their connection was due to a tree root growing into the cable lines which had been their for over 20 years. Things like that cannot be diagnosed over a phone call. It's hard work in the field for sure. Being a part of the corporate side sometimes we're too disconnected from what's happening on the frontline. So I think the size of the organization comes with its complications, but again if you're a working professional looking for an exciting, robust and sexy career, you can comfortably have it here.

    Show More
    Comcast2015-02-28
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Find Another Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Pompano Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Comcast full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    See Cons below as the cons by far outway the pros.

    Cons

    I could no longer work for a company who provided so little customer service to their customers. Although there were benefits working there, I could no longer speak with customers and know comcast should be doing more for them. I started to feel like a Bank Robber as I felt I was robbing customers of the customer service they deserved. Bank Robbers go to prison and so should the president and board members who are... only concerned with increasing their profits so they can receive their bonuses or their stock goes up. Corporate Greed at the worst. Anyone working for Comcast should be ashamed and should start working for a respectable company. Life is too short to compromise basic values.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    see cons

    Comcast2019-07-05
  9. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Comcast full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Money and freedom. You made as much as you worked for

    Cons

    We were trained on sales not customer service and we had to do both

    Comcast2019-04-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Decent place to work but not without its flaws."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Comcast full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers and lower-management are friendly and will help you out Tools, Vehicle, and Clothing provided to you Paid training, easy paycheck for the first few months Great benefits for an entry-level position Get to have autonomy and avoid office politics (for the most part.)

    Cons

    Equipment has constant issues, long activation times, 50/50 shot it will work out of the packaging when you install it. Patience is a good trait to have because you can end up on a single job for hours on a bad day. Self-Installs are pointless because the average layperson does not understand how cable needs to be configured and the retail stores don't know the home's layout. We end up coming to their house anyway.... It is partly a customer service job, you will see the worst of people. People who are irrational in their emotions or demands, people who will pretend they can do their job better than you, hoarders, and so on. Management does not listen. Don't bother filling out surveys, the company plugs their ears and dodges the issues brought up. There is also a very fake atmosphere of faux-positivity that is tiring which ties into the corporate atmosphere. Brainwashing. You should not expect to be able to speak openly or honestly about your experiences, which is sadly the status quo in corporate America. Thankfully you are out in the field 90% of the time to avoid this. You will always be doubted or second-guessed when you bring up a concern about a job. Management has a tendency to insult a Technician's intelligence only to spend an hour of back and forth to come to the same conclusion. Metrics change often and need to be improved on. Other Telecom providers limit a 'Repeat' penalty for callbacks to two weeks. Comcast will penalize you for having another tech return to the same house you were in within a month. Your repeats will often be aforementioned poor equipment failing or the customers own mistakes. This and other metrics that slow you down by making the job more convoluted than it should be also weigh on your promotions and raises. These metrics more often than not punish technicians for things out of their control.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to what your frontline is telling you. Your monopoly in much of the country cements your revenue stream. The cards are in your hands to acknowledge and work on constructive criticisms brought up by the people who spend more time than you in the field seeing things first hand.

    Comcast2019-05-03
Found 385 reviews