Commercial Vehicle Reviews | Glassdoor

Commercial Vehicle Reviews

Updated Apr 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Richard P. Lavin
12 Ratings
  1. "Good Company for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commercial Vehicle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive Management in all ways

    Cons

    No bonuses is not a good thing

    Commercial Vehicle2019-02-15
  2. "Good company to learn how to navigate politics and office drama. Not so much for long term careers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Commercial Vehicle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice building in New Albany. HR is getting better

    Cons

    The most insecure top level management you will ever meet. Expressing opinions or suggestions is pointless unless you are a director or VP. The "open door" policy is nothing more than a slogan.

    Advice to Management

    Live up to the vision you promote to the rest of the employees. Measure performance with the same standard. Stop burning out a few good performers and let others slide without consequences. Or, at the very least, don't be so obvious about it.

    Commercial Vehicle2019-04-01
  3. "DON'T WORK HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Commercial Vehicle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best thing about here is some of the people are kind

    Cons

    Harassed for months a s finally fired a day before I could be on short term disability for an illness that hospitalized me for 5 days. I was also pointed for not being at work while hospiatized.

    Advice to Management

    Treat good employees better

    Commercial Vehicle2018-12-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commercial Vehicle full-time

    Pros

    Great environment, good communication!

    Cons

    I don't have any cons

    Commercial Vehicle2018-10-18
  5. "Not a good place to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Albany, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commercial Vehicle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good location Some people are nice

    Cons

    If you're a hard worker and care about your career, this is not a right place to work because Favoritism is the thing. People at management level are buddies, they have big ego and always think they are right. They don't want to listen to you just because they don't like you. They give high pay rate increase to only those people they favor. Manager wanted to climb up so they took employees' credit. Managers are rude....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be respective and humble. Replace the managers and improve the culture.

    Commercial Vehicle2018-11-22
  6. "Decnt place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Commercial Vehicle full-time

    Pros

    Pay for the area, decent benefits

    Cons

    Lots of required overtime, work/life balance, management

    Advice to Management

    Most management at cvg needs replaced. It's very buddy system in management, the wrong people have the jobs for wrong reason. No real changes/results in sight.

    Commercial Vehicle2018-08-15
  7. "Sr Global Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RMZ Consulting in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Commercial Vehicle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits Great personnel at the plant level

    Cons

    Communication stability No recognition or R&R Sales development Reaction on opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Better Communication and listen to your employees

    Commercial Vehicle2018-08-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent opportunity for growth in my career; the company cares for my personal success, and I care for theirs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Business Analyst in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Commercial Vehicle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1) Opportunities to grow in my career. 2) Very nice corporate headquarter building (well maintained, newer technology, etc.) 3) Encouraging company vision and mission. 4) Company has the desire to achieve great things.

    Cons

    1) Some areas of the business fall way short of the core company values. 2) There is a certain amount of politics at play versus just getting the job done.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to strive for success! The more and more the company can continue to align itself with its core values, the better it will be.

    Commercial Vehicle2018-01-21
  9. "Open your Eyes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kings Mountain, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Commercial Vehicle full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people on the plant floor are the hardest working you will ever see in any plant and this is the best thing about Kings Mountain Plant

    Cons

    lower pay and benefits than other local companies. No profit sharing or bonus program for the hard work. Old equipment, the roof leaks when it rains and needs painting, AC don't work in part of the plant, plant is very dusty and smoky from all the welding, salary works well over 50 hrs and weekends and don't get payed for it, This plant makes money but it appears that much of it goes to corp office or supporting other...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fight for the people. Fight corporate office for funding, hire more help, displace some management. Restructure

    Commercial Vehicle2018-01-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dalton, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Commercial Vehicle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Mom and pops feel to place. Laid back environment. Most people are friendly.

    Cons

    Depending on what department you work in there can be some serious conflict of interest. Everyone in management is buddies so the "open door policy" is worthless if you have a problem with someone. Problems can get swept under the rug like it never happened. Zero room for advancement. More of a stepping stone job while looking for something else. Temps are treated poorly. Can get laid off or let go with very little notice.

    Advice to Management

    Better open door policy. Everyone in upper management is friends so I makes it hard going to them when you have a problem with someone.

    Commercial Vehicle2017-09-15
Found 37 reviews