Common Sail Investment Group Reviews

Updated Apr 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
93%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Common Sail Investment Group CEO Dan Hughes (no image)
Dan Hughes
69 Ratings
Pros
  • "Last but not least, we have an amazing culture and work life balance(in 8 reviews)

  • "The company truly cares not only for the residents but the employee too(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Company is growing new businesses at an almost frantic rate, and is not sufficiently learning from mistakes from past growth issues ( I(in 6 reviews)

  • "There are no downsides to working for CSIG(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Awesome Place to work

      Apr 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company culture is awesome. Everyone is committed to providing the best experience possible and it is so cool to be a part of it.

      Cons

      Can't think of any negatives.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Positive Culture, Your Voice Matters

      Mar 2, 2021 - Human Resources Team Member in Brighton, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am so happy to work with Common Sail. Our culture is so positive, caring, inspiring, and FUN! The company truly cares about your professional development and your career goals. I feel valued, heard, and my work means something more here. I feel like I am treated as a person and not an employee most days. Most of all, I feel like my work positively impacts others, and that is what matters most. Our leader leads by example, provides a lot of support while also providing autonomy, and welcomes creativity. Work-life balance. Ability to wfh when needed.

      Cons

      401(k) benefit is not very generous. Because we are growing so rapidly, there are a lot of changes that happen fairly frequently, which can be stressful for some (but exciting to others!). Change is constant, you must accept this in order to be successful at Common Sail.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company To Work For!

      Apr 26, 2021 - Community Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee first, work life balance, culture, support

      Cons

      high pressure job, fast pace environment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place To Be

      Dec 18, 2020 - Learning and Development Specialist in Brighton, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - I feel like I can approach leadership with any questions, concerns, or ideas and they are open to feedback and innovation - From day one this felt like a community where everyone treats each other like family - The work feels impactful

      Cons

      - I would love to see more racial diversity, but I am really happy about the diversity in age, experience, work and leadership styles, etc. - The work here is never done! (This can also be a positive as I know there are always things to work on and ways to improve) but sometimes the tasks feel like mountains.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Common Sail Investment Group Response

      Brand Marketer

      Hello, Thank you for your review of Common Sail Investment Group! We love to hear that you feel confident approaching your leader and team. We also love the fact that you felt like a part of a bigger family from the beginning. Our goal is to hire the best talent and be a diversified environment. We would love to connect with you directly to discuss ideas you may have on how we can find more talented employees. Please connect with Pam Hayes at (810) 220-2655 to discuss your feedback. We appreciate you! Thank you.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      Feb 9, 2021 - Technical Support Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My coworkers, and the atmosphere

      Cons

      I have came across no cons with the company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Experience!

      Mar 5, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of room for personal career growth Great working atmosphere

      Cons

      Lacking business processes Leadership in some areas are pretty green and need a lot of supervision/oversight to grow into an effective leader

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fun atmosphere

      Jan 25, 2021 - Treasury Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance & Company Culture

      Cons

      Unfortunately, lots of office politics & not enough woman in senior roles

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Common Sail Investment Group Response

      Brand Marketer

      Hello, Thank you for leaving a review of Common Sail Investment Group! We love to learn that you appreciate the culture at work and your work-life balance. Women hold all different positions at our organization. We encourage you to reach out to our Director of HR, Pam Hayes, to learn about the women in leadership roles at Common Sail. To reach her, please call (810) 220-2655. Thank you!

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to Work

      Jan 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great co-workers, love the culture.

      Cons

      A lot of changes, just have to be used to it!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Not always as it seems

      Oct 21, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Brighton, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Beautiful and convenient corporate office with snacks, drinks, team building events, and lots of friendly faces. Multiple private planes that some corporate employees have the privilege to travel in. Benefits are generous but very mediocre in comparison to organizations the same size. Lots of departments and availability to try out working with or on other teams. Company is continuing to grow, acquire more businesses, and revenue is not wavering by any means. Overall friendly atmosphere, and work-life balance is great for most employees organization-wide. Most people work here several years, and there's a lot of employees who are younger and of all genders. There's definitely a strong presence of equality regardless of gender, age, sexual orientation, body modifications (i.e. tattoos), race, ethnic group, etc. Although, if you look around, most of the younger women look the same which is kind of concerning if you think about it.

      Cons

      The company is growing rapidly. The growing pains are REAL and CLEAR and it's frustrating that so many leaders are incapable of managing expectations of their teams and stakeholders and therefore every task/project turns into an emergency and last minute fire drill. Lots of nepotism and other similar arrangements, which I have seen become an unfair disadvantage to others. Executive team and regional leaders are clueless, arrogant, and often rude individuals but are never reprimanded. Need to do better, CSIG! In terms of benefits, health care could be better. The deductibles are high with HSA's, but HSA contributions don't even cover half of the deductible for an individual plan. Also the 401K match is a joke, it's like $250 total. Not much room for substantial lateral growth unless you're buddy-buddy with someone high up. Most people move between depts versus up the latter where they're at. CEO Dan is.... interesting. Comes across as a wishy washy wealthy guy who refuses to use a laptop to oversee his company.... 10/10 will put his feet up on a conference room table while conversing with a group. Unprofessional.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Common Sail Investment Group Response

      Brand Marketer

      Hello, We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback! As a current employee familiar with the home office, you're familiar with our Common Beliefs, specifically our Constant Pursuit of Better. We make mistakes, but we pride ourselves on always doing the right thing even when cheap, easy and popular options are available. As an Employee-First company, every employee has an opportunity to spend time with their leader each month. These one-on-one meetings aim to help the employee get better and, as a result, help us get better. Although a more productive way to voice your concerns would be through these meetings, we appreciate that you reached out here to help us improve. We love that you enjoy the growth opportunities, a friendly environment and work-life balance, as those are all things we strive to provide to each employee. We agree that we are a growing company, and we are fortunate to have been able to promote from within. Currently, almost all of our leadership team at our home office started their careers working at our communities. Each employee plays an active role in how we do business, and our leadership team exists to facilitate that. In addition to our one-on-one coaching, we have an entire team dedicated to leadership training because we know how essential it is to each individual’s growth. To discuss your experience further, please reach out to Pam Hayes at (810) 220-2655.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Common Sail - Great Opportunity!

      Sep 10, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Brighton, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Common Sail is not your standard business and I couldn't be more thankful to work for such a great organization. If you are dedicated and a hard worker, then this is the place for you. Being an employee at CommonSail has challenged me, provided me with growth and has given me the tools to excel in my career. I honestly look forward to coming to work every day ( this is the first organization that I can say this about!) and that is saying something! Leaders are dedicated to the employees. They are genuine people and care for the well-being and growth of their employees. I cannot tell you how refreshing that is to see in a business setting. Last but not least, we have an amazing culture and work life balance. My recommendation to anyone reading this review is to take a leap and see what we are all about.

      Cons

      I do not have any cons to provide. When I have an issue, I bring it to the attention of my Manager and we work together to find a solutions.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 96 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Common Sail Investment Group Job Seekers

    Graphic Designer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Entry Level Graphic Designer
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Common Sail Investment Group? Share Your Experiences

    Common Sail Investment Group logo
    or