Commonwealth Bank of Australia Reviews | Glassdoor

Commonwealth Bank of Australia Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1410 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Matt Comyn
186 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Strategy Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Collaborative environment, great people, a lot of opportunity to grow professionally and personally

    Cons

    It's a big company and can be slow to make decisions and get things done

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2019-02-26
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Review of CBA Digital Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time

    Pros

    Great leadership. Good training and development. Ok remuneration. Good opportunities if you are on leadership track.

    Cons

    Working across the different business units. Conflict between departments on responsibilities. A very large organisation.

    Advice to Management

    Keep simplifying. Find new ways to deliver work horizontally across the organisation. Remove impediments for your staff.

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2018-10-12
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Too much politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Worker in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great benefits package, flexible work life balance, good people overall

    Cons

    The executive team sucks! Compensation is extremely low and not at market value, employees are treated based on likes (it’s truly a political game), no real room for growth, you’re often demoted and there’s nothing you can do about it. The bonuses are the worse, never seen anything like it. They sell you on the fact that it’s a great company but it isn’t they work you like a dog. You’re often given short notice to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change the executive team, they are really tearing the company apart.

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2018-10-09

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia Response

    October 17, 2018

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear about your experience and want to assure you that we take these reports seriously. To raise your concerns anonymously, we encourage you to contact HR Direct on 1800 989 696 or the SpeakUp hotline on 1800 SpeakUP (1800 773 258).

  4. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance is great

    Cons

    Appalling finance management don’t know anything about the underlying processes or people

    Commonwealth Bank of Australia2018-08-07
  5. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time

      Pros

      Everyone is very collaborative, willing to help, and very intelligent. Good work/life balance. Great location downtown!

      Cons

      Not that I know of.

      Commonwealth Bank of Australia2018-07-18
    • "Good Benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

      I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Good pay, good benefits (healthcare, time off, 401k)

      Cons

      Non-transparent leadership, weak culture, very slow moving corporate feel

      Commonwealth Bank of Australia2018-03-07
    • "Electrician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Au Sable Forks, NY
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Commonwealth Bank of Australia part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      To make money for my future

      Cons

      I don't have any downward

      Advice to Management

      Am gonna be a good person

      Commonwealth Bank of Australia2017-12-10
    • "Great salary, but can get lost in process"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Vice President, Embedded Products in Austin, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      You can learn a lot and apply what you've learned in new roles or in new jobs outside the bank.

      Cons

      Business tries to focus on people and capability but spends much of its efforts on the Eastern seaboard staff members.

      Advice to Management

      Spend more time on understanding the real impact of KPIs - understand what they would do to you.

      Commonwealth Bank of Australia2017-06-15
    • Helpful (12)

      "Do not recommend"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The hours in most functions are not too bad. Nice enough people on the trading desks/in support functions.

      Cons

      The culture is toxic and by far the worst that I have seen or heard of at any other bank. Everyone wants to leave, but CBA's poor reputation (not even third tier) and the market conditions make it difficult to find a new job in the same field. The company knows this and in turn lowballs bonuses thinking if people leave of their own volition, they wont have to pay severance and if they stay, the company gets away with...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      The New York office requires more management attention because unethical actions are not properly dealt with. Additionally, the employer retaliates against complaints even if they are sourced through the proper channels.

      Commonwealth Bank of Australia2017-05-31

      Commonwealth Bank of Australia Response

      June 13, 2017Employer Brand Specialist

      At CommBank, we take any reports of unethical behaviour very seriously. Raising this issue through HR Direct would enable us to follow up this matter internally. You can do this by calling 1800 989 696 Monday to Friday 8:00am to 7:00pm AEST and AEDT.

    • "Senior Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Commonwealth Bank of Australia full-time

      Pros

      Good work life balance and opportunity to progress career

      Cons

      Bureaucratic, slow decision making processes, salary is lower than market

      Commonwealth Bank of Australia2017-05-18
    Found 1410 reviews