Commonwealth of Massachusetts Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Intern Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Charlie Baker
1 Ratings
  1. "Amazing work experience, wonderful people at Office of the Comptroller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Management Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Commonwealth of Massachusetts

    Pros

    Some of the warmest people I have ever interacted with. Incredibly respectful and accommodating of any needs. Flexible hours, 9-5 never over that

    Cons

    Food downstairs is not the best, but the Office itself is wonderful.

    Commonwealth of Massachusetts2017-11-28
  2. "Research Intern for State Congressman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Intern in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Commonwealth of Massachusetts for more than a year

    Pros

    Great face-time with politicians and higher level state employees, positive experience working directly with legislation and constituents.

    Cons

    Responsibility to guide your own work and learning opportunities, a lot of paperwork and busywork, unpaid internship.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your interns! And create a more structured internship program so the whole responsibility does not land on the Directors to educate the interns.

    Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-04-19
  3. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Commonwealth of Massachusetts part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great learning experience, got to meet a lot of state legislatures

    Cons

    Difficult to work during summer recess

    Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-02-09
  4. "Legal Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Legal Intern in Boston, MA

      I worked at Commonwealth of Massachusetts for more than a year

      Pros

      Positive environment, great colleagues, 9-5

      Cons

      Slow to adapt to change

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2017-05-15
    • "Judicial Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Commonwealth of Massachusetts for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Low stress and casual work environment. Good mentoring and training. Lots of hands on experience. It is an excellent opportunity for young people to learn and be trained.

      Cons

      Low compensation. Not a very prestigious place to work. Advancement based on political connections as opposed to merit. There is a mix of people that work for state agencies. Some are highly motivated and skilled and others are just there to collect a paycheck.

      Advice to Management

      The state agency needs to modernize its practices. Too often efficiency is sacrificed for other political considerations. Promote people based on their merit. Increase the salaries to attract the best talent. Hold people accountable and terminate them for poor performance.

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2017-01-18
    • "Fun and educational"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Commonwealth of Massachusetts for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Really enjoyed working in the MA state government in a historic and educational environment - would recommend to anyone interested in politics

      Cons

      None that come to mind - great place to work and especially helpful for a student in college studying political science

      Advice to Management

      N/A - if you ask for work, you will get it in a governement office. there is always something interesting to work on

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2016-08-12
    • "Summer intern - had a great experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Commonwealth of Massachusetts for more than a year

      Pros

      Everyone in the office was extremely friendly and always willing to help if I needed assistance. I learned a lot through the process

      Cons

      It consisted of a lot of office and secretarial work, but as an intern, I couldn't expect much more

      Advice to Management

      I don't have any advice for the manager. She was very friendly and knew what she was doing.

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2015-04-08
    • "Very nice coworkers"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      People are very kind and helpful and they definitely appreciate the work of their interns. Lots of structure for their intern program and plenty of supervision and a week long training.

      Cons

      I think the commission is limited by lack of funding

      Advice to Management

      n/a

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2015-03-18
    • "Very friendly and professional work environmental"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intern in Boston, MA
      Recommends

      I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts for more than a year

      Pros

      Staff are warm and friendly

      Cons

      Does not provide you with the best training possible for personal development

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2014-12-09
    • "Working in the MA State house Committee on Ways and Means was a learning experience of a life time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intern in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts for more than a year

      Pros

      Not one staffer slacked in providing me with all the answers I needed to gain any lacking knowledge. The Chairman wasn't around a lot simply because he was extremely busy being one of the most important person in the state, so that was understandable. Staffers took time out of their busy work schedules to teach their ways one on one.

      Cons

      No air conditioning in the Summer! A little weird for a con but I would have to say that was the only one.

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2014-10-10
    Found 16 reviews