Commonwealth of Massachusetts Reviews | Glassdoor

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 373 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Charlie Baker
39 Ratings
  1. "Office Support Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, people are good to work with, job is easy.

    Cons

    Sometimes boring but overall pretty good.

    Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-11-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Loved job but not local management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Commonwealth of Massachusetts

      Pros

      Ability to fairly aid clients in terms of securing needed benefits Loved working with an area of law where I was extremely proficient Enjoyed being able to mentor new employees (I was a supervisor) Enjoyed being able to work with office staff to help them achieve goals Able to utilize highest skill, teaching/instructing

      Cons

      Management played favorites, they were very unfair to employees They took advantage of their positions to punish employees they didn’t like I didn’t operate like that but I always believed in the chain of command, so there were times when I was targeted because I didn’t agree with the way they dealt with employees. It proved counterproductive

      Advice to Management

      Personalities should never come into play unless they affect job performance. Such actions on the part of management makes your employees lose respect for you which in turn can affect your bottom line. A little respect goes a long way.

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-10-29
    • "Residential Supervisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time

      Pros

      Support,room for advancement,The people you support

      Cons

      defiant staff hours mandatory meetings

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-10-28
    • "steady employment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time

      Pros

      job security, benefits, union membership

      Cons

      rigid advancement structure, you need to be there a long time to do well

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-11-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "Data Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time

      Pros

      Flexible Schedule Summer Compressed hours Union Job Security

      Cons

      Lots of Politics (only favorites get advantages) No Salary hike No Telecommuting

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-10-12
    • "Job service Rep"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Job Service Representative in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Customer Service / Spanish Portuguese English

      Cons

      Grateful for my full time job but i need part time job to gain knowledge in the field of mental health

      Advice to Management

      none

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-09-03
    • Helpful (1)

      "Executive Office of Health and Human Services"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Program Coordinator III in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Unlimited opportunity to learn and grow. They have a great a union benefit package and many job opportunities.

      Cons

      Managers with no supervisor experience who were untrained and had negative attitudes

      Advice to Management

      Managers need to develop training programs, see employees potential and set a positive outlook which then resonates to all employees at all levels.

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-08-28
    • "not a bad place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      it used to be benefits

      Cons

      the draw to state employment used to be the benefits, the past 5 years they have worked on negotiating them down.

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-08-27
    • Helpful (1)

      "Thankfully Retired"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Social Worker in Hyannis, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Good retirement if you can last that long.

      Cons

      Terrible management in office where I worked. Had their favorites and people they did not like were forced out. No support by superiors. Expected to work after hours without being paid. Social workers are underpaid as it is. Many have to take their work home to meet expectations.

      Advice to Management

      Wise up. People from higher up in Boston need to look into mismanagement and favoritism at this office.

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-09-07
    • "Program Coordinator I"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time

      Pros

      Great benefits, retirement plan, opportunity for growth

      Cons

      Wish there were more people on my team

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-07-19
    Found 373 reviews