Commonwealth of Massachusetts Reviews | Glassdoor

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 373 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Charlie Baker
39 Ratings
  1. "Job Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time

    Pros

    Great pension and hours are stable

    Cons

    Very slow moving with hiring as well as promotions.

    Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-07-16
  2. "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time

    Pros

    Make an honest effort to include all employees when trainings or activities arise

    Cons

    Limited room for growth reserved for senior employees

    Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-07-07
  3. "More people should do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Commonwealth of Massachusetts

      Pros

      Mission-driven, good people, hard work.

      Cons

      Hard to put the job down

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-06-29
    • Helpful (2)

      "What's the point?"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Never need to work off regular hours (only 37.5 hours a week). As with any work place, if you have a good immediate manager, you'll have a better experience. I really liked my immediate boss and worked well with him.

      Cons

      "What's the point?" is a favorite saying between myself and my coworker, meaning "what's the point in working here?" Do you know how a lot of companies around Boston attract a lot of workers because they have good management, flex time, free coffee and snacks, and great benefits? The Commonwealth has none of that. The flex time policy is a joke. It took me months to get approved for a work from home day once a week,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I don't see how they could possibly change

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-07-03
    • Helpful (1)

      "Near 40 year nightmare"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Benefits were good, holidays vacation sick and personal time.

      Cons

      Big time nepotism and reverse discrimination. I could write a book on their mistreatment. Oh you get earned time but if you're not a favorite, they forbid you to take it. They don't even care when the job makes you seriously I'll.

      Advice to Management

      Try acting like a human being with compassion and understanding. Oh yeah, promote from within, especially someone with decades of experience!!!!!!

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-07-15
    • "Massachusetts State senate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time

      Pros

      Great Benefits and Great Networking Opportunities

      Cons

      Should know what department you would like to work in regarding elected official offices.

      Advice to Management

      Have a better understanding with bridging Government and Technology.

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-05-23
    • "Bureaucratic But With Promise"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      If you are interested in making a difference in the lives of young people, this will be a wonderful opportunity for you.

      Cons

      The employees are not adequately compensated for all the work they do. As a result, many have left the department not because they disliked the work but because they simply could not afford to remain.

      Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-05-10
    • "Procurement"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great Benefits, opportunities to advance

        Cons

        Should be able to work from home

        Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-04-23
      • "Ok"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time

        Pros

        Laid back atmosphere, low stress

        Cons

        Minimal opportunity for promotion or advancement

        Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-04-20
      • "Government Employee"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time

        Pros

        Excellent benefits available including health, dental, vision.

        Cons

        Salaries aren't necessarily as high as the private sector.

        Commonwealth of Massachusetts2018-03-21
      Found 373 reviews