Commonwealth of Virginia Reviews

Updated Feb 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
51%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Commonwealth of Virginia Governor Terry R. McAuliffe (no image)
Terry R. McAuliffe
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Benefits, multiple locations to choose from if you are mobile(in 11 reviews)

  • "Good Benefits, Growth Opportunity, Diverse Culture(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management doesn’t give a doggone about anyone there(in 5 reviews)

  • "Low pay, lacking promotional opportunities, inexperienced leadership(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "You get what you put into state work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Attorney in Leesburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Commonwealth of Virginia full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good, especially for starting employees. Great place to learm

    Cons

    Little upward mobility because there are limited top level jobs in the state employment structure

    Commonwealth of Virginia2020-02-20
  2. "Working for the State Of VA"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Secrectarial Specialist III in Clifton Forge, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commonwealth of Virginia part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I meet a lot of People

    Cons

    1500 hour hourly person no benefits

    Continue reading
    Commonwealth of Virginia2019-11-19
  3. "Work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I have been working at Commonwealth of Virginia full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits, work environment, teammates, safety

    Cons

    lack of pay keeping up with private sector and pay raises

    Commonwealth of Virginia2019-11-10
  4. "Work to live"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Writer in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commonwealth of Virginia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and work environment

    Cons

    Very nice place to work

    Commonwealth of Virginia2019-08-26
  5. "Opportunity to grow"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager/Senior Business Systems Analyst in Richmond, VA

    I worked at Commonwealth of Virginia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Growth Opportunity, Diverse Culture

    Cons

    Out dated technologies, slow environment, needs PMO structure

    Commonwealth of Virginia2019-08-26
  6. "Review"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Systems 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Commonwealth of Virginia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pros pros are pros at being pros

    Cons

    Cons are gons at being cons

    Commonwealth of Virginia2019-09-09
  7. "Great Benefits, Friendly Staff, and Many Perks"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legislative Assistant in Ashburn, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Commonwealth of Virginia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great health insurance and retirement plans. Good networking opportunities.

    Cons

    Limited slots (one per Senator/Delegate), limited upward mobility as an LA.

    Commonwealth of Virginia2019-05-13
  8. "Very flexible"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Commonwealth of Virginia full-time

    Pros

    Management is very flexible and understanding of the need to take leave.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Commonwealth of Virginia2019-04-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Working for the Commonwealth of Virginia"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Service Manager I in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Commonwealth of Virginia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My peers are very nice and personable. Non-financial benefits are good. Excellent work-life balance.

    Cons

    The pay is extremely low for the level of knowledge and skills. Upper management can be distant and aloof--not personable. Many leaders lack management/leadership skills even though they have technical knowledgeable. Promotions are often based on who you know. Work can lack challenge.

    Continue reading
    Commonwealth of Virginia2019-05-01
  10. Helpful (3)

    "RUN AWAY FAST!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Technician in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Commonwealth of Virginia part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Loved state benefits; enjoyed time off and good holidays but that's all they have going for them.

    Cons

    DCSE is the most awful place. Under the leader, Schultze, the backstabbing and torture were rampant. Bad leadership. No one is ever trained and unreasonable demands are made on employees. They placed us in tiny cubes with no walls and expect us to act like rats in a cage all day. It breeds contempt. I hear that they have more grievances filed against them than any other agencies, believe it! RUN FAST AWAY from DSS!

    Continue reading
    Commonwealth of Virginia2019-05-01
Found 89 reviews