Communications Workers of America Reviews | Glassdoor

Communications Workers of America Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Communications Workers of America President and CEO Larry Cohen (no image)
Larry Cohen
9 Ratings
  1. "Mission driven organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Researcher 

    I have been working at Communications Workers of America full-time

    Pros

    This is a great mission driven organization to work for. We help people build power in the workplace, and political power.

    Cons

    The work is rewarding, but can require long hours sometimes.

    Communications Workers of America2019-03-11
  2. "Compliance Assistance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compliance Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Communications Workers of America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great job, great benefits, great people. Works towards great causes. Flexible, low-key workplace with a great sense of camaraderie.

    Cons

    Little upward mobility. Pay is mediocre.

    Communications Workers of America2019-07-17
  3. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Communications Workers of America for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work staff, very positive work environment.

    Cons

    Need to assign more technical work to interns.

    Continue reading
    Communications Workers of America2018-12-07
  4. "Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Communications Workers of America full-time

    Pros

    Supportive atmosphere, fights hard for members.

    Cons

    There are none that I can think of.

    Communications Workers of America2018-06-24
  5. "Sector Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Communications Workers of America full-time

    Pros

    rewarding to help workers have a voice in their workplaces

    Cons

    challenges continue with industry obstacles

    Continue reading
    Communications Workers of America2018-06-22
  6. "researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Communications Workers of America

    Pros

    great benefits, challenging and interesting work

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Communications Workers of America2017-10-29
  7. "One of the best Unions to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Communications Workers of America part-time

    Pros

    CWA offers organizers a real opportunity to work with the widest variety of workers (from phone company filed techs to call center workers, to the public sector) and offers a real progressive vision for the labor movement. For me that's one the best parts of working here.

    Cons

    As with any organizing job, there's a lot of unpredictable hours and the work can be stressful. That said, most people in the filed know that organizing isn't just a job, it truly is a way of life.

    Communications Workers of America2017-09-17
  8. "A good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Communications Workers of America full-time

    Pros

    This job is a great place to start a career. Unfortunately, people also seem to have their careers die here. I stayed for 2.5 years but noticed that other people had been there for 30 years and were clearly unhappy. The work is mundane and it is very hard for any real change to occur due to union practices and the many hoops you have to jump through. However, the benefits are amazing and people are generally friendly. There aren't many permanent jobs and they are known to do temp to hire positions. If you are able to get a position here, take it. Just don't stay forever.

    Cons

    Management is unwilling to accept changes for fear of breaking the mold. There is job uncertainty every few years when a new Union president is voted in.

    Communications Workers of America2017-09-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Communications Workers of America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and the work environment is awesome.

    Cons

    Very little room for growth.

    Communications Workers of America2017-03-16
  10. "Staff Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Representative in Trenton, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Communications Workers of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    scheduling freedom, flexible hours, personalized caseload

    Cons

    no upward mobility, no civil rights protections

    Continue reading
    Communications Workers of America2017-01-06
Found 16 reviews