KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Community Alternatives

Is this your company?

Community Alternatives

Add a Review

Community Alternatives Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 of over 29 reviews

2.9
40%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Community Alternatives Executive Director Joe Yancey (no image)
Joe Yancey
7 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Making a difference

    Dec 10, 2021 - Human Resources Generalist in Shawano, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoy working for an organization whose purpose is to enrich the lives of individuals with developmental disabilities. I feel good about our purpose and the difference we actually make in the lives of others each and every day. I think our community strongly benefits from our mission to help people.

    Cons

    Non-profit means tight budgets. I would like to have better systems in place and opportunities to be innovative. Technologically the company is behind because we do not have a flow of profits to put back into the organization.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee

    meh

    Nov 8, 2021 - Behavior Consultant in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was able to receive LPC supervision/ Flexibility with scheduling.

    Cons

    No-shows negatively impact billing and pay. Pressure to bill more hours, which can make scheduling difficult and take away from the quality of work provided.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Oct 11, 2021 - Registered Nurse, ADN in Wilkesboro, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours, supervisor role, and salary

    Cons

    No scheduled raises or bonuses

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Enjoyed what I learned about how a company feels about their employee

    Oct 15, 2021 - Residential Counselor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The individuals always enjoyed them

    Cons

    Pay and how the didn't care about the employee's or the individuals

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    It’s okay

    Jun 25, 2021 - Substance Abuse Tech in Durham, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    bonding with clients, making an impact, bond with coworkers

    Cons

    poor management, low pay, continuously understaffed

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Excellent Job

    May 7, 2021 - Direct Support Professional 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with clients with disabilities and overtime

    Cons

    Long hours, co-worker attitude, no 401 K

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Horrible Management

    Mar 3, 2021 - Behavior Therapist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Make your own schedule and flexibility.

    Cons

    Lack of leadership, manager makes incentive promises that are never honored, work expectations without training.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee

    This job takes away any home life you may have

    Feb 2, 2021 - Program Coordinator in Bowling Green, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with my Coworkers

    Cons

    Everything else that this job has to offer

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great mission, experienced leadership

    Dec 21, 2020 - Vice President Marketing in Norfolk, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Seasoned professionals with high levels of competency leading the company. Financial security through large ownership of rented properties.

    Cons

    Staffing of Direct Support Professionals can be difficult.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Healthcare worker

    Nov 25, 2020 - Direct Support Professional 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours, reasonable amount of responsibilities

    Cons

    Low pay, few promotional opportunities

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews

Community Alternatives Reviews FAQs

40% of Community Alternatives employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Community Alternatives 2.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.1 for culture and values and 2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Community Alternatives to be culture, coworkers, career development and the cons to be senior leadership, management, benefits.

Popular Careers with Community Alternatives Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Community Alternatives? Share Your Experiences

Community Alternatives logo
or