Community College Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor

Community College Foundation Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
Community College Foundation CEO Nanette Fowler
Nanette Fowler
0 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work for, very friendly environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Community College Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff was very supportive and attentive. They made the entire workflow better. Trainings were also very adequate and prepared me before going out into the field

    Cons

    Too much driving. Mileage reimbursement would be helpful. Not many openness for promotions or raises in salary for the employees.

    Community College Foundation2016-06-18
  2. "Rewarding Job but Limited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - S E S Tutor in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Community College Foundation for less than a year

    Pros

    You are able to help children who are struggling with their academics. They provide ample materials to use for a specific child.

    Cons

    No support, no communication. It seems to be mostly a "fend for yourself" type of contract. They give you materials and you're supposed to use your knowledge and expertise to form an ed plan for specific children. Also, they don't tell you if their contract is up or if they're still registered as one of the S.E.S. organizations that will teach in a consequent school district.

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating with your tutors. It isn't very professional to not give a warning or at least give a run down of what an employee should be doing or what their current status is within the company.

    Community College Foundation2016-02-08
  3. "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Community College Foundation

    Pros

    Flexibility as the boss to come and go as long as you notify director. Direct supervision and creativity over entire program.

    Cons

    Limited funding and budget means that you won't get any raises.

    Advice to Management

    Please increase this role's salary and hire additional staff to help manage program.

    Community College Foundation2016-01-24
  4. "Great environment to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager/Account Manager in Citrus Heights, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Community College Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Community College Foundation IT department had really great leadership.

    Cons

    Non Profit can not provide industry standard salaries.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Community College Foundation2015-09-23
  5. "As a 1-2-1 Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - 1-2-1 Tutor in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Community College Foundation for more than a year

    Pros

    Area manager was always responsive and training was thorough. Always available by phone or email.

    Cons

    Driving and commuting to and from various student residencies was time consuming and difficult

    Advice to Management

    Nothing much except it was a good experience while I was one

    Community College Foundation2015-08-25
  6. "Great non-profit organization for work as an in-home tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Antioch, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Community College Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The organization offers great flexibility, great support for teaching materials, and great opportunities to really make a difference in kids' lives! They really try to assign students who live nearby to minimize travel.

    Cons

    The pay is not optimal, but this is understandable considering the nature of the work and the fact that it is a non-profit organization. The positive experiences I had definitely made up for the lack of pay.

    Advice to Management

    The materials and assistance provided tutors is excellent, although any extras can make a big difference. I did find myself buying things like prizes and printing a lot of material from the internet for my students. Maybe subscribing to a teaching resource database and making it available to tutors would help more.

    Community College Foundation2015-08-18
  7. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Tutor in Elk Grove, CA

    I worked at Community College Foundation for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed working for this company, I met a lot of different people.

    Cons

    It was a temporary job.

    Community College Foundation2015-06-10
  8. "Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Community College Foundation

    Pros

    Hours are very flexible and work around to your schedule.

    Cons

    The hours are difficult to start off at first. You have to call parents and make a connection so that you can establish hours. Then you choose a location to meetup whether it is a library, school, community center or even home.

    Advice to Management

    Work with the schools to allow tutors to work in a classroom at the school to make it more convenient for both the student and tutor.

    Community College Foundation2015-02-10
  9. "The Community College Foundation has helped me to grow on so many different levels. I've learned alot in so little time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant Clerk in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Community College Foundation for less than a year

    Pros

    The employees are always friendly and willing to help. The directors of each department are always patient and professional. You receive full benefits, and you can be promoted to the next level depending on your hard work, motivation and progress. With the professional training provided, you can rest assure that you will be promoted.

    Cons

    Every day is a challenge at TCCF, however, the challenges are only to help better you, and help you to be promoted into a higher position. The pay is set at a comfortable and satisfying rate. And each employee takes pride in the work that they provide for the company. Each employee at this company practice to be team players, and carries a professional and warm demeanor.

    Advice to Management

    The only advice that I would consider giving is to continue doing what it is that they do!!!

    Community College Foundation2014-07-08
  10. "extensive process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in Oakland, CA

    I have been working at Community College Foundation for more than a year

    Pros

    offers great internships for those in school

    Cons

    approval can take several months

    Community College Foundation2014-07-01
Found 18 reviews