Community College Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor

Community College Foundation Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
Community College Foundation CEO Nanette Fowler
Nanette Fowler
0 Ratings
  1. "It has been a great personal and professional experience of growth in working with the Foundation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Consultant-Education Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Community College Foundation for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I feel privileged to be able to use my skills through this avenue of service within the community. I enjoy teaching others and having the flexible schedule to do so.

    Cons

    The hardest part about teaching is accepting the lessons it also teaches you.

    Community College Foundation2014-05-23
  2. "Good place for part time work and flexible hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor in Concord, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Community College Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and you are pretty much on your own. I check in with my boss about once a week but as long as you maintain good survey reviews from parents and the students you work with improve, you are pretty much just left alone. You get to have a one on one experience with students and it is very rewarding to see their test scores improve. The families you work with genuinely appreciate your help for the most... part. You are truly making a difference in the lives of children who often are coming from foster or low income households.

    Show More

    Cons

    If a student cancels you don't get paid meaning paychecks and hours aren't very steady. You are sent way too much curriculum. I have so much paper I don't know what to do with. Some of the houses you go to tutor at aren't in the best area. No reimbursement for gas.

    Community College Foundation2014-05-07
  3. "A way to give back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Community College Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Chance to help the community and connect with youth Flexible schedule -- you pick your own hours and work as much or as little as you like Decent pay with raise potential

    Cons

    No benefits Hours available are only when students are available Students sometimes forget about lessons and are not home Some of the neighborhoods are high crime where students live

    Advice to Management

    Add optional health plan and retirement plan Partner with a restaurant for an end of the year event for students and families because everyone deserves to celebrate their hard work

    Community College Foundation2013-06-30
  4. "Great tutoring job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor in Vacaville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Community College Foundation part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -meaningful work -great bosses -work doesn't feel like work at all -good pay for tutoring experiences -learn a lot of leadership experience -get better at teaching every session - can see the benefits of your work when the students improve in their academics - can schedule the tutoring sessions to fit your schedule

    Cons

    -not a full-time job - not much summer work (I personally was glad to have summer vacation)

    Community College Foundation2013-01-17
  5. "Decent experience, no upward mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Community College Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work, fulfilling, good mission statements

    Cons

    non profit pay - and spacey management

    Advice to Management

    re-organize supervisor's tasks to better reflect their abilities/ strengths.

    Community College Foundation2012-11-20
  6. "Good hourly pay if you could attain the hours..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor in Ontario, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Community College Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good Pay for a part-time - Flexible Schedule - Work near your preferred location

    Cons

    - Working at the homes of strangers is always a risk - Hours will definitely vary - Set pay rate - Difficult to get in contact with management

    Advice to Management

    It should be mandatory to tutor only at libraries.

    Community College Foundation2012-09-26
  7. "A non profit company serving disadvantaged children, youth, and families with a variety of community services to enrich"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Community College Foundation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, help community, team work environment

    Cons

    Poor top management, constant funding concerns

    Advice to Management

    Get non profit education

    Community College Foundation2012-07-17
  8. "Independent work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Tutor in Riverside, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Community College Foundation

    Pros

    -Decent pay -Make your own schedule -work freedom

    Cons

    -Depending on where you work, you may have to drive over 15-20 miles to tutor. It is not bad if you have 3 students to tutor back to back during a day, but when it is only one student, it may not be worth the gas. -A lot of tutoring out of workbooks. Gets a little boring for student and tutors -No training involved. You get hired and you receive workbooks and teach students based on their learning plans

    Advice to Management

    -Train tutors

    Community College Foundation2011-06-23
Found 18 reviews