Community Health Resources Reviews | Glassdoor

Community Health Resources Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Community Health Resources President and CEO Heather M. Gates
Heather M. Gates
13 Ratings
  1. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agronomist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Community Health Resources full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, amazing managerial staff, wonderful environment.

    Cons

    Low pay and not enough opportunities for growth.

    Community Health Resources2020-01-14
  2. "ask a lot of questions during interview process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Clinical Supervisor 

    I worked at Community Health Resources full-time

    Pros

    decent salary and day time hours

    Cons

    poor upper management, very chaotic and unorganized, isolating and felt disposable

    Community Health Resources2019-11-04
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Quite a handful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Support Specialist in Enfield, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Community Health Resources full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues very supportive of one another.

    Cons

    Management not as supportive. Clients can be physically dangerous

    Continue reading
    Community Health Resources2019-09-13
  5. "Residential Aide I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Residential Aide I in Willimantic, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Community Health Resources part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Had the opportunity to train at multiple facilities so if there wasn't hours at one site, there was hours at another. Usually able to pull in 40 hours between multiple sites. Great company culture and co-workers. Love the clients I work with and what I am doing to help.

    Cons

    Pay is disappointing and isn't increased for shift differentials, being bilingual, having a degree or certificate, etc. Pay is non-negotiable and standard across the board. No benefits offered as a per diem, even pulling in full time hours.

    Continue reading
    Community Health Resources2019-08-19
  6. "Great company, many opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Bridgeport, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Community Health Resources full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexibility, decent pay, different programs to apply to after getting foot in door.

    Cons

    Hard to advance without higher degree. some programs pay less because grant funded.

    Continue reading
    Community Health Resources2019-07-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible upper management. Doesn't like staff advancing their career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recovery Support Specialist in Enfield, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Community Health Resources full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Insane benefits / healthcare. Supervisor. Co workers. What we do

    Cons

    Can't afford vacation with their pay. Frown upon clients becoming self sufficient. They become dependent on CHR. Upper management whom understand admin not MH / SA

    Continue reading
    Community Health Resources2019-06-07
  8. "Great Agency to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Secretary 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Community Health Resources full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, hours, trainings, take your safety first

    Cons

    None that I can think about

    Community Health Resources2019-02-12
  9. "Great agency to work. CHRs mission and values are what every agency should strive for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outpatient Therapist in Manchester, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Community Health Resources full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture was wonderful in Manchester. Supervisors were able to provide me with the supervision that I needed to meet licensure requirements. Opportunity for trainings online and in person were great.

    Cons

    Pay is a bit lower than some agencies but based on the leadership of the agency, pay wouldn’t have mattered.

    Continue reading
    Community Health Resources2018-03-04
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Be VERY careful!! Avoid Housing Dept in Manchester!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Community Health Resources full-time

    Pros

    Company cars to share among dept, work cell & laptop provided.

    Cons

    Management!! Best way to explain is misery loves company!! Supervisor is miserable & completely abuses her power & position!! HR is of NO assistance as well!! They overlook the abuse & do not support employees at all. I'm at the point where I no longer report, in fear of ongoing retaliation.. Looking for alternative employment. No matter how badly you need a job, I promise you this is NOT the 1 for you!!

    Continue reading
    Community Health Resources2018-02-27
  11. Helpful (8)

    "A job that destroyed my mental health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Community Health Resources full-time

    Pros

    For nonprofit work the pay is decent and there is a lot of vacation time. Company vehicles are provided to keep staff use of personal vehicles to a minimum.

    Cons

    For an agency that specializes in mental health treatment, it is quite shocking that they do not recognize when the mental health of their workers is declining rapidly. The work done in my department is almost all in the community and in the homes of a very difficult population. Stressful doesn't even begin to explain it. It would be bearable if supervision was better. HR is absolutely atrocious. There have been numerous complaints about the supervisor in our department bullying staff, making unethical decisions, providing no support to team members, and overall just being extremely unprofessional. A very high turnover rate on our team. HR does nothing except come and tell our team that our supervisor has told them team members are creating a hostile work environment, but in reality it is the supervisor who is hostile and retaliates on staff often. It has been two years or more of this and not one thing has happened. Staff are supposed to be able to organize their own schedule, but instead are micromanaged. Upper management listens to the complaints and the concerns but doesn't act on them at all. Almost every staff on the team struggles with the work and the stress without support from supervisor. I do not feel that client treatment at CHR fits the philosophies of the agency. CHR is very patriarchal over both clients and staff, and doesn't seem to understand that clients and staff have personal rights and choices in their health and treatment. Staff are pretty much bribed to give good reviews of the job so CHR can continue to be one of "CT's top workplaces." While some teams and supervisors might be better, overall this agency lacks values and oversight of supervisors and employee relations. The health benefits are also very expensive.

    Continue reading
    Community Health Resources2018-02-20
Found 28 reviews