Community Hope Reviews | Glassdoor

Community Hope Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
19%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Community Hope CEO J Michael Armstrong
J Michael Armstrong
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "SSVF program is the program to join"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Parsippany, NJ

    I have been working at Community Hope full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, good pay, PTO and sick days, supervisors trust you and don’t micromanage, Program Coordinator is easily accessible to all employees and knowledgeable about the program. I enjoy my job and feel we do meaningful work.

    Cons

    If you work in other departments (mental health) the pay isn’t great.

    Advice to Management

    No advice at the moment. Very satisfied with all of the supervisors (APC, PC and Director) and my co-workers.

    Community Hope2019-08-14
  2. "Fun to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Iss 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Community Hope full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    The staff changes all the time I went through 7 supervisors.

    Community Hope2019-08-23
  3. "Great admin, always on call"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Program Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Community Hope full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great administrative staff, good support from administration and corporate leadership.

    Cons

    long hours, not great pay for the amount of work

    Community Hope2019-08-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Immature and Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Manager in Parsippany, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Community Hope full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company used to be good when it was a positive environment and employees still had fun. When there were solid managers at this company, my coworkers and I grew professionally. Now it's an empty shell of a company.

    Cons

    The employees, the managers and the director of the services for veteran families program are unprofessional. The managers openly talk bad about each other and the director of the program. Then the case managers don't respect the managers and director. No one is respectful about each other behind there backs. It's a really negative place to work and a lot of the employees in this department are immature. This... company will drain every ounce of life in you and then throw you away for a made-up reason. Even the CEO left because this company is going out of business. No good. Save yourself frustration, skip the headaches and hypocrisy, and spare your time and apply elsewhere.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The social services veterans program should hire more professional and genuine people. The way the current managers in this department set a bad example for the case managers. When the managers and director are clueless why should the case managers be expected to know how and what to do? Or why can't we criticize others mistakes and weaknesses but they openly say bad things about each other and there staff members?... Doesn't make sense. Managers- practice what you preach.

    Show More
    Community Hope2018-12-25
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Deceivingl"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Parsippany, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Community Hope full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Time off policy PTO is great. That is all.....

    Cons

    Director is clueless. If you are an over achiever he will get rid of you due to his fear of his own blatantly obvious inadequecies.

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue and open your eyes. Micro managing destroys your organization

    Community Hope2018-12-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Clinician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Parsippany, NJ
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Community Hope full-time

    Pros

    Working with the clients is meaningful work. Overall mission of agency is positive.

    Cons

    Difficult situations are ignored by upper management. Health benefits are poor.

    Community Hope2018-09-07
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Behavior Health Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Community Hope full-time

    Pros

    Set schedule and was able to help the consumers in need

    Cons

    Everything! I think I got the worst of luck working here. From staff, management, and everything in between, it was a poor choice to choose to work here. Management asked me why I did something, and i was very new to working there. I have explained that I learned this method from one of the seasoned people working here and they didnt believe me. I hated it. I felt like there was not that much support at all. Salary... was not great either.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Consider those who are working there and try to hear them out. If not, then this company will not progress.

    Community Hope2018-08-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Mixed experience-- great co-workers but the Director of my program doesn't treat everyone equally in our department."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SSVF in Parsippany, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Community Hope full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers, flexible schedule/hours, provided w/ a work car/phone, fun office environment, work events like x-mas party and family day.

    Cons

    Health insurance coverage, different expectations for different employees, lots of secrets between higher managers, office is overcrowded, employees that slack off/don't show any results don't face consequences, no rewards in SSVF for hard working employees who fulfill job expectations and do more then expected, short staffed, no overtime opportunities, no 401k 2% match anymore.

    Advice to Management

    Teach Directors to treat all employees equally, fairly and with respect. Don't have favorites or be prejudice against some employees. Expect same work from all employees. Keep job duty expectations equal from all case managers. If managers don't expect some workers to do certain things, then the other workers shouldn't be expected to do them either.

    Community Hope2018-06-01
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Parsippany, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Community Hope full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Forward thinking, caring senior management, opportunities for advancement and professional development.

    Cons

    Lower wages, but management attempts to compensate in other ways.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Community Hope2018-04-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Case Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Community Hope full-time

    Pros

    Working with Veterans who are in need.

    Cons

    Low Pay and little advancement

    Community Hope2018-01-22
Found 37 reviews