Community Mental Health Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Community Mental Health Center Reviews

Updated Mar 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Community Mental Health Center CEO Tom Talbot (no image)
Tom Talbot
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Community Mental Health Center

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, great people who are always friendly and helpful and superb exposure. Good professional culture and diversity is plentiful with many events to add flavor to every day work balance.

    Cons

    No cons as such observed

    Community Mental Health Center2014-12-31
  2. "CMHC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Management 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Community Mental Health Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They do great work! Good benefits. Nice people.

    Cons

    If you are learning a common role such as Caseworker, the the online and face to face training is excellent. If you are learning a less common role, such as Wraparound, the training is 1 hour per week. The role is far too complicated for there to be such a lack of structure. I've noticed that Social Worker/Therapist types are often so woefully over confident in their ability to read people and situations that they... make assumptions, assume they are correct and act on them while totally missing the truth with it's many facets. You would think that they would be the best readers of situations and people around and I am often shocked by that untruth. It makes them seem callous, careless and unkind. I just witnessed a very unfortunate situation with a newer Wraparound Facilitator employee with a solid background, who simply needed immediate structured training in the system and the manager is lazy/not known for his teaching skills. 1 hr a week is not enough to shape a High Fidelity Wraparound Facilitator. This was a sad, discouraging situation that was handled unprofessionally by 2 managers and it made me question whether or not I want to stay here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Teach your managers about growing their staff in a healthy way, not assuming the worst, how to have real conversations with their team, to make sure that they are receiving information that is accurate before judging and assuming incorrectly by talking with, not at the employee. I hope you conduct exit interviews to help you understand the undercurrent here. It is what fosters a loyal, cheerful employee and builds... healthy teams!

    Show More
    Community Mental Health Center2019-03-31

    Community Mental Health Center Response

    May 21, 2019HR Assistant

    Thank you for your feedback and review of Community Mental Health Center, Inc. CMHC is committed to creating a comfortable, transparent and collaborative environment for all of our employees and agree that growing employees in a healthy way is important. We are disappointed to hear about some of your experiences and apologize for the inconvenience they may have caused. We understand that encouragement of employees is extremely important and we are constantly looking for ways to improve employee-training, benefits, and overall work environment. Thank you again for your feedback, it is much appreciated.

    Show Less
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible for RNs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Community Mental Health Center full-time

    Pros

    Recently increased pay for nurses (it was below $20/hr for experienced nurses)

    Cons

    Very poor reputation among psych nurse managers around the state (so poor, in fact, that you will likely be questioned about why you worked there when interviewing for other nursing jobs), "this is how we've always done it and we aren't changing" attitudes, differential rates are laughable and every other weekend is required ($0.65/hr for evenings and weekends?!?!), understaffed, no room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the bad apples and have more stringent hiring practices, take employee concerns seriously, encourage growth of your dedicated employees by promoting from within, current CEO and upper management have got to go

    Community Mental Health Center2017-02-16
  4. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lawrenceburg, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Community Mental Health Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Feels more like a family than employer-employee relationship. Great benefits!

    Cons

    Having to put in to many hours in a day.

    Community Mental Health Center2016-10-23
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Executive Management=Zero star review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Community Mental Health Center

    Pros

    Some of the clinical staff are the most dedicated anywhere. This is demonstrated by their choice to work a lower paying job than they could get elsewhere and to continue working despite all the problems managment creates.

    Cons

    Executive management is arbitrary, arrogant, entitled, out of touch…they create a lot of liability for the agency….favoritism, workplace bullying, cliques are common…talented, professional, and dedicated staff are systematically driven out….unethical, probably illegal practices….a billing mill…management won't just threaten your job, they'll threaten your career and license so you can't work elsewhere…harrassment of... whistleblowers happens repeatedly, example: more than once a staff person has reported fraud complaints to management. Management has accussed staff of HIPAA violations. Management has not reported these HIPAA breaches to the Dept of Health and Human Services, Office of Civil Rights, as required by federal law. Conclusion: management's accusations are motivated by intimidation, not concern for patient privacy….a local university has quit sending graduate students here for training… management has stated that staff have to follow the personnel policy, but they don't.…at least three staff people have had to hire lawyers….quality care is given lip service….example: the inpatient unit recently had to close temporarily due to too many staff quiting. Management saw the problem developing but did nothing to avert the crisis until they were in danger of losing public funding. Meanwhile, patients and families had to travel long distances to get emergency psychiatric care. If you chose to work here, be prepared to get your own psychiatrist and attorney.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To the Board: management knows the state can't pull the funding and give it to the other agency that serves these five counties because there isn't any. Management knows they have a monopoly and this has led to a decline in professionalism and accountability. Replace managment with qualified outsiders. Make a change. The state needs this agency, but they don't need these managers.

    Community Mental Health Center2016-07-26
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Too Good To Be True"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Community Mental Health Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Paid time off, $30 credit for cell phone, flexibility, mileage reimbursement, tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    Production requirement can limit use of PTO acquired, middle management and upper management, lack of support, pay, and working conditions

    Advice to Management

    At this point, it may be easier to start over.

    Community Mental Health Center2016-06-12
  7. "Clinical social worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Enfield, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Community Mental Health Center

    Pros

    Salary was good, great benefits,& Holiday pay.

    Cons

    not enough support between upper management.

    Community Mental Health Center2016-01-26
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Great Clients...horrible administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Therapist in Lawrenceburg, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Community Mental Health Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible schedule, great clients, access to emergency services

    Cons

    unreasonable expectations, high workload, burned out co-workers, questionable ethics

    Advice to Management

    Become more connected to the folks in the trenches

    Community Mental Health Center2014-03-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Community Mental Health Center

    Pros

    Nice people to work with.

    Cons

    Benefits is average in general

    Community Mental Health Center2014-07-15
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Good opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Community Mental Health Center full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Friendly, flexible, personal satisfaction, worthy cause.

    Cons

    Pay structure, management, rural location.

    Advice to Management

    Improve supervisory skills.

    Community Mental Health Center2012-09-20
Found 10 reviews