Community Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

Community Systems Reviews

Updated Nov 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
69%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Community Systems full-time

    Pros

    CSI is great company who puts there employees first. They are family ordinated and it’s a great feeling to walk in the door and even the executive director knows you by name. The benefits are good and they consistently making sure that we as employees have the best options available. Vacation time accrues quickly and there is always more shifts available.

    Cons

    None benefits are good and we always see them working diligently to increase are pay.

    Community Systems2018-08-24
  2. "I love what I do, I love who I get to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Healthcare Coordinator in Plymouth, MA

    I have been working at Community Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    At every level, from the executive director to the direct support professional, I am surrounded by people who genuinely care about the impact they are having on the lives of the people we support. As well, I'm surrounded by people who genuinely care about each other. The sense of family is palpable, and one of the best aspects of working here (one of the things I'd miss the most). The teams I work in are ready to cautiously explore new directions to problem-solve and improve services. I've worked here over a decade... not one boring day yet.

    Cons

    Our mid-level managers are at times greatly overburdened being stopgaps for shift work coverage during periods of low staff availability. Indirect supervision/lack of direct supervision creates accountability pitfalls. Really good communication skills are needed to stay connected to the teams you work in.

    Continue reading
    Community Systems2018-08-24
  3. "Don’t waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Residential Counselor in Centerville, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Community Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The clients were amazing but they don’t sign your paycheck

    Cons

    Awful management! If you want to be overworked under paid and under appreciated then it’s perfect for you

    Continue reading
    Community Systems2018-08-15
  4. "Great company to work for if you enjoy serving others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Support Professional in Torrington, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Community Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    (1) The satisfaction you receive knowing you are having a direct positive impact on the people you support. (2) The enjoyment you experience from "wearing many hats" and that each day is different. (2) The opportunity to share your interests and passions with others, and to teach (including by example) and to learn! (3) CSI provides in depth training and certification in the many aspects required. What is learned is of value beyond just working for the company. (4) Fair compensation (especially compared to similar companies) financial incentives to remain with the company, including longevity payments and bonuses. (5) Earned leave buyouts. As an employee, you may elect to receive money for a portion of your accrued hours. (6) Accessibility to administrative staff. The Executive Director is someone who started out as a Direct Support Professional/Educator Counselor and, as such, knows the ins and outs of what average employees face on a daily basis- and she approachable and has an open door policy. There truly is a sense of being part of a team or family, as administrative staff in general are accessible and mission-minded. (7) Opportunities to advance.

    Cons

    (1) The hours, especially 2nd and 3rd shifts, can be challenging (buy manageable) for those with families. (2) There may be a weak link within the program you are working in. It is advised to work with co-workers and program management to address issues and if they go unresolved you can go higher up when necessary.

    Community Systems2018-06-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "30 years and still happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bourne, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Community Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Mission, long term staff, focus on helping persons with disabilities to be contributing members in their community

    Cons

    none , would like to see DSP's get more pay

    Community Systems2018-06-08
  6. "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Program Manager in Plymouth, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Community Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are fantastic. I love them.

    Cons

    Low pay, long hours, horrible benefits

    Continue reading
    Community Systems2018-05-16
  7. "Ok job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Community Systems

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, love the clients

    Cons

    It's about who you know.

    Continue reading
    Community Systems2016-09-07
  8. "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counselor in Torrington, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Community Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits with flexible hours. Strong co-workers who really care and go the extra mile. Good training and potential for growth

    Cons

    People are leaving in droves. There has been a lot of change at the main office. They give you a lot of time off, but you never get to take any. They talk a good game, but they dont "walk the walk". The office is disconnected from reality. They are too busy putting out fires and everyone waits to see what the "crisis of the day" will bring. Homes are short staffed.

    Continue reading
    Community Systems2016-08-05
  9. "Direct Support Provider"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educator Counselor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Community Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I work residentially and overall I really enjoy the job. I like my clients and most of my coworkers, and for the most part upper management is pretty good about helping you fix issues. Depending on what house or program you work for, it can be a really fun job, and can allow you take part in your hobbies and engage the clients in those hobbies as well. There is room for advancement if you work for it, and a decent amount of vacation time.

    Cons

    Being that the company is nonprofit, there are no raises. Along with relatively low pay for the job, it can be very taxing mentally and physically and burnout is common. Also, there are definitely people with hidden agendas and people who like to throw you under the bus. Also, you are a mandated employee, so even if the state is shut down you have to go to work, and you can be locked in and can't leave until the next staff arrives.

    Continue reading
    Community Systems2016-03-30
  10. "Mixed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educational Counselor in Torrington, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Community Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Rewarding work, wages are ok

    Cons

    Total 1:raise once in the last 5 years. Benefits become less and less Decent earned leave, but employee is responsible for finding replacement. No pool to draw from. You just end up working other hours to make it up. Company attitude is that they are smarter than everyone else. Managements attitude is "Your lucky to have a job". No overtime. Many people end up working extra tor no pay. 32 hours is full time, O.T. is over 40 hrs. Hard to make a living. They sing a nice song, but executions is a different story.

    Continue reading
    Community Systems2013-05-30
Found 22 reviews