Companion Property & Casualty Reviews | Glassdoor

Companion Property & Casualty Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2015

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
62%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Companion Property & Casualty CEO George P. Reeth (no image)
George P. Reeth
3 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Companion Property & Casualty full-time

    Pros

    Dynamic workplace with a seasoned managment and lots of opportunity to move upwards. Benefits were also generous wiht a 401(k), penison, and health from BCBSSC. Would definiteyl suggest to a friend.

    Cons

    Location is in the far burbs of Columbia, SC, which isn't very impressive. The building is literally falling apart.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure to keep attracting talent from all over the US. Make sure that the underwriters are not the only ones running the show. Rely more on your analytical staff to help guide decisions.

    Companion Property & Casualty2015-10-09
  2. "Sold by BCBS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Companion Property & Casualty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great people who cared and worked hard

    Cons

    The laid back environment was very different but it fostered a lax work ethic, too many employees and too many managers.

    Advice to Management

    Company was sold and all of the C-suite was let go.

    Companion Property & Casualty2014-11-01
  3. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Companion Property & Casualty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work with good work life balance

    Cons

    None to report at this time

    Advice to Management

    Brilliant

    Companion Property & Casualty2014-08-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "It was a good experience before the massive layoffs!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Underwriter in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Companion Property & Casualty full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I actually liked the people I reported to....and my fellow co-workers who were hard working, professional and caring.

    Cons

    Too many layoffs!!! Constant changing of the guard.

    Advice to Management

    Your employees are your great resource so treat them as such

    Companion Property & Casualty2014-08-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Forner Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Companion Property & Casualty full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    New management is now in place, giving this company the potential to become a great insurance company. Some really excellent, intelligent people have survived the last few years of cuts.

    Cons

    Blue Cross has a great deal of influence on the company.

    Advice to Management

    Become a REAL insurance company!

    Companion Property & Casualty2012-07-06
  6. "company heading in unknown directions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Companion Property & Casualty

    Pros

    Great benefits, good pay make it a very good place to start an insurance career. Otherwise, there's not much training.

    Cons

    Do you really want to work 60+ hours per week? I didn't think so, especially with all the favoritism shown.

    Advice to Management

    Eliminate all the favoritism shown toward certain golden children, and perhaps start to train your people better! Then don't MICROMANAGE!

    Companion Property & Casualty2010-08-09
  7. "Layoffs....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Companion Property & Casualty

    Pros

    "Nice" co-workers, but watch your back

    Cons

    Incompetent people, especially in tech!

    Advice to Management

    Think before you act

    Companion Property & Casualty2009-12-16
Found 7 reviews