Compass Airlines Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
24%
Recommend to a Friend
17%
Approve of CEO
Compass Airlines President and  Chief Exe​cutive Officer Richard Leach
Richard Leach
65 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They loose on average 15 flight attendants a month(in 20 reviews)

  • "Low pay scale, not the best benefits package (but not the worst either(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good for flight attendant experience"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Compass Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I’m based where I live in which is LA

    Cons

    Crazy schedule changes and work hours

    Compass Airlines2019-11-06
  2. "Great for Junior Mechanics"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Amt 

    I worked at Compass Airlines full-time

    Pros

    The ability to perform all kind of maintenance and get experience in different components of the Aircraft

    Cons

    Company is shutting down soon

    Compass Airlines2020-04-01
  3. "It's been fun!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Compass Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working as flight attendant at Compass Airlines was a rewarding experience. I enjoyed the "family feel" of the crew. I've made some friendships that will last a lifetime and that to me is the best!

    Cons

    The communication from management to staff was not adequate. In the final days of the company's existence, we were left in the dark of what direction the company was taking. They announced the company's closure with little to no advance warning and partly due to the Coronavirus Pandemic.

    Continue reading
    Compass Airlines2020-03-27
  4. "Poorly managed company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Captain in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Compass Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people who were like family

    Cons

    No surprise that they went out of business. Trans States Holdings just completely mismanaged at every turn.

    Compass Airlines2020-05-01
  5. "Get on the lifeboat, or swim away"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Compass Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You will never meet or even know who your supervisor or manager is. Showing up on time is 80% of the job. The Delta flight benefits (for the remaining 3 months we have left of them) are amazing----3 free roundtrip international flights free first class/ stand by. In the 9 months I worked here I saw 5+ different countries! LOTS of free time, great co-workers, everyone supports each other. Legit the best crews of any airline. Free flights on any airline within the US to commute to work if you don't live in base... Lots of days off, easy to travel, commute Very Jr Company so quick to get a line

    Cons

    Very mismanaged, low company morale...in the sense that we receive no communication from management if there is even a future for compass. Delta took back most of their planes and we will stop flying for delta in June 2020 the latest. The American side of flying is only 20 planes which also might end soon? You need to know your stuff/ your rights because there is NO ONE to support you or answer any questions. No H.R department, no phone numbers for employee benefits/ travel or health. Everything is out sourced via email. Currently 1 employee who processes payroll.....our union warned us to "keep track of our hours ourselves"..... VERY limited international travel benefits (Delta (ending in 3 months) Turkish Air Gulf Air SAS that's about it... Bases all closed except LAX....so don't expect anywhere else. Training department has been known to train at express jet? in Houston? as opposed to MSP 0 upper management communication, union encourages employees to get on the life boats and apply ANYWHERE ELSE. The legit say "No future here" the pay here is UNLIVABLE...poverty level!!!

    Continue reading
    Compass Airlines2020-02-18
  6. "Meh"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aircraft Maintenance Supervisor 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Compass Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not many...trans state has run it into the ground

    Cons

    See pros above, trans state ruined it

    Continue reading
    Compass Airlines2020-02-24
  7. "I don’t Recommend. Not the company it used to be."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Compass Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The flight benefits in comparison to other airlines aren’t good but better than no flight benefits at all.

    Cons

    10 years ago this company was the best regional to fly for even though the pay has always been a joke. 6 years ago it took a turn. Management is a joke. They recently took away international benefits that allowed you to non rev on foreign airlines....so many other cons.

    Compass Airlines2020-03-15
  8. "Fly by"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Compass Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of good people sprinkled around the various departments.

    Cons

    Leadership only cares about soaking up as much money as possible. No communication from leadership about the failing airline. Management is mostly uneducated, lazy infants that squabble more than anything. Pay is super low. The company is shutting down. There's no new business prospects, and flying is being reduced.

    Continue reading
    Compass Airlines2020-03-12
  9. "Bad experience"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Compass Airlines full-time

    Pros

    There are no pros to this company

    Cons

    They cancelled a Flight Attendant information session without notifying me. I flew from Indianapolis to LAX to participate.

    Continue reading
    Compass Airlines2020-03-11
  10. "On my way out with no future announcement"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pilot, First Officer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Compass Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people on the line are great people and a lot of fun.

    Cons

    Disorganization in management future is in question

    Continue reading
    Compass Airlines2020-02-20
Found 180 reviews