KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Compass Education

Engaged Employer

Compass Education

Add a Review

Compass Education Employee Reviews about "management"

Updated Sep 7, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 92 reviews

4.5
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Compass Education Founder and Principal  Art Sawyer  (no image)
Art Sawyer
32 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,930

973 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great part-time gig

    Feb 24, 2022 - Tutor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been with Compass for a while now, and it's been my solid main gig this whole time. I can control how many students I take on, which is great since I'm in grad school and have juggled multiple jobs/internships while still working for Compass. There's opportunities for other side gigs within the company too, like proctoring, grading, teaching SAT/ACT classes at the schools they partner with, etc. Plus, everyone who works on the management team is super friendly and they actually carewithin the company too, like proctoring, grading, teaching SAT/ACT classes at the schools they partner with, etc. Plus, everyone who works on the management team is super friendly and they actually carewithin the company too, like proctoring, grading, teaching SAT/ACT classes at the schools they partner with, etc. Plus, everyone who works on the management team is super friendly and they actually care about you. I remember seeing another review on here back when I was still debating on if I should take this job or not: it said something about the pay looking good but is small in comparison when considering how much parents are ACTUALLY paying for the lessons. I definitely understand what they mean—but at the same time, this still gets me a fat paycheck. I don't have to source my own students, the case managers handle most of the admin work (and parents, too, if they get problematic), and there's annual pay bumps if applicable. I also appreciate how much they value pedagogy and making as much of an inclusive space as possible for employees (as a tutor, you're not a contractor—you're an employee!), families, and students. They have professional development opportunities where we may learn ways to work with students with disabilities, etc.

    Cons

    I agree with something another review pointed out: a pay increase for tutors who have high student loads would be p nice. Also while the SF office had boasted before that all their case managers are women, which is great, they are all white, which is not as great. The management team overall can hire more diverse people, I'm sure. Also, health insurance as an employee would obvs be nice, but I understand the logistics of that for being part-timers is likely tricky.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good hours and good management

    Jul 11, 2022 - Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - flexible hours - payment for prep time/parent time - online and virtual options - good communication with management

    Cons

    - may not be assigned as many students consistently at times - some weeks less lucrative than others - not good if you can't manage yourself

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Compass Education: Fantastic Company

    Jul 6, 2015 - Compass Education Verbal Tutor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Compass Education is a great company to work for because of its organization, management, dedication to providing students with the best tutors, and respect for its employees. The training period that tutors undergo before being offered students to work with not only serves to provide the students with the best tutors possible, but also allows for the tutors to feel completely prepared and confident to work with students and handle any situation that might arise. I have been particularly impressed by Compass Education's organization when it comes to arranging students' and tutors' schedules. Their website allows for tutors to post detailed information about lessons with students, as well as any other pertinent information (best times for scheduling lessons, notes from previous tutors, etc.) that will help each tutor efficiently create a lesson plan for each student. I appreciate the level of open communication between management, clients, and tutors. Working for Compass Education feels like being part of a team. I live in San Francisco, and I appreciate that management takes my location into consideration when offering me students (all of my students so far have been within walking distance of my house). Other pros of working for Compass Education include: Ability to create your own hours/schedule Competitive pay Many opportunities to move up within the company Satisfaction of knowing that you are helping kids

    Cons

    I haven't experienced any "cons" of working for Compass Education as a tutor.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Contractor

    Good Part-time Job

    Jun 13, 2016 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Friendly and effective management. - Quality materials and training - Easy to use and effective online timesheet

    Cons

    -Lots of time/gas money lost to driving

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    all around amazing place to work!

    Jul 17, 2019 - Tutor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked as a tutor for Compass since January. Management is extremely supportive and down-to-earth, communication and resources are well organized. Compass takes a holistic approach to nurturing students' progress and genuinely cares about the success of its students and tutors.

    Cons

    As with most tutoring companies, it takes a while to build up to the amount of hours you'd ideally like to have.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Excellent culture and excellent management

    Sep 26, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great management team, co-workers and culture

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Excellent hourly salary and outstanding employee support

    Jan 22, 2016 - Tutor in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company genuinely respects and supports its workers. We supply a high-quality niche product, and management goesquality niche product, and management goesquality niche product, and management goes the extra mile to make sure that both clients and tutors are happy with our work. Salary reviews are regular, and I've received significant hourly rate increases as often as twice in a year. Opportunities to develop new skills or fulfill new roles are common; management actively looks to retain strong employees by offering them chances to grow and advance. Scheduling is flexible, and in the course of several years with the company, I've also found them very accomodating of special requests and circumstances. This is a company that truly views its employees as a crucial asset and makes sure that they know it.

    Cons

    Part-time employees don't get a full benefit package, but that's pretty typical for part-time work.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great part-time gig

    Jul 18, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management is really nice, supportive, and engaged with both you and your students. Easy company to work for. Then, the same pros you choose tutoring -- flexible schedule, fairly good pay for a part-time job that you don't have to put a lot of thought into.

    Cons

    It gets a bit maddening to drive from house to house to house after a while, and of course you're not reimbursed for travel expenses.

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Popular Careers with Compass Education Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Compass Education? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Compass Education Photos

+ Add Photo
Compass Education photo of: Headquarters
Compass Education photo of: LA - reception
Compass Education photo of: LA Office
Compass Education photo of: Northern California Office
Compass Education photo of: Compass Artwork
Compass Education photo of: View from Larkspur location
Compass Education photo of: Office Space
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Compass Education Job Seekers Also Viewed

Education Elements Logo
Education Elements

4.1

35 Reviews
Compare