KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Compass Education

Engaged Employer

Compass Education

Add a Review

Compass Education Employee Reviews about "pay"

Updated Sep 7, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 of over 92 reviews

4.5
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Compass Education Founder and Principal  Art Sawyer  (no image)
Art Sawyer
32 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,930

973 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Collaborative and Rewarding

    Jan 16, 2021 - Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    fun group of smart people

    Cons

    pay could always be better

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Really awesome flexible part-time job!

    Oct 15, 2016 - Tutor in Larkspur, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I set my own schedule. The directors (managers) offer various programs with students (mostly ACT/SAT prep) and you can choose to accept or decline based on your availability. This allows me to work as much or as little as I want. The only thing is you have to plan ahead! There is a lot of opportunities to make extra money too such as proctoring exams, grading tests, academic support, and tutoring. I really enjoy working with engaged students and helping them to achieve their academic goals. Keeping my mind sharp with various topics and school is really enjoyable as well.

    Cons

    Lots of driving typically. It was hard at first when I only had a few students and didn't really understand how Marin traffic worked. Now that I have about 15-20 hrs a week, I am able to drive to the North Bay before traffic and come home after traffic. Hourly pay seems great but after you factor in driving and the reduced rate for prep time, you end up just okay.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Compass Education Response

    Recruiting Director

    We agree! In fact, this has been receiving significant attention and resources in 2016 and we plan to begin rolling out enhanced tools early in the new year. Our founders and technology leaders have made the needs of tutors in the field our top tech priority, so tutors will be benefitting from better management/scheduling tools very soon. We're striving to make this part of the job easier for tutors, especially when on the move.

  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great support!

    Aug 8, 2012 - SAT Tutor in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You don't have to deal with sales or customer service. You don't even have to formally grade essays. Summer hours are great! If parents are for any reason unhappy, then you can just refer them to your director. You can teach only Verbal or only Math instead of both (I know some SAT tutoring companies require you to teach both!) The training and course material is also VERY good, so you feel confident and prepared.

    Cons

    Like most tutoring jobs, your schedule revolves around your students' schedules, so mostly hours are in the afternoons, evenings, and weekends during the school year. Pay could also be better.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great part-time gig

    Feb 24, 2022 - Tutor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been with Compass for a while now, and it's been my solid main gig this whole time. I can control how many students I take on, which is great since I'm in grad school and have juggled multiple jobs/internships while still working for Compass. There's opportunities for other side gigs within the company too, like proctoring, grading, teaching SAT/ACT classes at the schools they partner with, etc. Plus, everyone who works on the management team is super friendly and they actually care about you. I remember seeing another review on here back when I was still debating on if I should take this job or not: it said something about the pay looking good but is small in comparison when considering how much parents are ACTUALLY paying for the lessons. I definitely understand what they mean—but at the same time, this still gets me a fat paycheck. I don't have to source my own students, the case managers handle most of the admin work (and parents, too, if they get problematic), and there's annual pay bumps if applicable. I also appreciate how much they value pedagogy and making as much of an inclusive space as possible for employees (as a tutor, you're not a contractor—you're an employee!), families, and students. They have professional development opportunities where we may learn ways to work with students with disabilities, etc.

    Cons

    I agree with something another review pointed out: a pay increase for tutors who have high student loads would be p nice. Also while the SF office had boasted before that all their case managers are women, which is great, they are all white, which is not as great. The management team overall can hire more diverse people, I'm sure. Also, health insurance as an employee would obvs be nice, but I understand the logistics of that for being part-timers is likely tricky.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good job out of college

    Jul 20, 2011 -  in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay per hour. Good kids. You develop mentoring relationships with your students that may not be possible with other companies

    Cons

    Annoying to have to drive to students' houses. Company does not pay for gas or travel at all, so that would be good if they did.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Side gig

    May 6, 2021 - ACT/SAT Tutor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company pairs you with steady slate of work with students

    Cons

    Pay increases slowly. Less worth it over time. The company charges families a lot and pays tutors just a small fraction.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good part time job

    Mar 11, 2016 -  in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The people at Compass really know their stuff and will train you as needed to become a tutor. If you need help, people at the office are friendly, professional, and easy to reach - Course materials for your lessons are provided - Lots of flexibility with your schedule. Great to work around another job or graduate school. - Most of the families I've worked with have been very nice

    Cons

    - Pay is not as nearly good as it sounds - you will likely be spending a lot of time on the road relative to your time on the clock - Lots of wear on your car (again, relative to pay, and mileage isn't compensated) - Bridge tolls are not paid for proctors - Compass hires so many people relative to the number of hours available that it will be hard to get as much work as you want - Not a lot of interaction with coworkers - That feeling of shock you have when you find out how much parents pay for your lesson vs. how much you are paid for it

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Flexible schedule, great support staff in the office, and wonderful students

    Jan 13, 2015 - Tutor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working at Compass provides the opportunity to work with a variety of great students and enjoy the support of a strong curriculum, hard-working office staff, and extremely great pay. One of the benefits of tutoring for a company is that a steady stream of students is sent my way, since Compass is well known and highly regarded by families throughout the Bay Area. The ability to set my own schedule is occasionally burdensome, but more often it's liberating, as I can take vacations and days off whenever I need to, provided I give each of my students the required number of lessons before his or her test date. Logistical challenges—like practice tests, materials, and parent questions—are handled entirely by the office staff, leaving me free to focus on tutoring. Prep for lessons is fairly minimal, and gets easier the more students I encounter.

    Cons

    Traveling to and from students' homes can be a chore, particularly if the students are farther up in Marin County. That said, there's a bump in pay for long distance students and all bridge tolls are provided, which are both great bonuses. There isn't much opportunity for growth within the company, so it's a good job for graduate students, freelancers, or anyone else who likes working with kids and would like supplementary income.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Compass Education Response

    Executive Director

    Thanks for taking the time to post such thoughtful comments, and it's wonderful to hear that this has been a great fit for you. We understand that traveling to some homes can be a chore, so we happily reimburse for tolls and pay more for distance. We also offer closer programs whenever possible, and we do our best to cluster programs regionally while still making careful tutor/student matches. Finally, while a company our size doesn't have tons of current openings, we promote from within and have advanced several tutors to expanded or full-time roles over the years!

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Better than most

    Jun 22, 2018 - Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay relativeGood pay relativeGood pay relative to other companies

    Cons

    bad pay relative to what they charge clients

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 Reviews

Popular Careers with Compass Education Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Compass Education? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Compass Education Photos

+ Add Photo
Compass Education photo of: Headquarters
Compass Education photo of: LA - reception
Compass Education photo of: LA Office
Compass Education photo of: Northern California Office
Compass Education photo of: Compass Artwork
Compass Education photo of: View from Larkspur location
Compass Education photo of: Office Space
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Compass Education Job Seekers Also Viewed

Education Elements Logo
Education Elements

4.1

35 Reviews
Compare