Cover image for Compass Education
Logo

Compass Education

Engaged Employer

Compass Education

Add a Review

Compass Education Employee Reviews about "schedule"

Updated Oct 4, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 88 of over 94 reviews
4.5
94% Recommend to a Friend
100% Approve of CEO

Found 7 of over 94 reviews

4.5
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Compass Education Founder and Principal  Art Sawyer  (no image)
Art Sawyer
32 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,937

976 Comments

Teachers

202.2K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/teachers/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Compass Education~196327
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "schedule"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Company with Solid Pay

    Oct 2, 2022 - Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Control your own schedule, great pay, fantastic training and materials, responsive and empathetic staff

    Cons

    None so far. Really love the job.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Excellent Job with Supportive Management and Flexible Scheduling

    Oct 4, 2022 - Private Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - ability to set your own hours and increase/decrease your workload - opportunities for horizontal growth into other subject areas - extensive onboarding and training - opportunities to work with underprivileged students through the Compass Scholarship Program

    Cons

    - hourly compensation for the tutor relative to hourly rate charged to the client is a bit low - not much opportunity for upward mobility - no benefits

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Compass Education team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Still A Great Workplace!

    Sep 7, 2022 - Tutor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Extremely smart and competent employees. Everyone wants you to succeed. A lot of the tutoring has moved online during the pandemic, and things have been smooth.

    Cons

    Can be hard to manage workload. No travel reimbursement.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Love working for this company

    Aug 23, 2022 - Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great support from company, curriculum, and training. I love that they supply all the materials and practice tests. I feel like I have the tools to be a successful tutor.

    Cons

    It's hard to have regular hours on a weekly (and, therefore, monthly) basis, so it's challenging to have a steady income that you can plan on.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Supportive Staff

    Jul 9, 2022 - SAT/ACT Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a part-time employee, it's typically very hard to find support from full-time/permanent staff, but at Compass they're very mindful of your experience and check in with you. I feel incredibly supported (plus great pay!).

    Cons

    Sometimes there are slow seasons (i.e. summer break) and so you don't always get a lot of students, but this is the nature of the position and not a reflection on the company. If you want a consistent stream of income year-long, this might not be the position for you.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good hours and good management

    Jul 11, 2022 - Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - flexible hours - payment for prep time/parent time - online and virtual options - good communication with management

    Cons

    - may not be assigned as many students consistently at times - some weeks less lucrative than others - not good if you can't manage yourself

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great as a second gig

    Jul 7, 2022 - Tutor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility, Supportive administration, continuing education, consistent raises each year

    Cons

    Tutoring in person is a great deal of driving

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great management

    Apr 11, 2022 - SAT/ACT Verbal Tutor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Reasonable compensation, great training, supportive management team, flexible hours

    Cons

    Limited amount of hours, unclear whether there are opportunities to increase hourly rates

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great part-time gig

    Feb 24, 2022 - Tutor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been with Compass for a while now, and it's been my solid main gig this whole time. I can control how many students I take on, which is great since I'm in grad school and have juggled multiple jobs/internships while still working for Compass. There's opportunities for other side gigs within the company too, like proctoring, grading, teaching SAT/ACT classes at the schools they partner with, etc. Plus, everyone who works on the management team is super friendly and they actually care about you. I remember seeing another review on here back when I was still debating on if I should take this job or not: it said something about the pay looking good but is small in comparison when considering how much parents are ACTUALLY paying for the lessons. I definitely understand what they mean—but at the same time, this still gets me a fat paycheck. I don't have to source my own students, the case managers handle most of the admin work (and parents, too, if they get problematic), and there's annual pay bumps if applicable. I also appreciate how much they value pedagogy and making as much of an inclusive space as possible for employees (as a tutor, you're not a contractor—you're an employee!), families, and students. They have professional development opportunities where we may learn ways to work with students with disabilities, etc.

    Cons

    I agree with something another review pointed out: a pay increase for tutors who have high student loads would be p nice. Also while the SF office had boasted before that all their case managers are women, which is great, they are all white, which is not as great. The management team overall can hire more diverse people, I'm sure. Also, health insurance as an employee would obvs be nice, but I understand the logistics of that for being part-timers is likely tricky.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    a great gig

    Apr 8, 2022 - Online Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good culture nice colleagues work from home flexibility and freedom pick your hours high pay

    Cons

    not enough hours pay is small percentage of what they charge clients

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Compass Education Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Compass Education? Share Your Experiences

Compass Education logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Compass Education Photos

+ Add Photo
Compass Education photo of: Headquarters
Compass Education photo of: LA - reception
Compass Education photo of: LA Office
Compass Education photo of: Northern California Office
Compass Education photo of: Compass Artwork
Compass Education photo of: View from Larkspur location
Compass Education photo of: Office Space
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Compass Education Job Seekers Also Viewed

Education Elements Logo
Education Elements

4.1

35 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 94 Compass Education reviews submitted anonymously by Compass Education employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Compass Education is right for you.