Cover image for Compass
Logo

Compass

Engaged Employer

Compass

Add a Review

Compass Reviews

Updated Jan 31, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,520 of over 2K reviews
3.6
56% Recommend to a Friend
Compass Founder and CEO  Robert Reffkin
70% Approve of CEO

Found 1,510 of over 2K reviews

3.6
56%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Compass Founder and CEO  Robert Reffkin
Robert Reffkin
984 Ratings

What people are saying about Compass

Join the conversation on

Consulting Exit Opportunities

1y

works at 

KPMG

Holy crap… Just interviewed at Compass and they are killing it.  Sounds like a great company. Anybody at compass who can speak on the culture? 

20

13 Comments

Tech

629K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Compass~719025
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Compass? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Compass employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Bad management, becoming better(in 35 reviews)
  • "low pay; no support; all about money not care(in 29 reviews)
  • "Massive Layoffs: between 2 rounds of layoffs cut 1,000 employees 20+ designers, some with over 3+ years at the company(in 27 reviews)
  • "No training in the industry for beginners (not a con per se but definitely not for inexperienced agents).(in 20 reviews)
  • "Low salary, hard to take PTO, leadership out of touch(in 16 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Compass and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Best of the best

    Jan 27, 2023 - Real Estate Agent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing technology Great brand name Beautiful office spaces

    Cons

    Sometimes the managers are too busy to help.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great culture

    Jan 30, 2023 - SGM in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Has great leadership and culture

    Cons

    Tough year with several rounds of RIFs

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Compass team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Pretty good

    Jan 30, 2023 - REALTOR® 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Support is good. Good communication. Nice work environment.

    Cons

    High fees. Lots of changes leaning towards using all internal systems.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Transaction Coordinator

    Jan 30, 2023 - Transaction Coordinator in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interview Process was quick met with my direct supervisor on the 2nd interview

    Cons

    Not enough training on certain updates within the company at the time

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Loved it, but was hit by lay offs

    Jan 27, 2023 - Agent Experience Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I could set my own schedule loved the people i worked with loved the high speed nature of real estate liked the agent teams surrounding me learned the basics of a bunch of new systems tons of training

    Cons

    ADA / Disability accommodations: I had told them prior to entering that i had multiple chronic illnesses and that part of the reason i was applying was due to their "unlimited sick time" policy. I also made sure to make every person I interviewed with aware of my illnesses and need for some understanding/accommodation. Well i was out too much and they asked me to apply for leave even though I hadn't been working there a year yet so I wouldn't qualify. I was laid off in the company wide lay offs before this got resolved but figured i'd mention it anyways

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Overall great

    Jan 23, 2023 - Real Estate Agent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall, I feel that Compass is a great brokerage to be an agent. I love that they are very tech-forward, although there are often situations that arise when the tech does not work properly. It has a prestigious feel without being stuffy like other brokerages.

    Cons

    Lots of bumps in the road when we lose members of our office support team to layoffs

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    NA

    Jan 25, 2023 - Cook 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free food and parking easy

    Cons

    Not enough hours to make pay

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good company

    Jan 24, 2023 - Real Estate Agent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of technology to help

    Cons

    Fees can be high if you are not utilizing the tools

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company

    Jan 21, 2023 - Real Estate Advisor in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome technology and high end office

    Cons

    No cons that I know of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Current Employee

    bad

    Jan 16, 2023 - Office Administrator in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    pay, benefits and learning lol

    Cons

    bad pay bad management bad overall

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,510 Reviews
</>Embed

Compass Reviews FAQs

Compass has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 1,797 reviews left anonymously by employees. 56% of employees would recommend working at Compass to a friend and 48% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -11% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Compass employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Compass. This rating has decreased by -10% over the last 12 months.

56% of Compass employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Compass 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Compass to be senior leadership, career development, benefits and the cons to be management, compensation.

Popular Careers with Compass Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Compass? Share Your Experiences

Compass logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Compass Photos

+ Add Photo
Compass photo of: Product &amp; Agent Ops teams
Compass photo of: Beach Street Office
Compass photo of: Compass Halloween 2018
Compass photo of: Compass Halloween 2018
Compass photo of: Chicago Holiday Party 2018
Compass photo of: Robert and Compass team
Compass photo of: Team meeting
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Compass Job Seekers Also Viewed

Compass Logo
Compass

3.9

199 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,797 Compass reviews submitted anonymously by Compass employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Compass is right for you.