Con-way Freight "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Con-way Freight Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Dec 6, 2016

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
57%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Con-way Freight Chief Executive Officer  Bradley S. Jacobs (no image)
Bradley S. Jacobs
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Pay and decent family work life(in 57 reviews)

  • "pay is good fairly good benefits good vacation policy I just cant say enough good about this company(in 26 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Solutions Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Solutions Specialist in North Richland Hills, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Con-way Freight for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good insurance, gray Supervisor

    Cons

    Upper management not friendly or caring

    Con-way Freight2015-09-12
  2. "Terminal Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Center Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Con-way Freight full-time

    Pros

    Good Pay, good benefits, stable company, They offered opportunities for advancement and a good relocation package, excellent employee training and always looking for ways to improve the company

    Cons

    Started out as Con-way and really valued people who helped them grow and expand than something changed around 2012 and upper management started alienating the tenured employees who were there at the start

    Continue reading
    Con-way Freight2016-12-07
  3. "Good luck if you're thinking about it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Dock Worker in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Con-way Freight for less than a year

    Pros

    * benefits * culture *values * by far: the people you are in the trenches with,are your family

    Cons

    * Upper management ONLY worries about the bottom line...If anyone knows the logistics business,they know there has to be some give and go: there are know absolutes...

    Continue reading
    Con-way Freight2016-03-25
  4. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Con-way Freight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of flexibility with your schedule. Fast paced work environment and new challenges to overcome everyday. The pay is ok, and you have a lot of opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    The lack of upper management support you receive can start to become a real issue. Also the lack of company structure.

    Continue reading
    Con-way Freight2015-10-22
  5. "Con-way is a good company that expects a lot from it's employees and pays well with good benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Freight Operations Supervisor in Davenport, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Con-way Freight

    Pros

    Good wages, good benefits, strong company - doesn't lose money.

    Cons

    High pressure/stress for management employees - sometimes the "what have you done for me lately" attitude by upper management regardless of you work record and continued dependability and efficiency - it's all about the numbers whether you can control it or not.

    Continue reading
    Con-way Freight2015-02-11
  6. "Was a great company until 2008 when new upper management came in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Con-way Freight

    Pros

    Good pay that's about it now, but comparable to other trucking companies.

    Cons

    Very demanding with very little if any positive feedback, upper management does not practice what they preach. current upper management have destroyed what once was a great company to work for.

    Continue reading
    Con-way Freight2015-03-05
  7. Helpful (5)

    "After 31 years with Con-way in Reno Nevada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    D S R in Reno, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Con-way Freight for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company finely got management right at the Reno service center. After going through 13 service center managers the present one is really good to work for and with. If you have to drive a truck for a living Con-way ain't too bad. I had to L.O.L. when I heard a few of their service centers voted for the union. Now everyone gets a big raise and they turned the trucks back up to 65.

    Cons

    After 31 years I have seen the company go from a great 'family type of operation' and we will always take care of you, to lets see how much less we can pay you. In 2006 they froze the defined retirement plan at the then levels. That cost me about $231,000 over 20 years of retirement or $963 per month. Years ago to save fuel they slowed the trucks down to 62 M.P.H. that cost me 1 hour more a day, every day, no extra pay just more of my time. I was a line driver and paid by the mile so speed was a big factor Medical went from Cadillac to something like Obama care and that's what they blamed it all on. No one in management has the power to change anything. They have to ask the main office for permission to use the restroom. Over the years I have talked to every one in upper management that I came into contact with to no avail. Not that I am a complainer, I just saw things that were really dumb. When you have worked at a company longer then some of the management has been alive you would think they would at least listen. For the last ten years I would have been first in line to vote for the union!!! I just missed it by a few months. I should have stayed to see what would happen next. Don't miss it but still upset. This is just a short list of complaints. I know I am just wasting my time here but I feel better for it.

    Continue reading
    Con-way Freight2014-12-11
  8. "Was"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FSC, and Field Operations in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Con-way Freight full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The general office or FSC (Field Support Center) was a good experience, and a good place to start. Most people are helpful, and treat you with respect. Training seems to be getting better all the time.

    Cons

    The work ethics and culture are very different depending on the region of the United States you work in. Training is very outdated in the field, and upper-management is very removed from what really goes on in any operation. Morale is seemingly very low all over the country and the company doesn't know it or seems to choose not to acknowledge it.

    Continue reading
    Con-way Freight2014-06-04
  9. "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Joplin, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Con-way Freight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I wish I could think of something good to say.

    Cons

    Driver's are not treated well and some of the upper management have no idea or experience in the trucking industry. The "good buddy" system runs wild in the operations department. If you go to the right gym, are not a woman, are not goal oriented and have no desire to help the company grow you will be successful.

    Continue reading
    Con-way Freight2013-11-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "One of the better trucking companies."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Los Angeles, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Con-way Freight

    Pros

    Relatively good pay and stable benefits in an economy where neither are guaranteed. Utilization of technological advances to streamline work processes.

    Cons

    Upper management disconnect from working realities.

    Continue reading
    Con-way Freight2011-09-26
Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews