Con-way Freight Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Dec 6, 2016

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
56%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Con-way Freight Chief Executive Officer  Bradley S. Jacobs (no image)
Bradley S. Jacobs
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Pay and decent family work life(in 58 reviews)

  • "pay is good fairly good benefits good vacation policy I just cant say enough good about this company(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours old technology a lot of dust(in 38 reviews)

  • "Upper management ONLY worries about the bottom line(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Customer Solutions Specialist

      Sep 12, 2015 - Customer Solutions Specialist in North Richland Hills, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, good insurance, gray Supervisor

      Cons

      Upper management not friendly or caring

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Con-way is a good company that expects a lot from it's employees and pays well with good benefits.

      Feb 11, 2015 - Freight Operations Supervisor in Davenport, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good wages, good benefits, strong company - doesn't lose money.

      Cons

      High pressure/stress for management employees - sometimes the "what have you done for me lately" attitude by upper management regardless of you work record and continued dependability and efficiency - it's all about the numbers whether you can control it or not.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Was

      Jun 4, 2014 - FSC, and Field Operations in Ann Arbor, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The general office or FSC (Field Support Center) was a good experience, and a good place to start. Most people are helpful, and treat you with respect. Training seems to be getting better all the time.

      Cons

      The work ethics and culture are very different depending on the region of the United States you work in. Training is very outdated in the field, and upper-management is very removed from what really goes on in any operation. Morale is seemingly very low all over the country and the company doesn't know it or seems to choose not to acknowledge it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Supervisor

      Oct 22, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of flexibility with your schedule. Fast paced work environment and new challenges to overcome everyday. The pay is ok, and you have a lot of opportunities for growth.

      Cons

      The lack of upper management support you receive can start to become a real issue. Also the lack of company structure.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Terminal Manager

      Dec 6, 2016 - Service Center Manager in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Pay, good benefits, stable company, They offered opportunities for advancement and a good relocation package, excellent employee training and always looking for ways to improve the company

      Cons

      Started out as Con-way and really valued people who helped them grow and expand than something changed around 2012 and upper management started alienating the tenured employees who were there at the start

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      After 31 years with Con-way in Reno Nevada

      Dec 11, 2014 - D S R in Reno, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company finely got management right at the Reno service center. After going through 13 service center managers the present one is really good to work for and with. If you have to drive a truck for a living Con-way ain't too bad. I had to L.O.L. when I heard a few of their service centers voted for the union. Now everyone gets a big raise and they turned the trucks back up to 65.

      Cons

      After 31 years I have seen the company go from a great 'family type of operation' and we will always take care of you, to lets see how much less we can pay you. In 2006 they froze the defined retirement plan at the then levels. That cost me about $231,000 over 20 years of retirement or $963 per month. Years ago to save fuel they slowed the trucks down to 62 M.P.H. that cost me 1 hour more a day, every day, no extra pay just more of my time. I was a line driver and paid by the mile so speed was a big factor Medical went from Cadillac to something like Obama care and that's what they blamed it all on. No one in management has the power to change anything. They have to ask the main office for permission to use the restroom. Over the years I have talked to every one in upper management that I came into contact with to no avail. Not that I am a complainer, I just saw things that were really dumb. When you have worked at a company longer then some of the management has been alive you would think they would at least listen. For the last ten years I would have been first in line to vote for the union!!! I just missed it by a few months. I should have stayed to see what would happen next. Don't miss it but still upset. This is just a short list of complaints. I know I am just wasting my time here but I feel better for it.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      One of the better trucking companies.

      Sep 26, 2011 -  in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relatively good pay and stable benefits in an economy where neither are guaranteed. Utilization of technological advances to streamline work processes.

      Cons

      Upper management disconnect from working realities.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good luck if you're thinking about it

      Mar 25, 2016 - Dock Worker in Plano, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * benefits * culture *values * by far: the people you are in the trenches with,are your family

      Cons

      * Upper management ONLY worries about the bottom line...If anyone knows the logistics business,they know there has to be some give and go: there are know absolutes...

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Disappointing

      Nov 1, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Joplin, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I wish I could think of something good to say.

      Cons

      Driver's are not treated well and some of the upper management have no idea or experience in the trucking industry. The "good buddy" system runs wild in the operations department. If you go to the right gym, are not a woman, are not goal oriented and have no desire to help the company grow you will be successful.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee

      I remember JD, it was different then

      Jan 1, 2010 - FOS in Sunnyside, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's overall a good place to work. As a driver, remember, the first year is the worst. Stick with it and it will pay off. The company was much better when Jerry Detter was here, now it is mostly just a job.

      Cons

      A lot of work, not as much recognition for the good, too much blame for the bad. Upper management seems to be drifting away from the core values.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Con-way Freight Job Seekers

    Truck Driver
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Freight Operations Supervisor
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Con-way Freight? Share Your Experiences

    Con-way Freight logo
    or