Concordia University Reviews | Glassdoor

Concordia University Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 369 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Concordia University CEO Alan Shepard
Alan Shepard
61 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There are no cons for University(in 15 reviews)

  • "professor oriented, you could get a bad(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Part - Time Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Concordia University part-time

    Pros

    I had free reign and could get creative with students. The pay is good and there is a part - time teachers union.

    Cons

    Little opportunity to return next year.

    Concordia University2018-10-20
  2. "Great environment to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Concordia University full-time

    Pros

    Diverse employees, English-speaking, relaxed work environment

    Cons

    can be very bureaucratic to get anything done, pay is lower that elsewhere in Canada (a Quebec problem)

    Concordia University2018-12-03
  3. "Admin Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Concordia University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Educational programs discounted to employees.

    Cons

    Like any organization, oftentimes the best employees are not rewarded.

    Advice to Management

    Reward those employees who are producing instead of family members or relatives.

    Concordia University2018-10-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Concordia University full-time

    Pros

    Some really great and dedicated people work there

    Cons

    Very low wages comparatively, and not a lot of opportunity for advancement except for select few

    Concordia University2018-07-16
  5. "Management lying ways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housekeeper in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Concordia University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very nice and great work environment

    Cons

    Management tells you you are getting a promotion then takes it away from you. Suppose to be a religious atmosphere but manager do not act that way.

    Advice to Management

    Quit your hypocritical ways and tell your employees the truth

    Concordia University2018-05-13
  6. "Concordia University for grad students (Physics)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Concordia University full-time

      Pros

      New facilities, good physics department, lots of contact with other departments, growing department

      Cons

      Small department, few courses, some profs not engaged

      Concordia University2018-03-07
    • "Administration"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Concordia University

        Pros

        Good benefits, dealing with students is a challenge but rewarding aspect of the job. I found thia job to be good and dece t.

        Cons

        I don't really have any cons for this job. I'm really just curious because of the moment and it was a great experience.

        Concordia University2018-01-22
      • "Grounds Employee"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Concordia University part-time

        Pros

        Flexible hours and a positive environment

        Cons

        Only a part time position

        Concordia University2017-12-08
      • "Former employee"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR

        I worked at Concordia University full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Good People and pretty campus

        Cons

        Low Pay and closed minded management

        Concordia University2017-12-05
      • "Exceptional University"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Part Time in Remote, OR
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Concordia University part-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Supportive leadership Good pay Mission statement is honored

        Cons

        Not steady employment Random cutbacks without explanation make employees feel disconnected.

        Advice to Management

        Hire less adjuncts , and keep current ones busy.

        Concordia University2017-07-27
      Found 369 reviews