Confluent Anonymous Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Confluent Anonymous Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Rocketship startup with crazy potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -A ridiculously amazing team composed of big data/cloud/[insert subject matter] experts who work hard from around the world, whether it be from HQ, a shared working space, or a home office. The company’s philosophy seems to be to hire the best talent wherever they may be, and then to give them a high degree of trust and autonomy to get their work done. At the rate we’re growing, it appears to be working so far. -Strong leadership who hustle alongside the team every single day (no absentee CEO flying around the world doing who knows what), and who really believe and promote the company values (The Team is the First Priority, Be Smart, Humble, and Empathetic, Be Fired up and Get Stuff Done, Be Tasteful not Wasteful, and One Team). One of my favorite ways leadership promotes these values is by giving out an award at each bi-weekly All-Hands to an employee or group of employees who have exhibited one of these values. Whoever wins is given an award for themselves AND an award to spend on behalf of the company, as well as a “Frankie” pin (in honor of Franz Kafka, of course!). It’s a generous and fun way to recognize the great work our team is doing. -There’s a high level of transparency from the top down. The most recent financial and sales data, including how we are tracking towards our OKRs and why, are shared at every All-Hands. About half of the All-Hands is devoted to an open employee Q&A, with leadership present and willing to tackle hard questions from employees on the spot. Leadership is also willing to meet 1:1 with any employees who want to ask questions directly. -All the startup perks you’d hope for, and more (remote-friendly, dog-friendly, flexible with working hours, truly delicious catered lunches daily @ HQ and a generous lunch stipend for remote workers once/week, weekly happy hours @ HQ, monthly birthday celebrations, fully covered health benefits, etc.).The workplace experience team is amazing and plans the best events @ HQ, and we have “experience ambassadors” placed around the world to plan and execute fun team-building events in other regions.

    Cons

    The company is growing really fast, which means there have been some gaps in key personnel (this has improved since I joined and I know it’s top of mind for leadership) and formal learning and development opportunities (still waiting to see progress here). We are also working hard to ensure the experience is just as great around the world as it is @ our Mountain View HQ.

    Continue reading
    Confluent2019-10-17
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at Confluent has been one of the best experiences of my career. The highlight is the people – everyone is dedicated to building the best company they can and even though it's incredibly fast growth, I still enjoy coming to work every day.

    Cons

    Typical growing pains at a fast growing startup

    Continue reading
    Confluent2019-10-02
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Join! You won't regret it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Industry leaders Smart, hard working employees Food in the office

    Cons

    There's no 401k matching but will probably be something that comes in the future.

    Continue reading
    Confluent2019-09-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "The Real Deal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Full disclosure that I've only recently joined Confluent but this is already unlike anything I've seen in my (lengthy) career. It is the real deal. Wickedly smart, technically astute, and highly empathetic leaders who engage like actual humans. Ridiculously compelling product-market fit. Off the charts run-rate. The culture and values are role modeled at the top and clearly cascade down. It's worth calling out that the team is highly distributed, so while there's a company headquarters based in the Bay Area, there's also a full office in the city, so people don't have to commute unless desired. The same is true for people working remotely from home or in small, growing enclaves where Confluent is using WeWork offices until there's critical mass. Bottom line though, it's not a "you must be in the office" culture and that is refreshingly pragmatic.

    Cons

    Like any startup growing ridiculously quickly, many things are struggling to keeping pace with the swift rate of growth. We outgrown our HQ, parking is tight, snacks, coffee, and parts of lunch sometimes run out, etc. However we're moving into a ridiculous new headquarters, taking over a parking garage, and hiring on new workplace/facilities people to help keep up. Patience on the little things is required, but the intent is positive and execution gets there eventually.

    Continue reading
    Confluent2019-09-08
  5. "Truly the best company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, flexible working hours, unlimited holidays, amazing team, great culture, acknowledgement...all what you expect from an amazing company...

    Cons

    No cons really, the usual stuff that comes with rapid growth

    Continue reading
    Confluent2019-09-27
  6. "Hard working team experiencing growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great opportunity in the market - feels like right place, right time -Lot of scope to do your job, and more if you are interested - there is so much to get involved in -Hard working team globally -Frequent direct communication from executive leadership at HQ via All Hands team meeting every two weeks -Generous company - great swag for hires and at events, AirPods when we hit 500 employees, paying to get the entire global team together once per year face to face, loads of office snacks and drinks, team building culture events and more -

    Cons

    -Everyone is moving so quickly, sometimes people join and are not fully clear on their role and responsibilities - can be confusing for the new joiner and the team already in place -Things change quickly all the time - if you want a defined role and want to "keep in your lane" this is not the place for you -Many processes and policies not in place yet, sometimes this can be confusing -Feels like sometimes there is too much bureaucracy or office politics that flows beneath the surface and is not acknowledged outright -It is very HQ focused and much of the leadership is located in Silicon Valley, depending on role, you may need to put in overtime to be available for meetings with members there.

    Continue reading
    Confluent2019-09-11
  7. "Best job, Best team, Best pretty much everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Crazy highly engaged and committed people. The team spirit is incredible. Employees are incredibly gifted and still very humble and accessible. Even though the workload is huge, it is a pleasure to come to work every day and face this adventure together. Clearly the opportunity I did not know I could get until I got in and saw it with my own eyes.

    Cons

    The team grows incredibly fast, and onboarding is getting difficult. Some teams are greatly understaffed and therefore you need to hit the ground running and you face a lot of highly expectant people. As all fast-growing companies, we are lacking some key processes, and some other internal processes seem heavy. But it is worth it.

    Confluent2019-05-20
  8. Helpful (2)

    "You know you are part of something exciting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A fast growing company where you know you can personally make a change and build a great company with amazing people. The technology is game-changing and really defines a new way of software architecture. You are able to work with great customers, partners and colleagues.

    Cons

    This is not a nine-to-five company. Lots of things to be done and quick changes of strategic decisions as in every startup.

    Confluent2018-10-01
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Silicon Valley Startup with Game-Changing Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic team with great tech and non-tech people. The technology is cutting-edge and used in most enterprises globally. The company (i.e. people and revenue) is growing fast. The executive team wants to keep the startup culture as much as possible even when the company gets much bigger.

    Cons

    Startup culture with small team (100+ people in 2017), only two offices (Palo Alto, London). You have to like this (I do).

    Confluent2017-08-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews