Confluent Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Confluent Engineer Reviews

Updated Feb 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "A unicorn among unicorns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Engineering-focused mindset all the way to the top means silly corporate issues aren't suffered Our leadership likes making fun of anonymous questions about 'not important' issues like whether we should have a dress code or not, and frankly I love it. It's a breath of fresh air to hear things like "hey, maybe we should focus doing the things that will make us successful" - and not done in a whip-cracking way at all but instead in a way that fosters a real desire to just do better work and create more value for all of us. Absolutely exceptional engineering talent. It's incredible to work with not only our executives but also the stellar engineering, product, data-focused, and frankly anyone at the firm. Pretty much everyone you meet is an expert in something.

    Cons

    Growing this fast is always tough, but we're still managing to do it pretty gracefully in my experience.

    Continue reading
    Confluent2019-08-23
  2. "Confluent is a fun and challenging company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great leadership that is extremely transparent Amazing co-workers that are extremely smart and give you confidence in the ability to execute within the company Amazing growth and exciting tech Confluent places as much value in its people as it does in its product

    Cons

    This is a demanding job. The tech landscape is ever changing and this product is on the edge of innovation. People that aren’t motivated by this may find this job extremely challenging.

    Continue reading
    Confluent2020-02-06
  3. "Great company let down by poor culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Confluent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people in some regions, not so in others.

    Cons

    Poor to non existent culture, secretive, scared employees unwilling to talk to you, this is not a nice place to work. Very weird, inexperienced middle management types who you can tell have never managed staff before. Adversarial fear based culture.

    Continue reading
    Confluent2020-02-25

    Confluent Response

    February 27, 2020VP, Talent & Employee Experience

    Posted on behalf: I appreciate you taking the time to share feedback. I am disappointed to learn that your experience at Confluent was not a positive one. We have also made significant time and monetary investments in enablement, all with the goal of helping both our managers and individual contributors succeed in their roles while also developing in their careers. However, I would concur that we have a real opportunity to further invest in and enable our managers, particularly given our rapid rate of growth over the last five years. I’m happy to share that your feedback on management is not only heard but actively being implemented. We’ve recently hired a new leader of Enablement and GTM Performance and our People & Talent team are closing on the first-ever leader of Learning & Development. With respect to your feedback on culture, your comments are surprising and not issues I’ve personally experienced, heard directly, observed in our Employee Engagement survey nor on forums such as Glassdoor. That said, I’d earnestly like to learn more about your experience, particularly given our strong culture based upon mission, values, and team. Please reach out if you’re open to discussing your experience so we can do better in the future. Best, Roger Scott, Chief Customer Officer

    Continue reading
  4. "Great Internship Program and Full-time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great internship program that convinced me to accept an offer to return for full-time. The technology and problems are interesting and challenging. The workplace environment is supportive and engaging.

    Cons

    Engineering documentation may be lacking in some areas, so it may be hard to learn about some of the systems on your own. However, this can easily be solved by asking around, since everyone is so supportive and approachable.

    Confluent2019-10-02
  5. "High impact, fast moving engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - very strong engineering team - no divas; #oneteam spirit - freedom to pick what you want to work on - high impact on future roadmap for ICs

    Cons

    Hard to stay of on top of things...

    Continue reading
    Confluent2019-09-12
  6. "Hypergrowth startup with strong engineering team and great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer, Backend in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture, plenty of employee benefits and perks, and an exciting, fast-paced environment. This company is growing at an insane rate so you'll have plenty to do and contribute. Jay is one of the best and most transparent CEOs I've ever worked for.

    Cons

    Hypergrowth means there are lots of new faces coming in every day, constantly growing and splitting teams.

    Confluent2019-09-09
  7. "Building the future of event streaming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Visionary and highly trusted executive team * Smart engineering team—Learn lots about distributed systems and large scale cloud infrastructure * Fast growth means lots of opportunity for ownership

    Cons

    * Growing quite fast—the pace of change and need to adapt is not for everyone

    Confluent2019-09-03
  8. "Awesome tech, awesome people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working on the cutting edge of distributed systems with some of the best engineers I've ever worked with.

    Cons

    None come to mind! Wish I had joined sooner

    Confluent2019-01-15
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Confluent as a company is really doing great and has some great leadership. The company itself is going really fast and to add to it they have an amazing work culture. For it size, it has reasonable benefits. Growth is great and all your perks are based on meritocracy.

    Cons

    Sometimes decision making could be hard because of the rate at which we are growing.

    Continue reading
    Confluent2018-09-27
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Keeps on growing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High growth, smart employees, great product

    Cons

    high growth=lots of new people and new faces. Hard to get a feel for who is doing what sometimes.

    Confluent2018-09-27
Found 25 reviews