Confluent Reviews | Glassdoor

Confluent Reviews

Updated Feb 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
95%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Confluent is a fun and challenging company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great leadership that is extremely transparent Amazing co-workers that are extremely smart and give you confidence in the ability to execute within the company Amazing growth and exciting tech Confluent places as much value in its people as it does in its product

    Cons

    This is a demanding job. The tech landscape is ever changing and this product is on the edge of innovation. People that aren’t motivated by this may find this job extremely challenging.

    Continue reading
    Confluent2020-02-06
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Rocketship startup with crazy potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -A ridiculously amazing team composed of big data/cloud/[insert subject matter] experts who work hard from around the world, whether it be from HQ, a shared working space, or a home office. The company’s philosophy seems to be to hire the best talent wherever they may be, and then to give them a high degree of trust and autonomy to get their work done. At the rate we’re growing, it appears to be working so far. -Strong leadership who hustle alongside the team every single day (no absentee CEO flying around the world doing who knows what), and who really believe and promote the company values (The Team is the First Priority, Be Smart, Humble, and Empathetic, Be Fired up and Get Stuff Done, Be Tasteful not Wasteful, and One Team). One of my favorite ways leadership promotes these values is by giving out an award at each bi-weekly All-Hands to an employee or group of employees who have exhibited one of these values. Whoever wins is given an award for themselves AND an award to spend on behalf of the company, as well as a “Frankie” pin (in honor of Franz Kafka, of course!). It’s a generous and fun way to recognize the great work our team is doing. -There’s a high level of transparency from the top down. The most recent financial and sales data, including how we are tracking towards our OKRs and why, are shared at every All-Hands. About half of the All-Hands is devoted to an open employee Q&A, with leadership present and willing to tackle hard questions from employees on the spot. Leadership is also willing to meet 1:1 with any employees who want to ask questions directly. -All the startup perks you’d hope for, and more (remote-friendly, dog-friendly, flexible with working hours, truly delicious catered lunches daily @ HQ and a generous lunch stipend for remote workers once/week, weekly happy hours @ HQ, monthly birthday celebrations, fully covered health benefits, etc.).The workplace experience team is amazing and plans the best events @ HQ, and we have “experience ambassadors” placed around the world to plan and execute fun team-building events in other regions.

    Cons

    The company is growing really fast, which means there have been some gaps in key personnel (this has improved since I joined and I know it’s top of mind for leadership) and formal learning and development opportunities (still waiting to see progress here). We are also working hard to ensure the experience is just as great around the world as it is @ our Mountain View HQ.

    Continue reading
    Confluent2019-10-17
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at Confluent has been one of the best experiences of my career. The highlight is the people – everyone is dedicated to building the best company they can and even though it's incredibly fast growth, I still enjoy coming to work every day.

    Cons

    Typical growing pains at a fast growing startup

    Continue reading
    Confluent2019-10-02
  4. "Great Internship Program and Full-time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great internship program that convinced me to accept an offer to return for full-time. The technology and problems are interesting and challenging. The workplace environment is supportive and engaging.

    Cons

    Engineering documentation may be lacking in some areas, so it may be hard to learn about some of the systems on your own. However, this can easily be solved by asking around, since everyone is so supportive and approachable.

    Confluent2019-10-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Living up to the hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Account Executive in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Confluent offers a genuine culture that gives you peace of mind that you made the right move. Everyone here is attacking the same goals and as our company has grown, those goals are validated. If you think your current situation couldn't get any better, I encourage you talk with folks at Confluent, and skim through our openings.

    Cons

    Confluent is in that fun yet hectic mature startup, pre-IPO phase. If you are not familiar with this type of trajectory, then you may find it stressful. However, if you fully embrace it, then it is one of the greatest rewards you can achieve professionally.

    Continue reading
    Confluent2019-10-02
  6. "The best startup I've ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Confluent does a lot of things right. The executives and leadership team has done a great job of cultivating a culture that rewards those who work hard and go above and beyond. Most startups, really lack at this. This is the first place I've worked in my career where I feel appreciate, valued, and like I am really learning and growing at the rate I want. I love the people that I work with... seriously some of the smartest and humblest in the business!

    Cons

    As with any startup in hypergrowth mode, there are growing pains and there aren't perfect processes. But I think the pros definitely outweigh the cons.

    Continue reading
    Confluent2019-10-01
  7. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sourcing Recruiter in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A high level of excitement in the tech community makes it easy to get people on the phone to discuss opportunities.

    Cons

    Hiring needs are in peaks and valleys.

    Continue reading
    Confluent2019-09-24
  8. "Smart people, great product!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm working with highly intelligent, empathetic and motivated individuals that are coming together to do something great! The c-suite constantly shows how down to earth they all are and how much they care about the growth of the company and the folks who are helping build it. It's intense, fast and drives you to do your best! In a healthy way! Employee experience matters and there are programs to ensure the global team feels connected!

    Cons

    I'm not sure if it's the hypergrowth, quality of recruiting, or employees' expectations, but there seems to be a growing sense of entitlement. I don't think it applies to everyone or a majority, but I am definitely noticing that entitlement is spilling into different areas of the business. But ditto to what someone else said, super grateful to be here, so very little complaints!

    Continue reading
    Confluent2019-09-23
  9. "Great company with amazing people and an even brighter future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Positive team atmosphere and culture - Fun team and company events - Open communication/feedback throughout the company - Emphasis on professional and personal growth - Good space to develop experience and contribute welcomed improvement - Commuter benefits

    Cons

    - Typical (but manageable) growing pains

    Confluent2019-09-17
  10. "High Growth, High Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Confluent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Confluent is one of the fastest-growing start-ups in the valley which means a wild ride for anyone who joins. We have strong executive leadership who care about the people and the product. There is an excellent product-market fit and the technology is world-class. Teams can change priorities quickly. You need to be able to adjust to these changing priorities to be successful. It's never dull work. You are surrounded by strong performers who love what they do and want the company to succeed. This means you have to show up every day and give it your all. There is a real opportunity to build here. No clock punchers. The team is great at celebrating wins and acknowledging losses on a regular cadence (all-hands meetings every two weeks). The culture is highly supportive of work-life balance and remote work.

    Cons

    We've matured so fast and found ourselves behind on building out some business-critical systems and structure.

    Continue reading
    Confluent2019-09-16
Found 114 reviews