KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Connect DFW

Is this your company?

Connect DFW

Add a Review

Connect DFW Employee Reviews about "door sales"

Updated Aug 27, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 105 reviews

2.9
48%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Connect DFW President Rachel O'Hara (no image)
Rachel O'Hara
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "Business to business is on the entry level side and working events and helping companies achieve solutions to reward their employees is what I do now(in 5 reviews)

  • "I was excited about having a "fast paced marketing job with room to grow," but that was all false advertisement(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "At 9 am you would drive out in groups of two or three to a section you were designated to do door to door sales(in 26 reviews)

  • "Don't tell you that you will be a door to door sales person(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Advertising

    Join the conversation on

    Advertising

    1y

    a 

    Consultant

    What career advice would you give your 30-year-old self? 😇

    3,000

    251 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "door sales"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Freelancer, more than 1 year

      Great Company, Great People, Great Model In This World We Are Living In

      Jun 9, 2017 - Freelancer in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I do not want to remain anonymous, this is Owen Taylor. Personal development, as well as team atmosphere are big pluses. To add to that, the coaching according to personality types (if one is coachable), there are many opportunities with this company. Atmosphere is a huge plus, especially with the world that we currently live in today. However, if this is for you and your timing lines up, then go for it especially if you live in the Dallas/Fort Worth area. Take your Marca Accetta Personality Color testing, it is only going to help you in the future, regardless of what you end up doing.

      Cons

      See the pros first. The coaching that you may get may seem harsh at first, however each person is coached a different way yielding the same result. Next, see the pros first...if door to door sales is not for you, this is a great opportunity but this may not be for you. See the pros first, if you are a natural perfectionist there are some coaching opportunities if you do have the time for them. And finally, see the pros first....if your mindset is always negative, prepare to learn about posinegs very quickly, or seek the "pros" elsewhere. I wish I would have found ConnectDFW much sooner, otherwise I would have been a bit more conditioned to go towards the long haul.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      "Sport Marketing Sales"

      Aug 27, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Honestly just the people you work with, they are very determined to do a great job and are inspiring. It's sad though because they will never make the money they are told they will make.

      Cons

      Where do I even begin... They scam you into the job. Don't tell you that you will be a door to door sales person. Drop you in random areas and make you walk for hours until you about 6pm then you go back to the office sweaty, all to do it over again the next day. DO NOT TAKE THIS JOB. It is a fraud.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not what you would expect

      Mar 6, 2018 - Sales Associate in Irving, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Optimistic crew and SOME(not all)great leaders. I also got to learn about baseball . It definitely made me realize marketing was not for me and gave me the drive to get my accounting degree so I would not end up working a job like that ever in my life.

      Cons

      First of all I want to point out that this was an internship. During the interview they made it seem like it was going to be an exciting and rewarding experience by saying that they do "B2B" marketing (Business to Business). They explained how people succeeded and owned their own offices in other states etc. Made it seem all great but left out what a day to day work day would be like. Keep in mind that even though I was an internship I was treated just like any other employee. So this is how each day would go: You came in at 8 am and practiced the pitches you would have to give out that day. The pitch depended on the outcome of last nigh't baseball game. At 9 am you would drive out in groups of two or three to a section you were designated to do door to door sales. You'd have to walk all day trying to sell baseball ticket packages to people off the street, nail salons, malls, offices. Anywhere where you wouldn't get kicked out. Everything was based off commission, so if you only sold 3-4 packages you would only make $32 in one day. Keep in mind that if you were sent to a ghetto place and you are a young lady dressed professionally expect to be cat called. Expect to be rudely talked to and kicked off properties by owners. This type of marketing was soliciting(Solicitation is the act of offering, or attempting to purchase, goods or services). At 6 or so you would get back to the office and your leader would help you break down how many packages you sold and what you can improve on etc. There is high turnover in this office. I was only there for two months and I saw people come and go. People would just not show up sometimes. People who left the company would get talked bad on at times by leaders so leaving the company was looked down upon. This was one of my most non-favorable internship experiences. Oh and I forgot to add if you accidentally lose a packet you were responsible for covering the costs or if the credit card info that a buyer gave you did not go through you were also liable for that.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Intern

      Nov 6, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      it is a good line on a resume

      Cons

      Long hours, including saturdays. door-to-door sales

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      "Account manager"

      Oct 2, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -none. This is in fact a scam.

      Cons

      -any talk of a base pay is a lie, full commission selling products that people don't want. - bothering people while they are at work or at home and being trained to trick people into saying yes to a sale. -THIS IS NOT MARKETING. It is just door to door sales - finally, this company is a scheme and operates as such. They fight all negative reviews to get them removed, and if they cannot they have their own employees post many, many dishonest positive reviews to try and combat all of the negative and honest reviews that they receive. **you really will be wasting your time. It is not exclusive, No matter how much they try and sell that idea. They hire anyone and everyone off of the street**

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Connect DFW Response

      HR

      We'd like to address a few of the claims stated in this review. We are not a scam, we operate both legally and ethically within state labor laws. We also believe in making sure on online image represents the correct image and this does require us to take feedback into consideration but also state when information is incorrect or untrue. We apologize if at any time you had a less than satisfactory experience as we strive to always provide a positive atmosphere for anyone who joins our team. Connect offers a variety of compensation plans which include a base pay with commission and commission only and leave this decision up to the employee based off what makes them the most comfortable. We focus on business to business and corporate events. Lastly, we appreciate any type of feedback either from current or former employees. We focus on both the negative and positive feedback but we have never provided any kind of prewritten reviews. Thank you.

    6. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Waste

      Jun 8, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have a tv in the main office and they seem really welcoming. Everyone is friendly. It's a casual work atmosphere.

      Cons

      Anyone can get the position it's a door to door sales position essentially. They'll tell you that you'll meet with Business owners or do Business to Business connections but that's just code for going to Starbucks during the afternoon rush selling the product. When you walk into the waiting room, the ESPN channel plays the same reels over and over again. If you have the charisma and can afford to not know what you're check is going to look like at the end of the week, this job is for you.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Misleading company

      Jun 3, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you like pyramid schemes, lying to people, having false hope, then this is the job for you!

      Cons

      Misleading interview process, straight commission door to door sales job, pyramid scheme concept except you have to show up all the way to their office every day. Work long hours for little pay. No benefits.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Sports Marketing Representative

      Apr 15, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you like selling directly to people then this job is for you.

      Cons

      I applied for this position, and they had me interview for marketing representative with the Verizon (now Frontier) campaign. It was door-to-door sales. I got offered the job, but turned it down because it was 100% commission and no benefits. About a month later I got a call asking to interview for the actual position I applied for. I was hesitant but agreed to another interview after being reassured the job would not be like the one I interview for. Through the first interview, everything went well and at the end I asked if it was anything like the Verizon campaign and again I was told it was nothing like it. I went through 3 interviews and based on what I was told about the job I accepted. The first day came and I was told the first week I can make $400 or commission on what I sold. The pay was $8 for every $40 package sold. We went out in the field and walked about 5 miles to today "selling" to businesses. The selling was actually soliciting businesses, not all was explained during the interview process. I called the next day and spoke with one of the top managers. I explained to him that this job is not what I was expecting, nor what was described during any part of the interview process. He then told me "The job isn't for everyone and we tell you what we do up front," and then he hung up on me. They will also tell you the job is Monday-Friday from 830 am to 6pm. They told me to be there at 8 on the first day and then we didn't get back to the office until after 6. My "trainer" told me out in the field that they also work Saturdays. No where was that ever expressed. CONNECT DFW IS NOT PROFESSIONAL AT ALL!!!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Connect DFW Response

      CEO/PRESIDENT

      Connect DFW is a direct marketing firm located in Dallas, TX. We always strive to provide a positive experience for our team, applicants and clientele. We apologize that our career opportunities did not align with your professional goals. When joining the team at Connect DFW, we offer a variety of different compensation plans that are discussed in your interview. We will be taking your feedback into consideration.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee

      I Should Have Known Better

      Mar 9, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The only pro I can really pick out for this company is the people. They are motivated, uplifting, and want to help others succeed. From bottom to top or this particular branch they people are great.

      Cons

      Make no mistake about it. This is door-to-door sales. They will disagree and say it isn't, because it is classified as "business-to-business"... basically you're pounding pavement and selling ticket packages, etc. from business-to-business. You will be put in uncomfortable situations, such as selling items at hospitals, doctors offices, blood banks, etc. When you mention that this is not something you are comfortable with everyone will tell you that you "just aren't driven enough to succeed." They are not upfront about the functions of the company in the interview process initially. The first interview is meant to get you excited, feel like you've landed this AMAZING opportunity, and get you to come back for a second interview the very next day. The second interview is where I made my mistake. They have you go out with a team member and shadow them. This is your opportunity to see what you are really in for. Instead of saying "no thank you" as soon as I was offered a position, I took the job. Just like most other candidates do, because they seek individuals in a tight spot. You need a job, you are a recent grad, you need experience, you have a need and they feed on it. I had plenty of choice in taking the job or leaving, and taking it was a mistake. I was ashamed of my position, and wanted no part of it. I was horrified when family/ friends would ask me what I did, and I often lied. This IS a pyramid company called Smart Circle... they just branch out with different names. You might as well sell a product from your own home for another pyramid company.... at least then you have control over who and where you sell.... unfortunately I did not take control of that early enough. I was heartbroken during my time with this company. I saw individuals in desperate need who were given false hope of this amazing opportunity and then felt stuck. It CAN be good money, and there is opportunity there, but not to the scale that they sell it.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      Connect DFW Response

      CEO/PRESIDENT

      ConnectDFW partners with Fortune 500 clients in the sports and entertainment industry in order to help bridge the gap between consumers and their clientele. We believe in being very transparent in our three one-on-one interviews which does include an onsite interview. We seek the highest qualified candidates for our open positions. We are sorry to hear that your experience with ConnectDFW was not in line with your career goals.

    10. 2.0
      Former Contractor

      Look Again.

      Feb 11, 2016 - Anonymous in Irving, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone is nice, got a free cup of coffee out of the deal too! The people here are extremely convincing. Rachel O'Hara definitely has some talent in that office, or Cary, or whomever is actually running things. These guys are smooth talkers, and bless them for climbing the ladder (however they did it is beyond me).

      Cons

      Their office (in Irving) looks like it got thrown together in about 1hr. There are pictures of Major League Baseball players, NASCAR drivers, NFL stars, etc. all over their walls - and this is their main hook. HOWEVER..You wont be working with any sports stars, trust me. You also won't get paid for at least 3 weeks, should you decide to go forward with this job. My main complaint is that this is not a marketing company, it is a door-to-door sales company. My other main complaint is that this is obviously a pyramid scheme - you just don't have to (literally) buy into it like Vector's CutCo scheme.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Connect DFW Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Connect DFW? Share Your Experiences

    or