Connections Academy "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Connections Academy Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Mar 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Connections Academy Managing Director Tom ap Simon
Tom ap Simon
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home; feedback regularly requested(in 82 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, helpful training, opportunities for advancement(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay - 15-20% lower than average salaries(in 18 reviews)

  • "Do not think that work from home means you have down time(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Secondary Teacher in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The administration is great. I always feel as though they support their employees. I work from home but feel connected to other employees. There is opportunity for professional growth. They have great benefits. They also have a tuition reimbursement program. I love working from home. The work load is manageable. They have great professional development trainings throughout the year. This has been the best job I have had.

    Show More

    Cons

    The pay is less than what I made at my previous jobs. The benefits are a lot better and there are opportunities for bonuses' so that makes up for the low pay. Honestly, it is a great place to work and I do not feel there are many negatives. The hiring process was a little longer than other jobs but it wasn't bad.

    Advice to Management

    Starting pay should be a little higher.

    Connections Academy2014-12-02
  2. "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, helpful training, opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    Software could be updated more and with more urgency.

    Connections Academy2019-03-18
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Average Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and 401k package (IF you can afford to contribute), lots of pto, work at home, growth (depending on where you want to end up)

    Cons

    Been here 4 years and my salary barely broke 35,000/year. The stress is NOT worth it. If you don't have children and have little to no bills,debt and live at home with your parents, then this is the job for you! Not a job for folks with actual responsibilities like children, student loan debt, medical bills. You will NOT make a living wage, unless you are a supervisor or higher.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees what they are worth and the moral will increase. Turnaround in Enrollment is ridiculous. Get to the ACTUAL root of the problem: money. Pearson HAS the money to foster and KEEP amazing talent. Work at home is NOT enough to keep people around...

    Connections Academy2018-06-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Teacher-Secondary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Secondary Teacher in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, awesome and competent colleagues, great administration! Work remotely from home. Actual merit pay.

    Cons

    Very demanding, high paced, high stress, high expectations

    Connections Academy2017-06-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Flexible, great curriculum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Elementary Teacher in Orem, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home, great benefits, flexible for family life, support from corporate, great curriculum, field trips, bonus, tuition reimbursements, positive environment.

    Cons

    Low pay, have to be tech savvy, if you're willing to work for teacher pay it's great. Change is challenging because dealing with corporate structure.

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Connections Academy2017-03-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Integration Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time

    Pros

    Awesome Company. Great Benefits!

    Cons

    Not able to work from home. Low pay

    Connections Academy2016-11-14
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant II in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits including insurance and paid time off. The company is always growing so there's a lot of room for promotions.

    Cons

    Never the same manager two years in a row

    Connections Academy2015-11-25
  8. "Enrollment Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment Associate in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Casual work environment, will reimburse tuition for select programs, great benefits, management encourages employees to give feedback, great praise for accomplishments, growing company

    Cons

    Salary is very low for the amount of stress/work we deal with, constantly changing policiesand procedures, wage increases are small if given. Definitely a call-center environment, understaffed. Also feels like the Enrollment Department is severely underpaid as a whole. Enrollment is not offered opportunities to work from home. Also, stop promoting folks with no experience.

    Advice to Management

    Please increase salaries for those who NEED it.

    Connections Academy2015-10-30
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Great place to work for now!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very laid back environment. Great people to work with. Great benefits, especially paid time off during Christmas.

    Cons

    Some of the changes made since merging with Pearson. The pay raises aren't really good either. It would take years for me to be able to make a comfortable living with one job only right now.

    Advice to Management

    Give us proper raises please!

    Connections Academy2015-06-12
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Elementary Teacher in Englewood, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Supportive co-workers and administration -Office atmosphere is flexible and comfortable. Everyone feels like a family -Ability to be a cheerleader for students and their families -Opportunity to work at home after a certain amount of time with the company -Great benefits including tuition reimbursement, insurance, etc.

    Cons

    -Lots to learn at the beginning -Pay is slightly lower than other schools, but benefits help -A bit of an adjustment to go from a classroom to a cubicle

    Advice to Management

    -Better computer equipment that doesn't break down would be appreciated!

    Connections Academy2014-12-02
Found 11 reviews