Connections Academy "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor

Connections Academy Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Jan 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Connections Academy Managing Director Tom ap Simon
Tom ap Simon
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home; feedback regularly requested(in 83 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, helpful training, opportunities for advancement(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay - 15-20% lower than average salaries(in 18 reviews)

  • "Do not think that work from home means you have down time(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review

    "This is an amazing job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I absolutely love the flexibility of my schedule, my team, and the work I get to do in this company. The work-life balance is so much greater than being in a traditional school setting, and we get to be a part of really meaningful work with students in an online capacity.

    Cons

    Need to be self-motivated and self-disciplined when working from home.

    Connections Academy2019-08-29
  2. Helpful (21)

    "Elementary Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time

    Pros

    Work from home Flexibility Able to devote more time to each student and family Able to meet the individual needsof the child Amazing coworkers Curriculum is provided, so your focus is not on lesson plans Corporate listens to teachers for new ideas. Great technical support from corporate

    Cons

    Logging conversations with families can be time consuming, but it is so valuable

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for listening and encouraging us allto be team players. Change the name of portfolios to a word that is note as threatening to students or parents. They are such valuable tools of learning.

    Connections Academy2018-05-08
  3. "Flexible work environment BUT too not really teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Connections Academy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexibility to work from home professional development working with children

    Cons

    too much time reading excel spreadsheets not enough time teaching dealing with uncooperative parents/learning coaches

    Connections Academy2020-01-22
  4. "Do your work well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teacher 

    I have been working at Connections Academy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -work from home -flexible -great colleagues

    Cons

    - lots of data - some upper admin issues - may need to work more than your normal hours - need to travel and attend mandatory in-person events

    Connections Academy2019-12-16
  5. "Convenient to work from home and fun coworkers but low pay and heavy administrative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Online Teacher 

    I worked at Connections Academy full-time

    Pros

    There are some great kids and families that participate in the program. Work at home for many positions. Good learning management system. Great support for new teachers. Awesome peer relations. Some flexibility. End of the year performance bonus. Student tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    Be prepared for lots of accountability. Job requires. cold calling students with minimum quotas to fill that will keep you on the phone dialing for a good part of your shift. Lots of meetings that take away from time to meet call quotas and grading timelines. Flexibility became less and less. Procedures procedures! Administrators demand a lot. In exchange for being able to work at home, you have to go out to sites where state testing is being held and this may include several overnight stays or long drives each week for several weeks. Corporate executives are rude and they chew out all the teachers at least once a yeat at staff events.

    Show More
    Connections Academy2019-12-12
  6. "Probably Depends on the Location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Substitute Teacher in Walpole, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Connections Academy for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, Great Students, Great Parents

    Cons

    Poor communication, Unclear leadership, Bias against subs

    Advice to Management

    Treat subs like they are real people!

    Connections Academy2019-10-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Connections Academy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits. Working from home.

    Cons

    Workload is overwhelming and salary is low. No room for growth. Favoritism

    Advice to Management

    Get a director who is comfortable with diversity since your population of students is diverse.

    Connections Academy2019-09-25
  8. "A great deal of support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Connections Academy part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been substitute teaching and have had a great experience so far. Thorough on boarding process, supportive staff, flexible schedule. Work from home. Sub pay more than local school district.

    Cons

    I do not have any so far.

    Connections Academy2019-03-21
  9. "Nice benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Connections Academy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home; feedback regularly requested

    Cons

    Lots of turnover in management

    Connections Academy2019-02-28
  10. "Work from home is a benefit."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - School Data Coordinator 

    I worked at Connections Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hourly rate is not bad and you can work from home after few months of training.

    Cons

    The work can feel repetitive as you are making calls back to back. If you are not comfortable making cold calls, this job might not be for you.

    Advice to Management

    Management was supportive.

    Connections Academy2019-02-24
Found 94 reviews