KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

ConocoPhillips

Is this your company?

ConocoPhillips

Add a Review

ConocoPhillips Employee Reviews about "oil price"

Updated Oct 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 of over 1,308 reviews

4.1
75%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
ConocoPhillips Chairman & CEO Ryan M. Lance
Ryan M. Lance
547 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance and have SPIRIT value(in 115 reviews)

  • "Great benefits for family including bonuses(in 78 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The company is extremely volatile and sensitive during oil price drops and contractors are highly vulnerable to layoffs yearly(in 40 reviews)

  • "Contractors get cut first in a downturn(in 34 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of ConocoPhillips and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "oil price"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Very Good Company

      May 4, 2020 - Financial Analyst in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Positive, friendly, collaborative environment with good benefits and great culture.

      Cons

      Subject to the whims of oil prices.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Contractor, more than 1 year

      Fair.

      Oct 24, 2020 - Project Manager in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work-life balance, friendly environment.

      Cons

      The company is extremely volatile and sensitive during oil price drops and contractors are highly vulnerable to layoffs yearly.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Company

      Aug 15, 2019 - Senior Analyst in Bartlesville, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It offers competitive pay and benefits.

      Cons

      Subject to up and downs of oil prices.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great development opportunity in a low risk, low stress environment.

      Nov 20, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Bartlesville, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For the Midwest, it is by far one of the best companies you could work for. Phenomenal benefits. IT has a very low stress working environment compared to more "tech" oriented companies. Great place for someone looking to settle down, start a family, and embrace the "work to live, not live to work" mentality. This is definitely an organization ran by an older generation. Bartlesville really can be a great place to live if you learn to make the most of it. Job security is unmatched.

      Cons

      As with any large corporation, ConocoPhillips moves slowly and has its fair share of bureaucracy. In my experience, the IT organization is more oriented towards those wanting to settle down than those wanting to move up or do something incredibly progressive. There is significant internal resistance to making waves. Employees are encouraged to keep their head down and follow directions. New ideas generally take around two years to implement. Budget cycles control the fate of most projects. If the oil price drops, almost all "new" IT projects will be frozen for the year.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Solid Company that promotes from within

      Oct 25, 2016 - Energy Trader in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      COP is generally a good place to work that promotes from within. If you stick around, they will give you opportunities that maybe would be unlikely elsewhere. If you want to have a career here with the potential to move through different job assignments, it is possible. Corporate culture is positive, it seems that people here generally care about you, benefits are industry competitive. Good location in Energy Corridor, beautiful complex, and great onsite gym, medical and dental clinics, cafeteria.

      Cons

      Because they promote from within, you will find some managers that are truly ill-equipped to be in management. The company did not position itself very well to weather the oil price downturn through means other than headcount reduction. The Executive level decision to not hedge crude oil production as an independent E & P company because it is a "zero sum game" is considered by many to be the riskiest strategy of all.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Working Conditions

      Sep 19, 2016 -  in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked for ConocoPhillips (COPC) for 34 years before leaving the company. During my entire career I firmly believed in their safety motto and that fact that they understood, even for a very large company that "employees" were their most valuable asset. There are always exceptions but at COPC it was an exception, not the rule. Even when hard choices had to be made, My opinion was employees who added value and worked hard were retained or released whith their interest in mind.

      Cons

      COPC split from it's downstream arm of the business and in hindsight may be second guessing itself. The upstream and downstream operations countered each other when it comes to oil prices. COPC is to tied to oil prices. There is nothing to keep it afloat during a low oil price environment.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Intern

      Great Experience

      Dec 7, 2017 - Anonymous Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Community - I felt like I mattered, even as an intern. No one dismissed me or talked down to me because I was an intern. Good Work - My summer intern project actually mattered to the company and they cared about my work. Good Management - I had no problems interacting with my manager. He encouraged my work and made me feel like part of the team.

      Cons

      I was working while oil prices were plummeting which led to a bit of work stress in the company. But I felt it was handled very well.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Sr.Drilling Engineer

      Dec 28, 2015 - Senior Drilling Engineer in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Career opportunity, compensation and benefit are good, COP has working area in overseas : UK,Norway,Middle East, Indonesia, Australia etc. so you can be assigned as international employee, if you want to.

      Cons

      COP no longer has a down stream business.Phillips 66 has been spin off from COP. With oil price crash, they cancelled a deep water project in GOM. reduced work force, selling asset.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Sr Contract Specialist

      Aug 15, 2015 - Senior Contract Specialist in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good management, concerned for employees,. balanced work environment. hired after brief interviews all in one afternoon. very large sourcing, procurement org so lots of opportunity. very sincere about concern for safety and quality. generous salary compared to others i was with

      Cons

      some office politics i hear about but have not encountered. but that is normal anywhere. company is hit by oil price dropping so much but doing its best for the employees and even contractors.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Needs Better Leaders

      Sep 21, 2016 - Supervisor in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay, benefits and bonuses when compared to the average job in Houston. Overall good work colleagues. Overall good balance between work and home life.

      Cons

      Horrible immediate\local Managers who can't make tough decisions. Upper management care about their careers and not the staff's. Getting in and out of the new office tower is a pain, especially during rush hour. Am concerned the next couple of years are going to be "touch & go" fully dependent on oil prices.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 40 Reviews

    Popular Careers with ConocoPhillips Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at ConocoPhillips? Share Your Experiences

    or