KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

ConocoPhillips

Is this your company?

ConocoPhillips

Add a Review

ConocoPhillips Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 118 of over 1,474 reviews

4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
ConocoPhillips Chairman & CEO Ryan M. Lance
Ryan M. Lance
627 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good benefits are available.(in 186 reviews)
  • "Great people and a pretty good overall environment(in 126 reviews)
  • "Good pay and 9/80 schedule.(in 111 reviews)
  • "Good work life balance and all that(in 64 reviews)
  • "good salary and compensation when oil price is good.(in 41 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of ConocoPhillips and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good for experienced professional

    Mar 17, 2022 - Junior Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    work life balance and less stressful

    Cons

    Less growth opportunities rigid management structures

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Not a bad place to work

    Mar 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work life balance and all that

    Cons

    Too many management layers and stuff

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Oil and Gas Company

    Jan 16, 2021 - Team Lead, Contract Specialist in Jakarta
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance and have SPIRIT value

    Cons

    Not comment on cons for this Company

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company, Tough Industry

    Oct 24, 2016 - Supply Chain Coordinator in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The work life balance is incredible and historically the company has provided more-than-competitive benefits, salaries & bonuses. Majority of the people are good to work with as well. And the gym.

    Cons

    In the recent energy downturn, the career opportunities and salary increases are non-existent. Living in fear of being laid off for the past two years has also been a pretty big bummer. We've been through 3 or 4 official rounds of lay-offs.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    good place to work for family values

    Oct 1, 2009 - Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    COP has a good work life balance, Great benefits package, and the people are great to work with. With such a large company, there are a lot of diverse opportunities and functions you could work in to build a cross-functional expertise - or an area expertise.

    Cons

    Work life balance could get out of balance quickly if you move up in the organization. They could pay more competitively in terms of a base salary and especially with salary increases. The career progression tended to be slow, simply because of size.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Negative experience in terms of culture, training and work environment.

    May 4, 2013 -  in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Gym and fitness class facilities Study support Free lunches

    Cons

    I worked in a contract position at Cononophilips in Aberdeen for around 18 months after graduating from university in 2010. I am currently employed in a staff position at another Oil and Gas Operator in Aberdeen. I have now worked for three operators in total (one being a student placement year) and out of those previously worked for Conocophillips is the only one that I would definitely not choose to return to. My wellbeing and work life balance is considerably better at my new employer. Induction and training for the role was non-existant and nobody took the time to give me a proper handover. On my first week in the job there, I sat for around four days with nothing to do before anyone had the time to show me where to start. Staff attrition rates were unhealthy in the department I worked in. Nearly every month someone was resigning. Younger people tended to leave for better paid opportunities at more prestigious companies after having gained some experience in an operator environment. Colleagues were not particularly friendly and development opportunities appeared to be given to people if their 'face fitted' rather than on other qualities and competencies. Pay and benefits were ok but not particulary competitive compared to the other organisations I have worked for. Xmas lunches were dire in comparison to the other two employers I have experience in and there was very little in the way of team building / travel and corporate events. The 'PEOPLE' value (in other words, respect for one another and all stakeholders) among the corporate SPIRIT values definitely did not feature highly in practice and should be removed from the acronym, in my opinion. I felt I was continually patronised and spoken to like rubbish, and I ended up leaving the organisation mainly because of a nit picking, unfair and unapproachable supervisor.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company with a great outlook!!

    Sep 21, 2019 - IT Analyst in Bartlesville, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company really cares about its people! They truly take care of us with a great work/life balance as well as financially. CoP fosters innovation and has some great initiatives!!

    Cons

    I will have to retire some day.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Great Culture

    Oct 22, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Very down to earth and willing to help out. Work life balance is highly stressed there and employees have a life outside of work.

    Cons

    The market is not easy towards upstream right now and it is impacting even big E&P companies such as ConocoPhillips. The pace of work is extremely slow paced and the work can become very repetitive. A lot of old, manual systems are in place and processes could be streamlined.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Feb 3, 2021 - Sustainability in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Life work balance and carreer

    Cons

    Nothing that comes to my mind

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great benefits, Great People

    Apr 16, 2015 - Accountant/Financial Analyst in Bartlesville, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits are fantastic. 401(k) match vests immediately, and an additional pension vests after 3 years. 9/80 (2 fridays a month off) schedule and 19/30 (1 friday off a month) make work life balance great. The people in Bartlesville were great. Really enjoyed the culture of the company. Very open, very positive. Core hours are 9-3, but as long as you are there during those hours you can come in and leave whenever you want so long as you get your 9 hours in. Very helpful on days when you have appointments or travel and want to leave a couple hours early.

    Cons

    Part of the reason they pay so well is because people don't want to be in Bartlesville, OK. It is a nice small town if you have a family and want to settle down. But for the younger generation, it just doesn't have much to offer. The flexible schedule is nice, but when you have to travel outside of town to do most fun stuff, it gets a little old. If you have grown up in larger cities, the town will definitely be an adjustment.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 118 Reviews

Popular Careers with ConocoPhillips Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews