Conroe Independent School District Reviews | Glassdoor

Conroe Independent School District Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 79 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Conroe Independent School District CEO Don Stockton
Don Stockton
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "solid administration and professional working environment(in 5 reviews)

  • "Strong sense of community throughout the district, with lots of administrative as well as community support(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Taking work home, apathy on the part of some students and parents, overall not bad(in 2 reviews)

  • "too many required duties at elementary level and not enough duty coverage from support staff(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "ESL Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Conroe Independent School District

      Pros

      A positive work environment, where teachers had the supplies and support needed to do their job.

      Cons

      Meeting the needs of ALL students was difficult with 22 students in a class of varied levels.

      Conroe Independent School District2019-03-25
    • "Great b opportunity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - School Bus Driver 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Conroe Independent School District part-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Great team Great opportunities to earn good money Fun Time off

      Cons

      To each its own.. Have to try out to see if it's your fit

      Advice to Management

      Provide better initiatives for employees

      Conroe Independent School District2019-03-19
    • "Over see field construction projects"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Coordinator of Planning & Construction in Conroe, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Conroe Independent School District full-time for more than 19 years

      Pros

      Team players, good town to live in

      Cons

      Conroe is a large spread out district, my position required for me to travel to each construction project I could drive over a 100 miles a day from the office which I enjoyed

      Advice to Management

      The management was very supportive of my needs and gave support when I needed it. So I guess I have no advice for them

      Conroe Independent School District2019-02-11
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Substitute Teacher 

        I have been working at Conroe Independent School District (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Good pay, also have insurance available

        Cons

        None none none none none

        Conroe Independent School District2019-01-31
      • "Been teaching here for 5.5 years"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Special Education Teacher 

          I have been working at Conroe Independent School District full-time

          Pros

          A lot of resources and support through the district.

          Cons

          You have to be able to do a lot with not a lot of time.

          Conroe Independent School District2019-01-29
        • "Great district to work in"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Teacher 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Conroe Independent School District full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          I am a former student of Conroe ISD so I knew there was no other district I wanted to work in when I started teaching. The schools are great and the staff is friendly.

          Cons

          Each school can vary depending on where you go since the district is so large.

          Conroe Independent School District2019-01-17
        • "kindergarten teacher"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Conroe Independent School District full-time

          Pros

          Fortunate to have wonderful students and parents

          Cons

          too many "new ideas" implemented during inservices right before school begins too many required duties at elementary level and not enough duty coverage from support staff.

          Conroe Independent School District2019-01-09
        • "Loved Conroe ISD"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Conroe Independent School District

          Pros

          Good schools, district management is great at what they do! I taught here for five years, and loved it! I will miss Conroe ISD.

          Cons

          I have no cons, working in education is always stressful, but Conroe ISD did things the right way in my opinion, they put so much into supporting their teachers.

          Conroe Independent School District2018-06-27
        • "Substitute"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Conroe Independent School District part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Good pay, have your own schedule. People are nice and helpful

          Cons

          Sometimes if you don't know the class you are subbing for, it may end up with really bad behaviors and undisciplined!

          Advice to Management

          I guess schools should mark the classes that had issues and add extra pay for this class to sub. At least substitute teachers will know about it and be prepared and encouraged with the extra pay!

          Conroe Independent School District2018-06-10
        • "Great pay and benefits..."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Teacher in Conroe, TX
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Conroe Independent School District full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Great pay compared to districts around us, and excellent benefits. Good support system from district coaches!

          Cons

          Sometimes, there are way too many meetings, and you lose your conference time.

          Advice to Management

          I suggest working on minimizing the time spent in meetings such as taking out the chit-chat time and get down to business...better direction, leadership, and management.

          Conroe Independent School District2018-05-31
        Found 79 reviews