ConsenSys Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
64%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
ConsenSys CEO Joseph Lubin (no image)
Joseph Lubin
88 Ratings
Pros
  • "The remote first culture is amazing(in 26 reviews)

  • "Interesting work, flexible working, enthusiastic and motivated teams(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lack of structure makes it easy to waste your own time if you're not perceptive and attentive to the dynamics around you(in 6 reviews)

  • "Some growing pains and occasional communication breakdown at the hands of decentralized organization(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Autonomy and bleeding edge tech at the forefront of the decentralization revolution!

      Mar 1, 2021 - Senior DevOps Engineer in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love being part of the blockchain/decentralization revolution! I'm surrounded by intelligent, friendly coworkers - many of them thought leaders in the industry. I have a very high level of autonomy, and feel like I actually have the power to improve my company. I also love that ConsenSys is a remote-first company - even before the pandemic, everyone could (and most people did) work 100% remotely. We're also a global company; I collaborate with coworkers from France, Turkey, and Ukraine every morning, and folks in Australia every afternoon. We are everywhere! I love what I do, and I love that we're modernizing and decentralizing the world's financial systems.

      Cons

      The cons are the consequence of the pros. The awesome autonomy requires self-organization, which can be challenging. Sometimes it feels like cat-herding when trying to get other people in similar roles to work with you. The remote-first and global nature means that you have to actively create work/life balance. You cannot allow yourself to work at all hours of the day (because you have coworkers across the globe talking constantly) or for 60 hours a week. You must disconnect if you wish to avoid burnout. And a historical con is that it was a bumpy ride getting to where we are now. Early 2019 and early 2020 were rough - we were under austerity measures, and the culture shifted from this wonderful (but unprofitable) bohemian collection of "spokes" to a smaller collection of revenue-generating products. I do miss some of the crazy experiements, but I don't miss the drama...

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great company, leads are executives who builds up & understand their staff!

      Apr 6, 2021 - Global Operations in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility & Diversity is a common quality

      Cons

      High Turn Over during the recent years of their growth and development

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Pros and Cons

      Mar 24, 2021 - Director in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility, autonomy, working in a cutting edge field with energetic people, remote work.

      Cons

      The need to further streamline and refine products and value proposition made it difficult to know where to channel your energy if not on a specific product team.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      No better place to work on blockchain

      Mar 25, 2021 - Managing Director in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dynamic, and cutting edge working with some of the smartest people on the planet.

      Cons

      Tribal, heavily weighted toward London/Paris timezone

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      A great company

      Dec 21, 2020 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Chance to work on cutting edge tech. Remote first flexibility. Excellent networking and professional development opportunities. All respect to Joe for what he's done for me personally and the contributions he's made to the industry.

      Cons

      Cutthroat work environment. For every two rockstar devs or bizdev persons there's at least one MBA credentialed team member who doesn't seem to add value. Disorganized corporate structure breeds confusion and lack of focus among rank and file with regards to goals of the org. When everyone rows in different directions it makes the cutthroat dysfunction problem worse. Been ages since I was aboard the team; they were a new company with growing pains then -- perhaps they are better about this now. I hope they are, i have much affection for this org.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Alot of hype

      Apr 2, 2021 - Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Remote first company that allows you to almost work anywhere

      Cons

      Work life balance. They provide "unlimited vacation" but the workload is so high that you can never really schedule any real time off

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Playground for white men

      Oct 1, 2020 - Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility, remote-first, travel, you can literally make your own job up and then either do it or not! You can watch Netflix all day and make good money. Little oversight over how funds are spent by rank and file, which many take as implicit permission to make up reasons to travel abroad or buy expensive equipment. Pay is well above average for entry-to-mid level employees.

      Cons

      Racist, sexist, toxic work environment. CEO surrounds himself with sycophants who do and say whatever it takes to stay in his good graces. Meanwhile, those same people enrich themselves without regard for the business or the individuals who are contributing. They’ve hired white men at six figure salaries without roles or job titles, and weeks later laid off dozens of women and BIPOC who were contributing to the day-to-day functioning of the business. There are people without actual roles who make salaries and stay through layoffs. They just make up projects for themselves and convince key leadership they’re working hard by presenting PP decks. Not an ounce of professionalism, respect, leadership, structure, or loyalty to be found here unless you are a pedigreed, white man. Pay is inconsistent and depends a lot on the person who hired you. Obvious discrepancies in pay that correlate with personal identity. Actual benefits (coughinsurancecough) are abysmal. Finally, for a company whose ethos/tech is all about privacy and security, they do nothing to protect employee information. For years all employee info (salaries, names, SSN, etc) was kept in Google Sheets. Likely that they’ve fixed that, but IMO it’s a reflection of where they put resources.

      11 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Freedom to experiment

      Jan 4, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great environment and people. A lot of freedom to experiment with new technologies.

      Cons

      Sometimes it feels chaotic. Teams are constantly changing.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Over 2 years in this exciting new technology environment

      Sep 27, 2020 - Customer Success Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      New technology, outstanding CEO and leadership, grow through the pandemic applying necessary steps to keep the company growing in the right direction. Very flexible environment to work at and great people. The company is all about healthy diversity.

      Cons

      Still early days technology which takes time to the market to adopt

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      ConsenSys

      Jan 28, 2021 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance and remote work

      Cons

      Politics, poorly defined structure processes and roles and responsibilities

      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 133 Reviews

    Popular Careers with ConsenSys Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at ConsenSys? Share Your Experiences

    ConsenSys logo
    or