Conservice "free soda" Reviews | Glassdoor

Conservice Employee Reviews about "free soda"

Updated Dec 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
73%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Conservice President and CEO         David Jenkins
David Jenkins
94 Ratings
Pros
  • "Incredible work environment that helps employees succeed and encourages employees to become better daily(in 15 reviews)

  • "Perks like free soda, good health insurance, decent paid-time off, and the company has many parties and free food that is given to employees regularly(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Unless you advance into upper management, this will always be a job and not a career(in 13 reviews)

  • "Heavily play the favorite game, low pay, Petty management(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free soda"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Decent Pay - Hoping for better opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Manager in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Conservice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Perks like free soda, good health insurance, decent paid-time off, and the company has many parties and free food that is given to employees regularly.

    Cons

    Time-off can be a pain to get off, not very flexible with schedules, higher wage opportunities would be nice

    Continue reading
    Conservice2019-12-10

    Conservice Response

    December 23, 2019Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. We will pass your suggestions on to the leadership team.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great college job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Exceptions Analyst in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Conservice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with school schedules Relatively good benefits Great team atmosphere Free soda

    Cons

    Nothing too bad, I would just say as a student it does not feel like a place that has long term opportunities for those pursuing higher education

    Conservice2019-11-03

    Conservice Response

    November 20, 2019Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. It is true, we do strive to be a great place to work while students pursue a college education!

    Continue reading
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "The Best Job I've Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Check Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Conservice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Incredible work environment that helps employees succeed and encourages employees to become better daily - Great insurance benefits - Open communication with CEO on a monthly basis - All new hires are given extensive training about the company and their specific job, making it easy to integrate into the workplace - Higher-up positions are recruited internally, which makes leadership knowledgeable and helpful as well as gives employees incentive to work hard - Culture of positivity, helpfulness, and kindness - High pay for the area - Bonuses are available to those who work hard - Not your average desk job-- employees are encouraged to take breaks, interact with their coworkers, and engage with the community during work hours - Free soda at work - Time off structure allows employees to take vacation time, sick days, and take time for appointments or other personal obligations. Vacation days are tracked differently than sick days or time off needed for personal obligations, which helps employees communicate more effectively with their managers and leaders, be honest about their time off, and take time when they need it. - Relaxed work environment that allows employees to express themselves freely and be themselves

    Cons

    - Some departments have harder, more stressful jobs than others - Leadership can entirely make or break an employee's experience

    Conservice2019-10-04

    Conservice Response

    October 9, 2019Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for sharing your insights about your Conservice experience.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great, but getting worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Conservice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay for the area Free soda/drinks

    Cons

    Insurance is mediocre as far as deductibles (but premiums have stayed the same or gone down for a couple years, company also pays an increasing amount of premiums per year up to 90%) 401K is mediocre Company is moving towards becoming public HR is useless/awful There is definite bias in selecting those who get promoted Time off situation is scarce in the first year of employment Senior Management is made of people who have been there a long time, regardless of their actual leadership/management abilities

    Conservice2019-04-07
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Run away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Manager in Logan, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Conservice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free soda machines, decent atmosphere

    Cons

    Low pay, high work load, high stress

    Conservice2018-08-31
  7. "Conservice--great student job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Utility Processor in River Heights, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Conservice for more than a year

    Pros

    There is free soda and paid holiday time (after 60 days at the company). Most of the time each person feels valued. I'm currently a student and I really love that my bosses are understanding of my schedule. It is a very good student job!

    Cons

    My specific job can be a little boring and repetitive. It's a desk job. There aren't many opportunities to move around.

    Conservice2018-03-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good starting job in cache valley"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Manager in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Conservice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are good. Open environment with no cubicles. Good place to gain Microsoft skills. Some fun perks like summer and end of year parties, free soda, game rooms to use during breaks.

    Cons

    pay is competitive in Cache Valley only. Combination and expectations between departments are poor at best. Upper management is often unavailable to provide assistance due to an excessive admit of meetings. Opportunities for advancement are skewed due to an excess of work and a shortage of help resulting in an imbalance of difficulty of individual expectations.

    Continue reading
    Conservice2017-10-29

    Conservice Response

    November 27, 2017Marketing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. With our open door policy, upper management doors are always open. At the same time, it is true that they are busy but will always make time for your complaints. If you ever feel if there is a time you need to speak with HR about your time here, we would love you to reach out to us at any time.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Long, but thorough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Logan, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Conservice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    IT is a great place for students to get work experience before they graduate. The department is amazing at flexible schedules around classes. Sterling Urgent Care is great - as a partial owner in Sterling, Conservice employees on the company insurance can be enrolled at Sterling (cost taken up by Conservice). They are truly trying to minimize healthcare costs.

    Cons

    HR filters people into the positions they want to hire in rather than where your skills would be best used. It took me almost a month after my first interview to be considered for a position I had background for even though I had stated multiple times that I would only work in IT. Many Conservice policies treat employees like children, which just encourages the children to stay and the professionals to move on. Taking unpaid time is a big no-no. You will get lectured on taking any unpaid time (even if scheduled months in advance), and it’s possible that you will get written up or even fired for it. Conservice likes to advertise competitive wages. For reference, my position at Conservice paid me half what I could make in Salt Lake for the same job (minimum starting wage for the position, and yes I had an offer in but had to remain in the valley for school). The official cost of living is only about 4% lower. Leadership talks about being a small business - and run it that way. But they employ over 1400 employees and still use policies and practices that worked for 10-50 employees but don’t scale well to 1400+ employees. Company leadership refuses to acknowledge that different departments have different needs, opting for the view that all departments are exactly equal. For example, common practices in the IT field are not adopted because other departments don’t need the same thing, restricting growth. At one point, I got a promotion. I expressed that I was unsatisfied with the corresponding extremely small raise (and being forced to salaried). My comments and concerns were completely brushed aside and ignored by HR. I was only back-paid for this time because I specifically asked since they took 2 months to give me the raise. (Providing free soda and pay day treats for everyone isn’t really helping health levels. Healthcare professionals in the valley love Conservice because a lot of employees end up at their facilities due to the junk Conservice provides free of charge. This half cancels out the pro of Sterling Urgent Care.)

    Continue reading
    Conservice2017-08-15

    Conservice Response

    November 27, 2017Marketing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. At Conserivce, we are always hiring for growth, and have particular positions that need to be filled. We fill those positions based on our applicants and their best fit positions within the company. As our team continues to grow we hope to continue to grow our policies too. We would love for you to come to HR to explain ways we can improve. Feel free to reach out to us at any time.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (7)

    "tl,dr; The Best at some things and the Worst at others (sorry, I'm wordy)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Manager in Logan, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Conservice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I gave this place a lukewarm review- but the reality is that things are either very good or very bad here... so the middle seemed more appropriate. Big pro is how dynamic the place is- people have complained about low pay, and work is being done to reevaluate compensation and profit sharing is more generous than ever . People have wanted better healthcare options, and they partnered with a private medical provider to ensure that we would have accessible and reasonable coverage no matter what the political landscape becomes. There is no denying that those at the very top take our feedback seriously. Policy at every level is influenced by employee feedback, from big things like time off mechanics to little things like the specifics of the dress code. Worth noting that all the things I mentioned are works in progress and still sticky sometimes! Another pro is that this place is designed to give you career success no matter what you bring to the table. There are diverse opportunities and all will look good on your resume when you can finally afford to leave the valley. Even some growth opportunities, although these do stagnate pretty dramatically after middle management (more on that in the cons section). There is no denying it- this place has made me feel empowered and capable, and has strengthened my organizational and professional communication skills. I know that when my time is done there, I will be more competitive in the job market and a confident and valuable asset to anywhere I go. All of my leadership, even up to the CEO himself, has reinforced this positive self image. I came in just desperate for any job, and now I work at my own desk in a beautiful building with a great view, with my own two monitor setup, and I get to use software that is constantly evolving to try to make my job easier- to they point where they just ask us what we want and they see if they can do it- and honestly? I didn't think I would get that kind of experience before my thirties. The perks are REAL- a constantly growing list of employee discounts, well stocked break rooms, an ever cheapening cafeteria, and a shuttle are all attractive options for me and my situation. Finally, I really like my coworkers. Conservice has created a culture for us where we can be casual enough to become friends while maintaining the necessary professionalism required to keep us productive. It's a balancing act that is sometimes not perfect and easy to take for granted, but ultimately works in a big, big way.

    Cons

    The reality is that you will be underpaid for your labor. This I can confidently say if you are heading into the billing department. They are constantly working on making it better, so maybe I will someday be able to remove this from my review, but the difficulty and stress of the position is worth more than what we're paid currently. The billing department has a rigid schedule and a steep, steep learning curve that made my first few months incredibly discouraging! No amount of free soda can displace how I felt as a new employee... and saying that you have competitive Cache Valley wages is like saying that you are older than a baby, or more than two feet tall- it is not hard to do. Literally anything above minimum is competitive here. The reality is that this entire county has a depressed economy and we are a college town with an endless supply of cheap, skilled laborers. My sincere best wishes to those trying to raise a family on a single income from Conservice, and may your partners soon be able to at least quit their second jobs. Additionally, turnover is very high in my position. However what is interesting is that at least some of the employee turnover is not people leaving the area- it is people asking to be transferred to other departments. I have had three peers who have resorting to nothing short of begging to do anything else because the position is so demanding and the compensation so low. I have seen many people simply quit. And the position is really, really demanding. You will perhaps even be made to feel inadequate if you are unable to finish everything on time within work hours, but fret not- literally everyone will need overtime at some point. I know of no one in billing who hasn't needed it. It is the norm to be given simply more than is doable, and the expectation is your unconditional willingness to take the overtime to accommodate that. Middle management will disappoint you. I really respect my Team Lead and consider them a friend, but I have seen them handle delicate situations so, so inelegantly. The open door policy is great in most cases but there are certain cliques of leadership that have never been visibly addressed, which makes it hard to talk about grievances without making the plunge of going directly to HR, which is intimidating and has, at least from where I'm sitting, led to more confrontation, not less. This might be because lots of leadership was able to advance to their position with relative ease- turnover is so high that if you stay with the company for over two years or so you are virtually guaranteed some sort of management, if you want it. However, don't expect this trend to continue past your first few promotions. You may pull off being an assistant team lead and maybe even a team lead, but other growth opportunities would realistically require you to seek out a different department. Finally, the culture of this place is a double edged sword. There is an open door policy, but you have to accept the risk that a question you ask may be publicly mocked and distributed to the entire company by the CEO. Your boss will be your friend, but they will also be a gossip. The company will respond with sincere thanks to your compliments, but criticism is sometimes will sometimes be written off as ingratitude. Like I said at the start- this place is dynamic! It's exciting! But my goodness, it's sometime's like pulling teeth, too.

    Continue reading
    Conservice2017-03-15
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Conservice

    Pros

    Nice facilities, fun company events, good fringe benefits, such as on site cafeteria(not free), free soda, employee shuttle. Decent Medical Benefits

    Cons

    Many Policies are vague, and have a lot of gray area for each member of leadership to interpret how they choose to. "Cache Valley Wages"

    Conservice2017-01-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews